We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this little restaurant”
Review of Wine-dark house

Wine-dark house
Ranked #50 of 88 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved this little restaurant”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I stopped in for our first meal at Wine-Dark House. Manuel was great and attentive. Not only was the service fantastic, the food delicious, but Manuel invited us to meet him out on the town later. The staff are incredibly friendly and we felt so comfortable that we came back multiple times. Perfect for a small meal, a nice dinner on the patio or drinks and laughter.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMart3307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    68
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't know about the food, Do know about the fun.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I can't address how good the food is, but the wine is very good, and the after hours fun is great. Found this place on the way back from dinner one night, it was populated with off duty service industry employees from Positano. Passed by it the first night, even though it looked fun. Stopped in the second night and had a blast with the locals. Fonzarelli, Jaco and the gang that were there ...thanks for the great times, had the most fun of our whole vacation. Hope to see you guys again sometime. The staff was just excellent and very welcoming, very secluded and cozy place for late night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TogaPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We found this place by accident, sheltering out of the rain and decided to have lunch. So good during our stay we visited three times! Eggplant dish fantastic and fish salad excellent with good local wine. Service was friendly and helpful a great place to while away an hour or two.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Cool location - in the center of town but tucked away in a secluded little alcove. Service was fast, friendly and accommodating. We had panninis, pizza and pasta all were excellent and the house wine was nice. They also had a good beer selection

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing. The quality of pasta is the best we'd had outside of Napoli. The spaghetti with fresh anchovies is tremendous. The wine selection is amazing and the waiter was to let us try wines before purchasing a glass to ensure it met our needs. The prices were reasonable too - particularly for positano!

Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine-dark house also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Wine-dark house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing