We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel Eden Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eden Roc
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Hotel Eden Roc is a slice of heaven. We stayed in the Junior Suites and the unobstructed view from these rooms was spectacular. The rooms were spotless, spacious and well serviced. The bathroom was modern and luxurious. There were lovely touches such as the candy placed on your pillow each evening by the housemaids when they would revisit the room to tidy up and prepare the beds. The pool was a welcome relief for the children and adults after spending the day on the beach or exploring the town. We dined in the restaurant on the roof top and the food was excellent and the views awesome. The breakfast was more than plentiful, with lots of variety and traditional delicious homemade cakes and tortes. The staff make this Hotel. Luca, Gigi and Tony were exceptional and could not do enough for us. The reception staff were also professional and welcoming at all times. Whilst the walk up to the Hotel is ten minutes from the center / beach we enjoyed the opportunity to burn some calories.

Room Tip: We would recommend the Junior Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Normally I don't take notes during and after a hotel stay, but I did on this occasion because I wanted the details to be fresh and accurate. Also, midway through the stay I changed my rating from 4 stars to 3.

First, I will cover some of the important good points about this hotel. You couldn't ask for a warmer, more friendly staff. Everyone is nice and welcoming. And the suite we had was spacious, the bathrooms were nicely updated. The view, though spectacular, was not as fantastic as the photos on their website. Their website has an unobstructed view of the many buildings scaling one of Positano's steep mountainsides. But not all views are unobstructed. Mine was obstructed by one of the Eden Roc's balconies that protrudes beyond all of the others (please see the attached photo). One of the reasons why I chose this place was to experience its breathtaking views only to have half of what I expected.

The service is excellent in some areas and woeful in others. The breakfast, for example, is nicely done. There are plenty of options for the hungry or the dieting. Best of all is this wild-eyed waiter named Tony. He will make you smile and, along the way, will provide you with excellent service.

Beyond Tony, the service goes down hill. For example, we went to breakfast and when we returned to shower we found our room was in the process of being cleaned. They do not have "Do Not Disturb" signs so we hoped this would not happen so early, but it did. We now had new towels and showered and then went out on the Footpath of the Gods. It is a fairly strenuous route that got us to sweat through our clothing. When we came back feeling grimy we saw how we had thrown our towels on the floor and called down for some extra towels. The person at the front desk said, "We've already given you fresh towels." I thought he meant the cleaning service came in again, so I asked my wife to check and the towels were still on the floor. So, I replied, "Yes, but we need some new towels." Amazingly he replied, "But we've already given you fresh towels." I then recounted our trip, the current state of the towels and he finally said, "But it's no problem. We'll send up more." You would never hear such stupidity from the lowest clerk working at a real luxury hotel like the Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. BTW the towels, though large, are the thinnest, roughest towels I've ever experienced at a 4 star hotel. But the quality of the towels aren't the issue, the serve attitude is.

Twice my wife asked about the ferry to Capri at the front desk. She then asked again on Sunday. The front desk said they would call. They live in Positano, service countless guests who go to Capri, and did not realize that the ferry service from Positano was closed on Sundays. We walked down into the city and found this out for ourselves. Thankfully the father/owner of the property came to the rescue and said, "But if you go to the gas station (it was nearby) you can buy a bus ticket to Sorrento and they have numerous ferries to Capri." I think he is trying to pass on his service attentiveness to his employees but he has a way to go before that is achieved.

We ordered a pizza the last night of our stay after a long day in Sorrento and Capri. It came without a side plate to eat on. The only plate was the one beneath the pizza and there were two of us. Worse yet, the pizza was not even cut. So we performed this operation with a knife that, dare I say, worked less effectively than a pizza cutter. Is this a big point? No. Does it show how they stumble in their service to their guests. Yes.

Now here is a howler that we still cannot believe. The soap is smaller than what they give you at a Courtyard Marriot, It's about the size of what I remember receiving from a Motel 6 back in the day when I was a poorly paid Infantry Officer. We had three of these mini-bars of soap. One for her sink, one for mine and one for the shower. We stayed there 4 nights and they never once replaced this soap with a fresh bar. They were all slivers by the time we left. This sort of cheapness and inattention to small details is what makes this place a 3 star hotel with excellent and half-excellent views.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tompayne888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel provides unbelievable views of Positano from the balconies. Of course, this means that it is a bit of walk to the center of Positano, but it is worth it. The staff is wonderful...it is a family owned business by the Casola family. The breakfast service boasts a fantastic waiter named "Tony". He is unbelievably helpful. The rooms are very well appointed and extremely clean. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayjayd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed in an "imperial Suite," which had a very comfortable sleeping area, a separate sitting area, and a balcony with fantastic views and a full sized hot tub. We arrived in a rental car, slightly stressed from the drive and unsure where we could park. Mauro ran out, told us that we had no more worries now that we had arrived, and they would take care of everything. That type of service immediately set the mood for a really relaxing vacation. We had requested the "celebration package," including flowers, a cake (out of this world delicious) and a bottle of prosecco, and they served this to us with great enthusiasm! They serve an excellent buffet breakfast in the lobby, and also brought us early morning coffee in the room, adding tasty little pastries and such. We ate one night in the "Adam and Eve" restaurant where the food was excellent, though we did not get to dine on the rooftop due to passing rain showers (we went up there though, and it is indeed a romantic, beautiful spot to dine). It does take 10 minutes + to walk from the Eden Roc down to the center /beach area, but it is a very pleasant walk. Only thing I didn't love was the fitness room, which is quite small, closed in, and under equipped - though perhaps not atypical for Europe.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed in two hotels in Positano and can offer some perspective.

Some hotels are actually in town, and as soon as you step out the door, you are where tourists want to be, surrounded by restaurants and shops. Look for an iPad map, and find the part of via Cristofero Colombo that forms a sharp delta, almost a keyhole. The area inside is the town of Positano. One hotel I stayed in, Palazzo Murat, is in this group, and is really very central.

Some hotels are up the hill a bit, but you can still walk into town. This includes Le Sirenuse and the other hotel I stayed in, Eden Roc. Eden Roc is about as high up the hill as you would care to go on foot. Sirenuse is practically in town. The hotels in this group may have more amenities and better views, but also more street noise from vehicles.

Other hotels are way up the hill or out of the main town. Thus includes San Pietro and some others. If you pick a hotel in this group, you will have to take public transport into Positano, which to me would be a big minus.

From Positano, going back to the Eden Roc is a stiff 15-minute walk up hill, and I wouldn't recommend it for anyone not in good shape. However, its rooms are nicely furnished, a bit more fresh-looking than those in Positano proper, and have more sweeping views. Eden Roc also had a quite nice breakfast spread, and strong, easy-to-access internet. Staff were warm and friendly, and seemed more spontaneous than those at Palazzo Murat. On the down side, their prices were a bit higher, and their rather basic swimming pool was easily trumped by Palazzo Murat's walled garden.

I recommend both of these hotels. Take your pick.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed three nights at Eden Roc and found the experience to be impressive. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The rooms were spacious. The view from our room took our breath away. We ate in the roof top restaurant and it was not only wonderful food, but had a relaxed atmosphere and great service. We also used the spa and the hotel arraigned for massages. The town was fun to walk through and we took a wonderful boat tour of the coast. We also used the rooftop pool. It was also spotlessly clean and the lunch there was great. Thanks to all the staff that made our time there very special.

Room Tip: We had four room for four couples and every one was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJAAlbany_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The quality of this hotel is second only to the amazing view it offers. It definitely has the best view in positano and the service and rooms in the hotel are unbelievable. We stayed in the imperial suite and it was definitely more than we would usually pay for a room but we have a 4 month old baby and felt if we are going to positano, we should do it right and we didn't regret one penny we spent in Eden Roc. In fact when we look at the room, the view and the service we agreed it was the best money spent.
The room service was fantastic and as our 4 month old was teething and therefore a little moody, the waiters were so good. They served us in our room like our room was a 5 star restaurant. The wine they recommended was fantastic and the quality of the food to die for. they offered for us to come and have dinner before everyone else as we felt we didn't want to ruin anyone's experience as our little darling was a little upset. They were more than happy to serve us on our own on the terrace to ensure we enjoyed the view from the restaurant. However the view from our room was just as fantastic so we ended up dining on the balcony all the time.
Everyone in the hotel made us feel so welcome and making up the babies bottles was so easy and they couldn't do enough for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we would love to go back.
The hotel was also in a good walking distance to everything. Around the corner from the hotel on the way down to the beach was a little filling station where you could buy beer and wine, they sell peroni for 1euro and lovely preseco for 2euro. We stocked up the mini bar ourselves as in fairness that was too much of a bargain to be missed!!
I agree with the other comments in that Eden Roc know what customer service is all about.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The imperial suite on the 2nd floor has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarissaP92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 38 in Positano
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#11 of 38 in Positano
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden Roc

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 110, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#7 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £182 - £1,747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden Roc 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 4 star Hotel Eden Roc in Positano welcomes you to its cozy establishment. The hotel overlooks the blue sea, and is situated a few metres from the beaches and the centre of Positano, in an ideal position to spend a day of culture and relax in the heart of the Amalfi Coast. The intimate and peaceful rooms and suites, furnished with antique furniture and equipped with the most disparate comforts, are bright and elegant, with a unified feature: a view of the sea that from the city of Positano expands to the Li Galli Islands, Punta Licosa and Praiano, giving you a glimpse of a unique sky that will remain ingrained in your memory forever. The panoramic pool and terrace, furnished with tables and chairs, are an absolute corner of peace and relax where you can taste our traditional specialties or sip a delicious cocktail cradled by the fresh Mediterranean breeze. Treat yourself to moments of pure poetry, Positano and the 4-star Eden Roc hotel will fill your days with beauty and class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eden Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Roc Hotel
Eden Roc Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing