We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice, terrace is lovely!”
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ancora
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I stayed at the Ancora for 4 nights and was pleased with my stay. I had a superior room, it was nice and quite large, and the terrace and view outstanding! As many other posters have stated, the hotel has the same view as the Sirenuse for a fraction of the price. Our room did not have a shower, just a tub with a hand held shower. I was not expecting this, so just be aware as this may bother some people. If you are looking for a nice hotel without a pool, I highly recommend this place. Yes, there are more upscale properties in Positano, but the Ancora is a good value with an excellent location. Close to the center, bus stops and many stores and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.
The breakfast buffet had good variety, and there was great service throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KosmoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ancora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Absolutely lovely 4-night stay here. The room was beautiful and very clean (they cleaned multiple times a day!). We had a gorgeous view of Positano and the beach. The staff was unbelievable - incredibly helpful and pleasant. Anna made us impromptu reservations for a late lunch at their sister hotel, and even though they were no longer serving food, we were taken to a lovely table by the pool overlooking the beach and served a fabulous meal, thanks to Anna's coercing. ;) The only downside to this wonderful little hotel was the WiFi. It was very spotty and hard to connect to. However, being in Positano kept us occupied and with the helpful staff, we didn't feel the need to get online.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mokie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a great value if you are looking for views and service. The room was clean, nice size and the views were outstanding. Next door to one of the higher priced hotels in the area so u get the same view, great service and friendly staff for half the cost. We enjoyed the room so much we snacked on cheese and meats from a store just a few blocks always. Picked up a couple of bottles of vino and then ordered cafe at midnight from room service. It was were the best coffee of our trip and it was serviced with smile and fast. Come to relax and enjoy. One of our friends were located on the top floor and while their room was winderful their balcony was below an a/c or some motor that was loud when it started up or stopped. They still enjoyed the view. Recommend asking for room on at least the second or third level down. Breakfast is on lowest level and was well stocked with fresh coffee and a friendly staff that cooked eggs to order along with fresh fuirt and standard breakfast buffet fair. Parking is available and it's close enough to shops and the beach that u can park and walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelonisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Located adjacent to the Le Sirenuse Hotel and sharing the same fabulous view of Positano, Hotel Ancora is a sparkling gem without the high price of it's 5 star neighbor. Our jr suite, room #206, with a hot tub on the terrace (only 2 rooms in the hotel have hot tubs) was worth paying extra!!! It's terrace is the largest in the hotel which presented you the best view of the town, church and beach. Because the terrace was so large, (I would estimate that it was over 30' ((10 meters)) deep by 20'+ ((7 meters)) wide), it's view were ‪uncompromised‬. Not all rooms in the hotel have such a view! The hot tub was a wonderful plus and a great place to relax after a day of sightseeing. The terrace was such a pleasure that on a few days, we just spent the entire day on it enjoying the view and hot tub.

Each morning, for a few euro, we had our breakfast delivered to our terrace... the perfect way to start the day.

The hotel was very clean and well taken care of. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help.

WiFi was free, but was only available in the lobby after obtaining a password. The room had an ethernet cable, however access to the internet was also by a password obtained in the lobby! Access only lasted an hour at a time, causing you to go back to the lobby to get a new password. For such a terrific hotel, this was unfortunate inconvenience when on a working vacation! However, it was the only problem we encountered.

Parking was free and at street level on what we discovered was the roof of the hotel. A very big plus in this town where parking is very limited and expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GWHconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Anna and L'Ancora Hotel in Positano saved us when another hotel (Hotel Villa Franca) was not able to honor our reservation due to over-booking during 2 nights in OCT. Anna provided us with a nice suite that had a beautiful ocean view & small balcony.The breakfast area and food offering, which included cereal, coffee, fresh fruit, & pastries was very very good and the location on the hill was perfect....you were not too far up the hill and could easily walk down to the beach and yet you were high enough to enjoy the view of the coastline, which is what Positano is famous for.

Anna and the rest of the staff were very professional, accommodating and did all they could to make our stay memorable. I recommend this hotel for your trip to Positano.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TangoTraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This hotel was everything that I hoped for being it was the first time in positano
The service, the rooms , location , satelite tv , free wi Fi
Almost everything near perfect . We came from spending 5 nights in rome in the worst hotel
We were so happy and releived Ancora ticked all the boxes
This is the place to stay in positano very reasonable with price and staff so helpful
You won't regret staying here

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Not enough words to describe how wonderful this hotel is! Booked Jr Suite with Private Terrace- THE prime, most breathtaking view in all of Positano. (Same view as Sireneuse next door at a fraction of the price.) Beautiful and spacious room, jetted bath tub/shower beneath window directly out to the stunning view; Staff were extremely friendly and gracious and met every need with a smile; Alfredo, Michele, Anna... all so helpful; spotlessly clean, delicious continental breakfast, modest 10 minute (or less) walk up and down to beachside shops and restaurants. Easy access to local "shuttle" bus, too. Would stay again in a heartbeat — hope next time they have upgraded to WIFI in rooms. (Currently only in lobby or wired in room with :60 time-lapsed access codes. FREE however, which was a relief.) Simply loved every minute. Could not recommend more highly.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad one- but 206 is a stunner!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KGHTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
908 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#11 of 38 in Positano
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#16 of 38 in Positano
562 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#10 of 38 in Positano
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 36, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £166 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancora Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing