We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delight”
Review of Wine-dark house

Wine-dark house
Ranked #50 of 88 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a delight”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

A full on day in Positano in May but had eaten enough octopus to last a life time - the waiter agreed to substitute the octopus in the fish salad - it was wonderful with a great recommended local wine to match. My partners seafood risotto was divine.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    68
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
1,237 reviews
542 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“very good service”
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

we were here for an aperitive, had a very good white and red wine, some breadstick.
The people were extremely kind.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Pearl of Positano”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I dined at the Wine-dark house with my girlfriend, when I was in Positano in July 2012. We heard about the place from locals and it did not disappoint in its originality nor quality! The experience was all that we could have wished for (especially when you are in such a lovely place as Positano):

The food was exceptional.
I had two simple dishes: Steamed Mussels for starters & spaghetti with pomodorini and basil for main. My girlfriend on the other hand had a "caprese" (tomato / mozzarella cheese with basil and oil / balsamico) for starters & Mixed fried seafood as second. Absolutely delicious! Accompanying the dinner was the House Rosè Wine that Nicodemo suggested, and it was very refreshing and took us by surprise in its delicacy. At the end we had a Tiramisu to share. It is the best tiramisu that i've ever tried and i've tried many (I have lived, studied and travelled in Italy for ½ year). Nico also told us that it was homemade.

The service was superb.
Nico and the other waiters were very polite and especially Nico has a great knowledge about food and wine in particular. He will guide you through your culinary desires if you want. Also his knowledge of the area is extensive, and you really feel you are in a local good quality place.

The atmosphere was very cozy and full of smiles and satisfied people. Everyone was entertained by either the food, the wine, the surroundings, each other or Nico's stories. No wonder the place can be quite packed, since anybody who experiences this place one time, returns.

During the day they have delicious cappucino and from 12.00 you can order their panini (sandwiches), which are mouth-watering and perfect for bringing to the beach. Try the Parmeggiano / eggplant sandwich! Average of 6 euro.

Compared to other restaurants in Positano this one was by far our best visit. Even though the seafood is good everywhere, it just felt exceptional here - Something to remember. So my advice is to avoid the big restaurants with their standardized service and food and try something original like the Wine-dark house. It won't disappoint you!

Valdemar & Cecilie

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Valdemar HG H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We eat here at the start of July and we were so happy that we did.We found this restaurant through tripadvisor.This restaurant / wine bar is beautiful with more seating outside than inside.
The food and wine was top class and really everything that came on a dish was so fresh.The owner and server are super friendly.All round this restaurant is well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant - Joe M”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My wife and I was at this restaurant in June of 2012. We found this by walking around the town and we were grade we did. The owner/server was very helpful and even pick out two red wines to try. I am now looking for these wines in the US. Being Italian, the food was like home made from my mother. If anyone goes to Posi, please eat at this restaurant, you will not be sorry.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine-dark house also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Wine-dark house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing