We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Covo Dei Saraceni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Covo Dei Saraceni
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel, it's charming as are the people who staff it. Our room was fabulous but the view was simply and utterly stunning. The place isn't at all pretentious, it's comfortable from the pool to the restaurant, which by the way, is excellent. We didn't have to battle with the stairs and no request was too much trouble. I would stay here again in a heart beat, and am already planning a return trip. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A room with a view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    212
    60
    24
    17
See reviews for
128
531
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Covo Dei Saraceni for five days during our honeymoon, and we could not have had a better experience. The staff were like family- even when we requested a 3:00 AM snack from room service after two flights, a train and a car ride to get to Positano.

We had a Junior Suite with a small balcony. The room was simple, airy and roomy and the bed was comfy. And the view from our balcony...well...this is one thing Pinterest won't mislead you on. Stunning? Gorgeous? Breathtaking? All of the above. And with all the bougainvillea, petunias and lemon trees, Positano even smells amazing.

I was in constant awe of the hotel and the town itself.

The staff at the hotel pool (and it's a heck of a pool), became our vacation buddies. David, one of the bartenders, was especially nice and had lots of recommendations for us. We will definitely be back one day. Thank you for an incredible experience.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a room with a view, definitely go for a Suite or Junior Suite. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location, it is right on the water. It appeared to be the closest hotel to the water, which is great because it was not a 15 min hike from the beach back to the room. While it is true that you have to walk from the top of the hill down to the hotel, it was not that big of a deal to us. We did pay to have our large suitcases taken down to the hotel, but we carried our small suitcases ourselves. The hotel itself was great! The rooms were extremely clean and very comfortable. We had a suite with a hot tub on the patio outside and it was awesome! Also the complimentary bottle of prosseco was a nice touch as well. The pool was great! The service at the pool was friendly and helpful. We had lunch at the pool several times and the food was great! I strongly recommend the burger, it was fantastic. The included breakfast was really great, everything from the pastries to the eggs and bacon were delicious! Overall the hotel was expensive, but I would argue that it was worth every penny. This was by far our favorite hotel in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgoth88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Service was terrific and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is right on the Spiaggia so the locations is terrific. The property was very charming and the view over the bay lovely. Restaurants and bar facilities were very good. Only issue is that the hotel also had a lot of problems with WiFi so if being connected to the internet is critical to your stay then look to a place that has more reliable communications.
The hotel is not accessible by car so if climbing the stairs of Positano is a problem then you might want to consider a different hotel. Actually if stairs are a problem a different location might be in order as Positano is very vertical.

Room Tip: Higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bitbanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent 6 nights at Covo dei Saraceni for our honeymoon. WOW! We stayed in a suite, with a private hot tub on our balcony. It was truly the nicest hotel room we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed at 5 star resorts the world over. The hotel is extremely convenient if you are arriving in Positano by boat! Its right next to the port! We checked in, were showed the gorgeous hotel and then our room. We had a huge walk in closet, enourmous bathroom with whirl pool bath tub, his and hers sinks, and luxurious rain shower. We had a huge room with a sitting area, and a breakfast room overlooking the ocean. It was spectacular. We had two balconys, an upper and lower, with the aforementioned hot tub and outdoor shower, chase lounges. The staff at the hotel was great, and the food was delicious. We had lunch by the pool a few times, and everything was wonderful. The pool is beautiful and relaxing, and overlooks all of Positano, and the ocean. THe location and accomodations cant be beat!!! The breakfast each morning was delicious and had everything you could think of. We were very happy with the food and service. We will definitely come back here again! They even had chocolate covered strawberries and proseco waiting for us upon our arrival to toast our honeymoon. It was expensive, but well worth it. The hotel is beautifully decorated and well appointed.

Room Tip: If you can afford a room with a hot tub, it is a luxurious and wonderful experience. Just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyCJPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 days in June and it was great. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were teated so well. Pool area is perfection, room was fine but what made the stay were the staff. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent the second part of our honeymoon here earlier this month, staying for 3 nights after 4 in Sorrento. After a beautiful journey along the coast we were in awe when we arrived at Positano, a beautiful gem of a town, unspoilt at least in the main by cars as they can only go so far. If staying at Covo Dei Saraceni highly recommend using the town porter service to take your bags, this was €5 per piece of luggage and well worth it considering the fairly steep walk down along cobbled paths. Once we worked our way to the hotel we were absolutely blown away by the location and exterior of the hotel, prime position right on the beach, overlooking the beach and the town.

We had a classic room, room 14 which was a corner room, it looked to be the biggest of the classic rooms, with lots of space and a huge bed. The rainforest style shower was amazing too. Pool terrace and infinity pool were lovely, again we couldn't believe the luxury of lying in the sun looking at the fantastic view. Staff around the pool and bar area were great, as were the restaurant staff at breakfast. We didn't eat in the evenings there, there is a wonderful choice of less formal restaurants nearby. We did have lunch which was fine, if a little overpriced. Breakfast was also ok, the usual hotel buffet style. Also an extremely clean hotel, there was a maid service to the rooms twice a day, and the pool area was immaculate.

Overall a beautiful, perfectly located hotel. Our one negative is that occasionally there was a bad smell of drains coming from the stream outside - unfortunately this made it a little unpleasant on the balcony at times, and some of the bars immediately outside the hotel were similar.

Room Tip: We had a classic room, number 14 which looked the biggest of the classic rooms with a fab rainforest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elbee1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 39 in Positano
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covo Dei Saraceni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covo Dei Saraceni

Property: Covo Dei Saraceni
Address: Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#12 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#12 Family Hotel in Positano
#16 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Covo Dei Saraceni 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Covo Dei Saraceni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covo Dei Saraceni Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing