We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why no one told us?”
Review of Conca d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conca d'Oro
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel will surprise you in few ways: on the one hand the view is spectacular and the rooms are OK. However to arrive each time you need to climb 107 stairs in dirty back allies! the short 5 minutes to the shore are actually a striking cardiovascular exercise with few hundred stairs each way. the parking is remote and you get the bill in the end - 25 euros per day (no one told us in advance. The last surprise is the guy carring 2 suitcases on his back with a rokpe up and down the stairs all day long.

Room Tip: ask about elevators, stairs and parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aviad g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

During our eight day stay in Positano, choosing Conca d'Oro as our place to stay was one of the best decisions we made. The rooms were spotless, the staff were both amazing and welcoming and the view was spectacular. Although there were plenty of stairs to conquer before getting up to the hotel, the welcoming smiles and friendly staff made the climb worth while. The cleanliness of the hotel exceeded our expectations, and the view from the terrace was breath taking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicmarsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent 8 glorious days at Conca d'Oro, our high expectations were surpassed, the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are spotlessly clean and charming, we had a triple occupancy room and it more than suited our needs. We were greeted each day with smiles and felt as though we were family returning home. It is so worth the climb of 107 stairs to this little slice of heaven, I would return in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Costaricacathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was my first trip to Positano and I booked the hotel at the last minute. I stayed there in June of 2013 for 5 nights. The hotel has the best and most beautiful views. I had balcony room with a splendid View.
Here is what to expect:
The room are small, they are many steps to climb to get to the hotel. they do have a porter to help with bags. If you are young and have no problem working you should be ok climbing the steps. The hotel is not far from the town where all the shops are.
If you like to watch TV, they only have a couple of english news channel.
The food in the hotel is not the best, Try out the restaurants on the way from the hotel into town instead. Continental breakfast was ok.
Also if you ordered room service and iced that will cost you an extra 5 euro each times.
The hotel did not allow irons in the room (ironing of one pair of pants would have cost 12 euros)!
Overall it was ok, It was a little expensive for what I paid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PauletteSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Would definitely go there again. The staff were very friendly and the hotel was spotless. The meal in the resteraunt was very good and the views were spetacular. The cool hot tub on the sun terrace was different but great in the daytime. It is on a steep hill , so not for the fainthearted or infirm.

Room Tip: have a balcony facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here with some female friends.

- Affordable 3* hotel within Positano.
- Beautiful view from our balcony, which had lounge chairs and a table, overlooking the Mediterranean and Positano beach.
- Many many many many steps to climb, to get to the hotel (especially with luggage...only to find out that a "bell boy" could have carried the cases for us when we checked in).
- Room & bathroom are tiny-, primitive-, but clean; it can be a bit noisy in the mornings, as all buildings in Positano are old....you will always hear other guests passing by your room.
- Continental breakfast was ok (don't expect scrambled eggs etc, etc...) food a la carte a bit overpriced and bland (comparing to what you COULD get in this part of Italy). Try out the restaurants on the way from the hotel into town instead.
- Personnel were very kind- and helpful (the hotel is being run by 2 sisters, whom both speak fluently English).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProseccowithaTwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Beautiful views does express just how amazing Positano is. Staff all made us feel very welcome, always a smile and a kind word, Very accommodating !!! I look forward to a return trip to enjoy a beautiful balcony room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 38 in Positano
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#11 of 38 in Positano
620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conca d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conca d'Oro

Address: Via Boscariello 16, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £108 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Conca d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Conca D'Oro enjoys a gorgeus panoramic position in Positano, in a quiet and secluded area.This modern Positano hotel is elegantly furnished and boasts a friendly and peaceful atmosphere, providing the perfect setting for a romantic getaway or an unforgettable summer holiday in the Amalfi coast.The hotel Conca d'oro features an excellent restaurant with outdoor terrace, a stylish American bar and a welcoming lounge area.Free Wifi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Conca d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conca d Oro Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing