We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner and location in Positano”
Review of Wine-dark house

Wine-dark house
Ranked #50 of 88 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great dinner and location in Positano”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We saw this restaurant very near to our apartment in Positano. It is on the walk heading down to the beach, and is only about 150 feet from the beachfront. It is recognizable because the restaurant is in a building painted a dark burgundy color. There were no tables left inside, so our group of five ate outside, just in front of the restaurant. The proprietor speaks excellent English, and the food was great and reasonably priced. A very good meal, and definitely a place we would go back to. Wines are their specialty (this is a wine bar/restaurant), so there are many wine choices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AshesToProveIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    68
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Natchitoches LA
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“OK for location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I wanted to like Wine-dark for the name alone but it didn't live up to my expectations. The location is great, just up from the beach by the church, so based on the Tripadvisor reviews, I made it a point to stop there.

Perhaps the problem was that it was at lunch and not dinner, or that they had just opened, Our table ordered panninis and local wine, which was only available by the glass--unusual in this area where wine is usually available in small ceramic pitchers.

Four of us ordered panninis, which turned out to be a mistake as all the sandwiches were surprisingly small. One couple liked their onion omelette panninis but the other couple's panninis was essentially a bread sandwich. Note that no one expected an overstuffed deli sandwich, but even by Italian pannini standards, these were both small and skmpy--and for about $11 U.S. each. Another group next to us was having the same reaction to their panninis.

Given the other reviews I really wanted to like Wine-dark House. Perhaps the kitchen was having an off-day. Or perhaps we just ordered the wrong thing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NatchitochesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Positano!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went here for a dinner during our honeymoon based on TripAdvisor reviews, and were not disappointed! The owner seated us in their quiet courtyard area, which is just below the cathedral though you'd never know it since it's so peaceful and shady. We were given plenty of time to make our choices, but ultimately let the waitstaff/owner recommend what we should order - and they did not disappoint! We had a cianghale with fresh fettucine (house made, it seemed) and another pasta with wonderful tender white fish and a tomato sauce. Great wine, a limoncello, and some bread to mop up the leftover sauce - va bene! Definitely worth seeking this place out for a quiet dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CbusTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanbedrog, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Return to Positano!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Again we went past the 'Tourist' areas and up past the church and the Gem we found last year was just as last time!!
Excellent food and wine and attentions of 'Mine Host' adds to the experience!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank standup77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Food, wine, service ottimo !!! (Excellent)”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I found this little cafe/ restaurant while out walking one day, it,s located just off Piazza Flavio Gioia, it was also later recommended to us by some other regular hotel guests that night. The food is wonderful, the Stuffed rolled veal or the Egg Plant parmigiana is fantastic and I can recommend a bottle of the local Bianco. I had the hot heart chocolate cake for dessert which was probably not necessary but if your on vacation why worry I say... The service is very good with a relaxed atmosphere and all at a very reasonable price. We are most definitely going back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TSBHRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine-dark house also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Wine-dark house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing