We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Fenice
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Eden Roc(Positano)
US$689
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$627
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
I Giardini dei sensi(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$591
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$573
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Miramare(Positano)
US$456
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$444
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$914
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$852
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Agavi Hotel(Positano)
US$990
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$923
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Poseidon(Positano)
US$800
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$695
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$466
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
330
56
8
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
56
8
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachfig jamthe salt water poolcroissantsamalfi coastpaniniscaprese saladbreakfast terraceshort walkfresh fruitbeautiful poollovely familyevery morningpool sidethe cliffhis brotherour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I will start from the "drawback" - we were told that our room will be in a Villa, 150 steps above the road. There are indeed many steps to climb (and a lot to climb up and down in Positano in general) - it is worth all the effort and then some (not to mentoin the additional benefit of a bit of excersise). We stayed there for 7 nights.
That was a vacation made out of dream materials. I do believe that Positano in itself is a heavenly place to be in - and by far the best to stay when going to the Costiera Amalfitana. However, the experience is enhanced by this magical B&B: The view is breathtaking (regradless where your room is located - it will face the sea). and then there are the steep climb down (and then back up) to the pool and small beach, the simple yet most rewarding breakfast with fruit, picked right from the trees, the spacious and very clean room and above all the hospitality of one warm family. On top of keeping house and attending to breakfast (and lunch around the pool if you like), they will give advice on what to do and how to go about in the Costiera and will do the necessary arrangements if you like. Their recommendations to the best (and not necessarily most expensive) cullinary establishments in Positano (and other places along the coast) are priceless.

Lastly, I do believe that experiences are subjective and therefore I usually do not comment on those of others. However there are a very few negative reviews about this place and they seem so far form ours that I cannot but wonder whether we stayed in the same place with the same hosts. Enjoy !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I travel frequently and I have never felt compelled to write a review... until staying at La Fenice. It is a B&B - do not expect luxury. What you can expect is to feel like you're staying with your distant Italian relatives that want to take care of you and ensure you have an amazing trip -- not to mention the stunning views. Without some of their recommendations, I would have missed out on some of my favorite experiences/restaurants in Positano. Upon leaving it felt like we were saying goodbye to family. I can't wait to go back - there is no other place I would rather stay in Positano.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunfoink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

If you are planning on staying in Positano, stay at La Fenice if you want a beautiful place and a welcoming Italian family who wants to make your trip as memorable and enjoyable as possible. If they weren't helping us, they were helping some other couple or family make the most of their days in Positano. It started with a greeting at the car and they carried our very heavy bags up many stairs. Many stairs = beautiful view. If you don't like stairs, might not be the best place for you. However, if you can walk up 50 stairs from the street - stay in apartment 3. We had a large place with a beautiful, large balcony overlooking the sea. We spent hours there drinking wine, stargazing, watching boats and people on the street below...all very relaxing and entertaining. The bathroom was large, the hot water was great, shower was great. I saw some complaints below and was surprised - our shower was just fine. Breakfast was also really good - pastries, fruit from their garden (figs were so delicious) and coffee made to order. The gardens are lovely. A lot of love, care and work goes into making La Fenice wonderful. The whole family was very friendly and helpful. Julio was one of the brothers and couldn't have been more accomodating. We must have asked him at least 10 questions a day and he was so helpful and patient. He and his father made reservations for us at numerous places and they were happy to do it. I thought it was an excellent value for the money - I wasn't expecting it to be so nice, so large, with a perfect balcony and so beautiful. The pool is lovely. It's many steps down to a private beach but well worth it. Steps are good as you'll eat so much in Italy, you'll need to burn it off.

I read someone's complaint about the wi-fi. There isn't wi-fi in the room; however, there is wi-fi in the breakfast garden area and it worked fine.

We loved it! Ask for apt 3 if you want a great balcony. Would recommend this place to anyone staying in Positano. We were sad to leave, and left with kisses and hugs from the family.

Stephanie & Rob

Room Tip: The further up you are, the better view of the sea. There are apartments closer to the street, pool and beach if a great view isn't as important to you.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The setting is breath-taking. The rooms are immaculate, charming, and comfortable. A pristine swimming pool and private beach are a welcome alternative to the often crowded main beach. But what makes La Fenice truly stand out is the owners' incredible attention to ensuring that each guest is happy while under their roof. The care and effort that was taken to make my time at La Fenice special and memorable is something I will never forget.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleSFCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

If you like your car scratched by a key when parked on the premises, no AC in 40 degree heat, turds in the pool, poultry walking around on you car taking dumps on the roof, no wifi except three hundred steps up to the breakfast area were it doesn't work anyway and an owner who takes showers in the parking lot, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thecarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews