We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Ending to Our Italian Honeymoon”
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ancora
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect Ending to Our Italian Honeymoon”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

AMAZING! I don’t know if you can have a bad hotel in Positano b/c it’s just so beautiful, but our experience made our trip!!!! With such a breathtaking view I really wanted to find a hotel with a balcony we could enjoy. Many of the hotels that had balconies were out of our price range. Out of all of our Italian hotels this was the location we deliberated on the most (probably b/c we were spending so much money) but at this place we had a balcony ( I think we stayed in the room with the biggest balcony) and it was perfect!! I wondered if spending the extra money would be worth it for the balcony and it without a doubt was! We had breakfast out there and just took in the view. I also wondered if we would use the hot tub (I’m not really a hot tub person) but we got in 3 times while we were there. It was incredible! It rained a little while we were there, and it got kind of cold (even though it was the summer). For most raining while you are at a place to enjoy the beach may ruin your fun, but not for us! We got in the hot tub, pulled out the retractable awning and stayed warm while still enjoying the view with the rain coming down around us. Positano itself was such an amazing village, it’s hard to describe how beautiful and relaxing it is without experiencing it. The restaurants are kind of pricey, but had really good food. We also enjoyed music on the rocks, we didn’t stay for long but it was cool just to experience. In addition to our room having an amazing view, it was also very comfortable, spacious and bright. I can’t say enough about it. I would highly recommend for anyone coming to Positano. Although I’m sure many of the hotels there (even the really expensive ones) have pro’s and cons I think this was the perfect choice for us!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawmar03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    63
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
159
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Our room 214 had an amazing ocean view. The room was clean and spacious and luxurious. The bathroom had a spa tub. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The valet parked our car and we never had to use it because everything is within walking distance. The reccomrndations for restaraunts were awesome (Max's). The breakfast was delicious and their was English speaking TV. Free Wifi, but sometimes difficult to stay connected. We stayed for 3 nights, but should have extended our stay because we loved it so much!

Room Tip: I think all rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The good: Same view as Le Sirenuse (next door/fantastic). Great location; quiet and walkable to shopping, restaurants, and beach. Spacious & luxurious rooms, comfortable beds, though our hot tub did not work. Very good staff (loved Anna) and the complimentary breakfast was very good. Free wifi.
The other: you can certainly tell the difference when you walk into Le Sirenuse - much closer to 5 star, and you pay for it. The only other thing to mention is if you like to workout - it's almost impossible in Positano. The Poseidon Hotel, about a 1/2 mile from Ancora, has what's billed as a health club and costs 11 euro. Not worth $.50 in U.S. If you're a runner, it helps to be a mountain goat with tightrope walking ability.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Activation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Views are fabulous-we were in room 205. Service is very good. Small intimate hotel next to Sierenuse. Large balcony which is nicely furnished. Parking on roof of hotel. Near stairs to beach. Anna at front desk is very helpful and gracious. Max restaurant is very good-ask for patio table. Breakfast is very nice-best capacinno in Italy. :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLH1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

This is a terrific place with breathtaking views of the sea and surrounds if you have booked a balcony room. We have just spent four nights at L'Ancora and really enjoyed our stay. The balcony has two comfortable recliner lounges and catches the afternoon sun. The room we stayed in on the top floor was spacious, light and airy. The bed was comfortable, which was a relief after the rock-hard hotel bed we'd experienced in Rome. We agreed with earlier Tripadviser reviewers that the facilities are good, the breakfast fresh and tasty and the staff, including Domencio as well as the previously mentioned and lovely Anna, are unfailingly helpful and friendly. The laundry service is efficient but expensive so we did some of our washing in the room. We had never been to Positano before and we fell in love with it. It is a beautiful place that lives up to its reputation as one of the jewels of the Mediterranean. Explore it and enjoy it.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The view is just magnificent and, I think, great value for the price. We had a room with a very spacious balcony, complete with sun loungers, looking straight down to the sea, the beach, the church and the town (which looked amazing at night with all the twinkling lights). We had breakfast served on our balcony each morning and it was delicious, served with linen and fine china. The room itself was lovely and spacious with some beautiful furniture, very bright and airy - it was lovely to sleep with the windows open and listen to the sea. The bathroom was large and also looked out to the water. It is a short walk to everything - to restaurants, down to the waterfront and the little streets of interesting shops and if you don't feel like walking back up the hill to the hotel, the regular local shuttle will drop you right at the door. It is also very close to the bus stop for the buses travelling round the Amalfi coast - be like a local; and the view is spectacular. The staff are fantastic. All that we came across were genuinely friendly - from Anna on the desk, who made sure we went to right place to catch the bus to Amalfi, to Pina who kept our room beautifully. The young guy who was also on the desk was friendly and helpful, coming down to our room to help us when we couldn't get the video to play in English! I will definitely stay here again - loved the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I stayed at the Ancora for 4 nights and was pleased with my stay. I had a superior room, it was nice and quite large, and the terrace and view outstanding! As many other posters have stated, the hotel has the same view as the Sirenuse for a fraction of the price. Our room did not have a shower, just a tub with a hand held shower. I was not expecting this, so just be aware as this may bother some people. If you are looking for a nice hotel without a pool, I highly recommend this place. Yes, there are more upscale properties in Positano, but the Ancora is a good value with an excellent location. Close to the center, bus stops and many stores and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.
The breakfast buffet had good variety, and there was great service throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KosmoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 39 in Positano
1,415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#9 of 39 in Positano
724 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#17 of 39 in Positano
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Property: Hotel Ancora
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 36, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancora Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing