We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”
Review of Covo Dei Saraceni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Covo Dei Saraceni
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This place is AMAZING!!!! So quaint and transforms you to another world when you are there! The front desk staff was wonderful, and the evening pool bartender was so sweet! Even brought us two different types of lemonciello because the first ones we had were too strong. This is an older hotel but has all of the modern amenites you would need. The rooftop pool is amazing. Our view was amazing from our balcony...I don't think you could get a "bad" room here.
Positano itself is absolutely breathtaking. LOVE LOVE LOVE it and Covo Dei Saraceni was the icing on the cake!

**It is a little loud at night because of it's location right on the beach...if you do not want noise at all this could be a problem. We had no problem as the noise dies off the later it gets.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be great at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Now you're going to spend some money here, but it's just totally worth it. The rooms were fantastic, the food was spot on and the pool area amazing. Make sure you either get to the pool early to get a sunned or simply wait a little in the restaurant/bar and some will become available. All of it was worth the money

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Seanhagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The location and the rooftop pool make this hotel for its price just about unbeatable.

However given these advantages the hotel clearly has over it's competition, means that in my opinion they have dropped the 5 star standard in other areas.

Service was hit and miss and seemed to have an 'uninterested' vibe most of the time from the front desk. On the contrary the main rooftop staff member was fantastic and very upbeat at all times.

The rooms were tidied twice daily but you would hardly know it - luckily we kept the room clean ourselves. As a brief synopsis of the rooms is that they just felt a bit dated as a whole.

On a positive for the rooms the shower is amazing and as big as some hotel rooms in Europe! It has 3 shower heads, a hand held shower head, overhead shower head and 6 jet like showers coming out from the wall at different levels.

I would definitely visit again purely based on location and the pool.



Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The location is very good- next to the beach
The rooms are big though not that modern eqipted
The shower is big and modern
Breakfast is really good

The wifi is expensive
You dont have an Iron not in the room or in the floor and every item cost 5 Euro
It is an expensive hotel so I would expected greater value for money

Room Tip: Dont be shy to change the room if you are not happy about it Ask for a room facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank hilit b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel should warrent a 5 but one incident down grades it to a 2 (poss 3).

First the hotel - great location right on the beach. We had one of the rooms starting with a 1 so on a low level. Perfectly large enough a with a small tiled bathroom with a great shower. Did not hear any noise from outside the room in the evening (had the window doors closed). Little terrrace outside on which to sit and watch the sea.

Breakfast buffet style was amazing with everything you could possibly want, cold meats, fresh fruit, toast, assorted pastries, cheeses. Breakfast room has a great view of the sea (Would be better if they could open the windows so as top have open air).

The best part is the swimming pool on the roof sea water and large enough to have a proper swim. Spent two days in / around the pool area relaxing. Pool area has a restaurant / bar that serves great lunches (sandwiches/ pasta. burger). There is a main restaurant which is brillant (review elsewhere). Staff arounf the pool very helpful and friendly.

The reson for the down grade is that the Reception staff do not appear to have any training in customer service. They effectively called my wife and I liars over a missing laundry item. We have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world and have never had an experience like it (or in any hotel). Put laundry in bag and infomed house keeping it was ready for collection (9.am on day 1). Laundry returned at 5.00pm day 2. On looking through the returned laundry we noticed a vest was missing so we went to reception and said one item was missing and could they invesitgate. Went back a little later to be told that we (the guest) were wrong and the the missing item was never put in the original laundry bag. Reception stated that house keeping had noted this when the laundry was collected on day 1 - Very strange that nobody in the hotel mentioned this to us in the 36 hours after the hotel noticed an item was supposedly missing. They would not have said anything about the "missing" item if we had not raised it first. Receiption was adament that we have not put the original item in the laundry and said kept insisting that we had a mistake! We could not believe their attitude, so went back to double check the laundry. Of course it was missing and the hotel / laundry had lost it but they would not admit they had made a mistake (It was only a £10 t-shirt). We asked to speak to the Duty Manager and to be fair it was then handled it very well and we were not charged for laundry we had done.

It is a great hotel in a lovely location, but the incident above leaves a bitter taste in the mouth. The was our first time at this hotel (we wanted to try it out) as we have stayed in another (same) hotel in Positano every year for the last 11 years (similar room cost). Will we be going back - probably due to the great pool area, but hoping that the Reception staff have got their act together

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We recently stayed in positanio at this hotel
.this was such a find, positioned right on the beach , in the heart of this beautiful town.
The staff were outstanding ,so friendly and helpful. the hotel was very well appointed, very clean and well maintained.
Our rooms were cleaned and linen changed several times a day.
The pool and dining area on the top floor was outstanding with such great views of the water.
Our rooms had lovely balconies overlooking the action of the beach and restaurants.
Best pizzas in Positanio.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank judyk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in May of 2014 to celebrate our first anniversary. As we saw during that time, all hotels in Postiano are very expensive. However, I feel like we got pretty good value for our money.

The location of this hotel is the big draw for me. It is on the beach at the bottom of the town, which means accessing the ferries, going for a late night stroll, or anything else is very easy. While I'm sure some hotels have better views, they're higher up the mountain, so you may sacrifice location for views.

Our room was a bit small, although the bathroom was a great size. We had a patio and, even though we were only on the second floor, we still had a beautiful view.

The service at the front desk was spotty - some people were very nice and helpful, others were less polite.

Overall, for the location, I'd stay here again every time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
906 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covo Dei Saraceni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covo Dei Saraceni

Address: Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#12 Family Hotel in Positano
#12 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#16 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £266 - £816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Covo Dei Saraceni 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Covo Dei Saraceni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covo Dei Saraceni Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing