We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite place on Earth”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My new favorite place on Earth”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I am so happy to have chosen Hotel Poseidon for my first trip to Positano. The hotel has an old world elegance that was the perfect compliment to the magical town and I cannot imagine better views than we had from the beautiful pool terrace and bar.

I spent a lot of time researching hotels and chose Poseidon based on traveler reviews and the fact that they were one of the few resorts with a pool. Once we arrived, I found that Poseidon has the best reputation among locals and is very nice without being too big or losing its Italian charm (I didn't fly to Italy to feel like I'm staying at a Westin). The Poseidon is farther up the hill than some other options I considered, but the walk to the beach is not a big deal (just think of all the pasta calories you'll burn) and gives you a chance to check out the shops and restaurants. We spent most of our time socializing and lounging around the pool terrace with a glass of prosecco or wine and they even had live music some nights. The restaurant was very good as well with possibly the best views on the whole property.

The owners, Marco & Monica, manager, Stefano, along the rest of the staff were lovely and welcoming (I am seriously considering the new bar lady job), but the best part of our trip was Luca, our favorite bartender. He took such great care of us that we missed him when we left! The staff at Poseidon was very helpful in arranging our transportation to and from Naples and gave us fantastic restaurant recommendations.

Bottom line: I will absolutely stay at Poseidon on my next trip and have already recommended it to many friends.

Room Tip: Our room was below the pool and close to the road, but we still had a nice view and spent time on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    149
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
109
538
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed this well located, comfortable hotel with spectacular views. The room was comfortable and had everything you need. It opened out onto a lovely terrace with trees and flowers creating a relaxing atmosphere. Service friendly, breakfast was good the same as many italian hotels. The restaurant had fabulous food and it is an easy walk to shops and beach. Recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PalmRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Returning to the Hotel Poseidon with my family was a wonderful birthday present! Though we could only stay 4 nights this time instead of 7, the relaxing ambiance of each day at Poseidon made it seem marvelously longer. Understated elegance, courtly service to meet your every need, pleasantly and unobtrusively. A room with a balcony is a must. The breakfast buffet with champagne provides many tasty options and dining on the terrace under the pergola and looking out over the ocean is breathtaking. It is an easy walk down to the beach and the beachfront shops and restaurants or up the hill for its restaurants, and the Poseidon's pool,bar and lovely terrace overlooking the town and the ocean provide an oasis of ease amidst all the attractions and the visitors to Positano. Should it be a cloudy evening, gather in the cozy indoor bar. The owners of the Poseidon and the staff are charming - they made my birthday dinner celebration memorable, and I was deeply touched by their kind attention.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HtfdJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here in July all the good things said about this hotel are 100% true a wonderful place.
Would just like to mention how caring & compassionate all the staff are, Margherita in particular.
Unfortunately whilst staying at the Poseidon my wife's father was stuck down with a critically serious illness back in the UK, and we had to return immediately. Margherita and all the staff could not have been more helpful or sympathetic to our needs and obvious distress. Thank you with all our hearts for everything you did. Love M & M

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here in May while we were in Positano to get married. The staff were outstanding and made a spectacular effort to make sure we had a great time - we were even allowed to borrow their white classic VW Beetle to use as our wedding car.

The hotel is lovely, with a fantastic terrace for breakfast and sunbathing. The views from there are outstanding. The room was large, comfortable and romantic, again with an amazing view. On the balcony was a couple of deck chairs - perfect for relaxing in the late afternoon sun.

The main part of the town is a short walk away, as is the beach.

Could not recommend this hotel more.

Also - pop across to the deli across the road for a sandwich for lunch. Amazing value and extremely tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
343 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The place to stay in Positano if you want a hotel instead of a cute B and B.
The Poseidon has the best pool area in Positano, with stylish furnishings giving it a Moroccan feel at night.
The views are sublime over the coast below and the staff are very helpful.
This is more stylish than Buca di Bacco, and as nice in a different way as the cute B and B called Dimora del Podesta with its quaint rooms and view over the café street below.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manager_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I can't say enough about how lovely our stay was at this hotel. My son got married in Positano in June 2014. We had the reception here and stayed here. The food was perfect and they worked with us to make sure everyone was happy. It was outside on the patio and the atmosphere was just so amazing. The service was fantastic. The hotel has the most beautiful view and the pool area is perfect for relaxing. Our room had a balcony with a view of the coast. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.4 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#15 of 39 in Positano
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
1,395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Property: Hotel Poseidon
Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position. Poseidon has offered for more than 60 years, thanks to Marco and Monica Aonzo daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing