We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Excellent”
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ancora
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford CT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beyond Excellent”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Not enough words to describe how wonderful this hotel is! Booked Jr Suite with Private Terrace- THE prime, most breathtaking view in all of Positano. (Same view as Sireneuse next door at a fraction of the price.) Beautiful and spacious room, jetted bath tub/shower beneath window directly out to the stunning view; Staff were extremely friendly and gracious and met every need with a smile; Alfredo, Michele, Anna... all so helpful; spotlessly clean, delicious continental breakfast, modest 10 minute (or less) walk up and down to beachside shops and restaurants. Easy access to local "shuttle" bus, too. Would stay again in a heartbeat — hope next time they have upgraded to WIFI in rooms. (Currently only in lobby or wired in room with :60 time-lapsed access codes. FREE however, which was a relief.) Simply loved every minute. Could not recommend more highly.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad one- but 206 is a stunner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGHTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    62
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
159
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Rooms had window view, no view or a balcony. Fortunately we had three couples that allowed us to gather for sunset wine and cheese each night. Cute clean rooms with jetted tubs. It appeared some rooms had their own hot tub on the balcony.

Downsides were we couldn't call the elevator from our floor so had to up or down a flight of stairs. Since this place is built into the mountain, everything was steep. Major concern was four or five steps that decreased in size as you went down to the sink or toilet.

Room Tip: Ask for all of the different options to see what suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Aust
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

As a last minute booking my wife and I enjoyed 4 wonderful days and nights at the Ancora. We had booked hoping for a reasonable sea view room and were very pleased when Alfredo from reception took us to our room. We had been upgraded to a family suite with more than enough room for the 2 of us.

Large rooms, great ocean and village views and importantly everything spotless. To us it appeared to be a happy team working together and nothing was too much trouble. The reception staff very knowledgable with restaurant suggestions, places to visit and always ready with advice when requested.

Breakfast served in a nice area had a great variety to choose from and the gentleman who supervised breakfast was very attentive to ours and others needs.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Ancora again. The very friendly staff are definitely the cream on the cake.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnw097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stumbled across this hotel when searching for Positano recommendations. A little bit of luck, this is a beautiful, clean, authentic hotel with a touch of Italian authenticity located on the hills of Positano and just a short walk (10 min) down to the beach. Breathtaking views, standard continental breakfast selection included, with excellent cappuccino. Service was great with turn down service in the evening and great value. Only down side is that there is no pool, hot tub available for the family suite. A short distance from the bus stop going/coming from Amalfi town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

A short walk from the bus stop. We were a little concerned by the small front desk arrival area in between two parking garage areas, but once inside it is a delightful hotel. Our room had the perfect deck overlooking the beach and town areas. The bathroom with a jetted tub was a lot of fun, it has a view of the beach also. The breakfast was very good and the gentleman serving was perfect in his performance making sure that we had everything just right each morning.

Room Tip: The hotel next door was about 3 X the rate and didn't seem as nice. The charge for Wifi was our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idahotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Ancora for my 30th Birthday at the end of June. It was a lovely hotel in a perfect location, staff are very friendly and accomodating. We asked to change a room because our view was obstructed and they moved us the next day to an amazing room with views to match.
The rooms are very clean, spacious as was the bathroom and the balcony. The aircon is top notch and much needed. Breakfast was a nice selection of continental food and included in the hotel price too. The only thing missing is a hotel bar but next door is La Sirenuse which do a great selection of drinks and with so many restuarants and bars on the beach we didnt have to look very far. The sister hotel Covo dei Saraceni next to the beach was lovely and we used their pool everyday as it had amazing views as its up high over looking the beach and the town, plus the beach bar was great for food and drinks. The staff are lovely here too. We didnt mind that we had to walk to it as its a lovely walk there. We would stay there again, it was home away from home

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012 via mobile

We spent four nights here and loved this hotel. Great value, perfect views from our balcony and really good service by all staff especially Alfredo at front desk. Note wifi is not available in rooms only in lobby for payment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
845 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#17 of 39 in Positano
542 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Property: Hotel Ancora
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 36, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancora Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing