We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon in May 2013. The hotel was unbelievable! The view of Positano was excellent, the walk to town was short, and the prices were much lower than other hotels we priced out. The staff was extremely helpful when it came to planning excursions and recommending activities. We were able to have breakfast on our terrace overlooking the ocean each morning (and it was complimentary!).
We stayed in the suite the "funny room" on recommendation from a friend and it was an excellent choice! The room is less expensive than other suites because the access to the terrace is through an oversized window. It was entirely unproblematic - a very tall person would merely have to duck and there are stairs leading up to the window.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Elizabeth,
Thank you so much for writing this review.
We are glad to read all your positive comments about our Hotel and the staff!
We always do all we can and we are always pleased when guests appreciate all our attempts to make their stay a memorable one.
I enjoyed your feedback about our Funny Suite, whose private terrace definitely offers one of the best views in Positano!
Hoping to welcome you back again, we sincerely wish you a lovely day!

Margherita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel is a gem of gems. The grounds and public areas are straight out of a movie of another era. Everything is so well maintained and beautiful. The breakfast buffet is endless with selections, served on the terrace overlooking the sea. We had a wonderful dinner one night as well. The rooms face the water and are very comfortable. Samer, director of guest services, made our 4 night stay one we will never forget and we look forward to returning. We absolutely loved this place.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maggie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Maggie! Greetings from Positano!
Thank you very much for your messagge!
It's really important for us!
I’m Sonia Ferrera, the Guest Relation Manager.
Our philosophy is "A discreet and elegant hospitality,
helps to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing
our guests to feel at home".
We hope to have you again with us very soon!.
We remain at your disposal for any request. You can contact me at:
prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it
Best regards to all the members of our team ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at the Poseidon on our honeymoon and returned in August 2013 for our tenth wedding anniversary. It's still a beautiful hotel and the views were as stunning as we had remembered. This time we were able to afford a bigger room which was lovely with a great bathroom. I was slightly disappointed that despite telling the hotel we were returning for our tenth anniversary, they did nothing to mark the occasion...a glass of prosecco would have been nice! We've stayed in other hotels to mark previous anniversaries and been greeted with various things from a card to a bowl of fruit or some bubbly.

On the actual day of our anniversary we went to Le Sireneuse and here they pulled out all the stops. Yes it was expensive, but we felt like royalty for the evening and it was worth every penny!

The Poseidon from ten years ago seemed to make more effort, perhaps things have been scaled back in the current economy...there was one attentive pool boy and a bar person on duty but ten years ago we were treated to tasty morsels by the pool, our loungers were moved to get the best spot and service was definitely friendlier. We had a lovely few days but it's a shame that things feel like they've slipped and next time we come to Positano (and we will, as we love the place) we will probably stay somewhere else.

Future trips will have very different criteria though, as now we a baby on the way (made in Italy!) :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarlsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest!
Greetings from Positano!

I'm Sonia Ferrera, Guest Relations Manager, here at the Poseidon.
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments. Becouse
honest criticism give us the motivation to improve and also to solve problems that
might creep into the daily work routine.
We hope to welcome you again and do our best to make you happy and totally satisfied.
We are at your disposal for any request or question, you can contact me at:
prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it You can follow us as well on fb "Hotel Poseidon"
We have a lot of news and surprises ready to the new opening, 16th of April.

Best Regards from all the Poseidon Team ;)

Sincerely,

Sonia Ferrera

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel is very well situated. It is in the middle of the hill, close to the shops and restaurant and the lower part of Positano where the church is. This is an old villa and has a quirky layout which added to its charm. We had to go upstairs, down a hallway lined with rooms and then out onto a patio and into another hallway where our room was. However, that patio was so picturesque and so typically Positano, it was a pleasure to walk out there each time. The room is on the spare side but is very charming and ver clean. My husband and I have bad backs and good beds are very important to us. This bed was good. We were lucky to get a view of Positano. Our room had a patio and we ate dinner there one night and just took in the view of Positano at night. When we arrived, our room was not yet ready and so we requested if it was at all possible to get a room with a view. Our room service food was very good. Breakfast was upstairs on the patio where the views were gorgeous. The food was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Lucy!
Greetings from Positano!
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments.
I will pass all to the team. My name is Sonia Ferrera, Guest Relations Manager,
here at Poseidon. Great to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us.
We hope to welcome you soon again. If you have any request or question, please contact me at: prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it You can follow us on fb "Hotel Poseidon".
We have a lot of news for this year. Our opening will be the next 16th of April.

Best Regards from all the Poseidon Team!

A presto!

Sonia Ferrera

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic Hotel to stay..Loved our room above the pool terrace...Great breakfasts on the terrace and the Hotel is just in the middle so the walk back from town up the main road was fine...the little beach around to the left from the main beach an extra bonus

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest! Greetings from Positano!
Thank you very much for your messagge!
It's really important for us!
I’m Sonia Ferrera, the Guest Relation Manager.
Our philosophy is "A discreet and elegant hospitality,
helps to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing
our guests to feel at home".
We hope to have you again with us very soon!.
We remain at your disposal for any request. You can contact me at:
prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it
Best regards from all the members of our team ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We traveled to Sicily and Italy in September. Being a guest at the Poseidon was truly a pleasure! The warmth of the staff, the delicious food (we ate many meals there) and the location were truly a perfect fit for us. The rooms are so comfortable, the views are magnificent they almost don't look real. Samur, the most wonderful man who runs guest services, gave us the most perfect recommendations for shopping,dining and site seeing. He gets to know his guests and makes perfect selections to fit everyone's needs. I highly recommend a stay there and we look forward to returning in 2015!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Jennifer! Greetings from Positano!
Thank you very much for your messagge!
It's really important for us!
I’m Sonia Ferrera, the Guest Relations Manager.
Our philosophy is "A discreet and elegant hospitality,
helps to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing
our guests to feel at home".
We hope to have you again with us very soon!.
We remain at your disposal for any request. You can contact me at:
prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it
Best regards from all the members of our team ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel Poseidon for our 3rd anniversary July 2013. This was our second time being in Positano since we were married there in 2010, but did not know about this hidden jewel. We booked last second and were lucky to get a room at the very top of the Hotel with a massive terrace and incredible breathtaking views. The rooms were very clean and nice and the green tiled bathrooms were great.
We contacted Margarita prior to our arrival and she was fantastic at arranging anything that we needed including boat captains, trips,cars,etc. The staff was incredible and always helpful and friendly. The room service/maids learned what we were using like hand towels and they started leaving more hand towels in the bathroom and just doing things before you had to ask which is my favorite type of service.
The pool area is where we spent most of our day between Fornillo beach trips and stairs. The pool service was perfect and very quick with plenty of space and never felt too crowded. The great thing about this hotel is that you have a great restaurant, pool, spa/massages,and a bar all in one location which is rare and Hotel Poseidon perfected it.The location in Positano is situated right in the middle so you are close to everything. We stayed for 6 nights and we wish it never ended. We plan on staying here every year and making it our Anniversary each year. We are counting down the days to go until 2014...

Room Tip: The views are all incredible. Higher up for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guests!

Greetings from Positano!
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments.
I will pass all to the team. My name is Sonia Ferrera, Guest Relations Manager,
here at Poseidon. Great to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us.
We hope to welcome you soon again. If you have any request or question, please contact me at: prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it You can follow us on fb "Hotel Poseidon".
We have a lot of news for this year. Our opening will be the next 16th of April.

Best Regards from all the Poseidon Team!

A presto!

Sonia Ferrera

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.3 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 38 in Positano
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
817 reviews
1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £221 - £740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position. Poseidon has offered for more than 60 years, thanks to Marco and Monica Aonzo daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing