We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Simply the Best !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2008

Just returned, stayed 6-10th May. The wife & I take 4-5 mini-breaks a year so I stay in a lot of good hotels - trust me my fellow travellers, the Poseidon is unbeatable! Other TA reviewers have said it all (and many thanks for doing so!) , I would just endorse their comments - the hotel is superb, the views are stunning and breakfast & lunch are top quality. I can’t comment directly on dinner but I gather it's excellent, we prefer to eat out and "do the town"(reeelly can’t understand people who just eat in their hotel!).

The staff are brilliant (mille grazie!), nothing is too much trouble and they're not at all stuffy, we had quite a few laughs - special thanks to Allesandra, Giovanni, and Livia (remember "Mr Grappa"?) - hi guys! Positano is a great destination, prettiest place I've seen, a very friendly town with excellent restaurants - try Chez Black's down at the beach front.

I don't usually go back to the same place, the World's too big, but this really could be the exception . .

Anyhoo – have a good trip folks, you won't be disappointed!

Fred Jones
Cambridge UK

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving it
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredJonesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    142
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
103
502
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2008

Ever since we stayed in the Hotel Poseidon April two years ago - we have compared every other hotel in Italy to it. The level of service, the view, the warm staff, the beautiful balcony, the central location, the pool, the lounge and bar - all were perfect. The quiet elegance and the calm stayed with us long after the week we spent there.
the restaurant was also very good, and several meals were prepared for us on cart near our table.
The only thing I might say is that the bathrooms were tiled in green which though very Italian was not really my taste.
But perhaps they have already changed this.
The one thing that may not be apparent from their pictures is that they are rather high up on the mountain, which is good becaus ein positano most of the action takes place higher up, and you can follow the road down. Therefore most of the hotels are higher up which is more convenient.
The hotel had parking so they took out car which is good since the streets are very narrow.

We had a lovely time, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank imogen139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
488 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2008

The Poseidon Hotel is a wonderful hotel set in one of the most stunning settings in the world!
We stayed here at the end of a 15 day trip to Italy, previously staying in Rome and Sorrento.
Words cannot describe the view as we opened our doors onto the large terrace overlooking Positano. We were absolutely speechless!
The hotel is set on the one-way loop that travels down from the Amalfi coastal road into Positano and up the other side of the town.
The town itself is unashamedly touristy and hordes of day trippers visit from Sorrento and Amalfi, but to actually stay in Positano gives you a very privileged feeling. Once all the visitors have left on their coaches and buses, you are left alone to enjoy the town to yourself. This is not to say that it is quiet in the evenings. The central restaurants, especially the ones facing the beach, are more often than not fully booked at certain stages of the evening.
We managed to find two wonderful restaurants during our stay in Positano - one on the winding path that leads around to the right of the resort - simply follow the path at the end of the beach and the restaurant is built into the cliff on to your right.
The other is on the road that climbs out of Positano before you reach the main Amalfi drive. It is situated on the left with a number of chairs and table on the other side of the road overlooking Positano. Sorry, I can't remember their names.
We had breakfast in the Poseidon and I can say this had to be the best breakfast I have ever had. Everything was available, including Bucks Fizz, little baby buffalo mozzarella cheeses, every imaginable egg dish, huge selection of cakes, hams.
Had a fantastic stay and would love to return one day.

  • Liked — Location and View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2007

This place was fantastic. The service was outstanding and the hotel itself had a n old world charm. The restaurant was excellent however liked the outdoor seating on the veranda better than the inside restaurant. The indoor rest. was a bit bright. Take advantage of the massage and turkish bath. We splurged on a suite but it was still well below some of the other spots like the Sierenuse (seemed very stuffy). We had a great last day when it rained and we spent the day in the public area drinking wine, listening to the mandolin player they brought in and talking with guests.

Can't say enough good things about the view from our room. The only negative is that the street was below and there is a school across the street.....a bit noisy on 2 mornings.

Positano was a great place and the Poseidon lived up to its billing on TA!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — can't say
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank denaliherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2007

My husband and I were married at the Hotel Poseidon on July 4th 2007. We had the most amazing stay! Alessandra helped plan our wedding and did the most amazing job and even added her own special touches which were truly appreciated! She is such a wonderfully warm and kind person
as is ALL the staff at the hotel. We were married on the pool terrace overlooking the ocean and gorgeous town of Positano, it was a dream. We had our wedding dinner at their restaurant and it was amazing! The food is wonderful and you can't beat the incredible views (Hotel Poseidons restaurant was our favorite place to eat in Positano). My husband and I were alone yet we felt like we were with friends and family. Even the guests there were great! We hired their mandolino and guitar player to play during our ceremony and during our dinner and they were wonderful. Being here really gives you the true flavor of Italy. The staff goes completely out of their way to make you feel comfortable and happy. I didnt want to leave.....I told my husband I want to move there!! Our rooms were lovely and the french doors opened
to our terrace overlooking Positano and the ocean. No matter where you
are in the hotel the views are breath taking. In the morning at breakfast the staff are all so pleasant and greet you with their friendly smiles and sweet accents and all have a great sense of humor.
One of the staff members Elio (who we loved and is very funny) even took time out of his day to help my husband write part of his wedding vows in Italian. Claudio was another wonderful staff member and incredibly kind and helpful. Honestly, every person there is just great! After leaving Positano (we were there for 6 days) we went to Sorrento for 4 days. You can't even compare. Sorrento is nice, but too much of a tourist trap. Rome is nice if you're familiar with city living which we are because we're from New York. I also found the people to be very rude in Rome. Positano was my favorite!! I would have no problem going there every year for the rest of my life! It's charming, beautiful, great food, great people, great artists, great weather....you'll love it!! There is no question that the Hotel Poseidon would be the only place I would choose to stay! They gave me memories that will last a life time!

  • Liked — I loved everything!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ds1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

Hotel Poseidon is one of the top hotels in Positano, and priced quite competitively against the competition. It is one of the few with a pool and has a lovely large terrace where dinner is served and also around the pool for sun bathing.

The service is impeccable and all of the staff are so nice and professional. We really recommend them.

One word of warning, do not stay on 1st floor (any other floor is fine) as it is nearest to the road and you can hear the traffic.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane5194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2007

My new husband and I spent 12 nights at the Hotel Poseidon, Positano from the mid to end of September 2007 and had an absolutely fabulous time.
The staff were excellent; very welcoming and professional, the hotel was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, the pool area and restaurant terrace overlooked the town of Positano as did our room (a superior on the second floor) which was also lovely and spacious and had its own great terrace.
The food at the hotel was gorgeous and we would highly recommend that you try the seafood risotto which was hard to match at any of the other restaurants in Positano.
The location of the hotel was excellent - you can walk down to town easily or alternatively there are steps about 20 meters from the hotel down to the beaches and you can walk up the hill to three more great restaurants which are open for lunch and dinner. There is also a small convenience store across the road from the hotel which was useful.
And of course in Positano you are ideally placed to catch the bus to east to Amalfi, west to Sorrento and pretty much anywhere else by boat.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and we hope that it's not too long before we return to Positano and to the Hotel Poseidon!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyon06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Property: Hotel Poseidon
Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position.Poseidon has offered for 50 years, thanks to the Aonzo family daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing