We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Honeymoon stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We just spent six nights here as part of our honeymoon after being recommended it to us by friends. We are so pleased we chose to stay here as it really is a great hotel.
We were upgraded on arrival to a room with a terrace and the views down to the sea and positano were stunning!
The room was clean and the terrace comes provided with sun loungers.
The hotel is about a ten minute walk to the beach and is close proximity to a lot of restaurants.
We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning and enjoyed the variety of foods on offer. We didn't eat lunch or dinner in the hotel restaurant though as we wanted to try as many different places around the coast as possible.
The staff at Poseidon are outstanding. Very welcoming and eager to offer advice on places to eat and things to do. No request is too large or small.
We would stay here again as we loved our time there!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldog2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    142
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
103
500
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spend 3 nights at this hotel with 2 other couples. We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are large, comfortable and have a great terrace with flowers and a view over Positano.Service is friendly and breakfast is good but the best part is the Terrace of the restaurant.
The hotel is only 5 mn walk to the pedestrian street leading to the beach (10 mn lovely walk). You can take towels from the hotel to enjoy a swim or have a boat ride.
The WiFi is free and available in all the hotel.
The hotel is equip with the older elevator in Positano a real antiquity still operational and in an excellent condition.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOUR F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I am so happy to have chosen Hotel Poseidon for my first trip to Positano. The hotel has an old world elegance that was the perfect compliment to the magical town and I cannot imagine better views than we had from the beautiful pool terrace and bar.

I spent a lot of time researching hotels and chose Poseidon based on traveler reviews and the fact that they were one of the few resorts with a pool. Once we arrived, I found that Poseidon has the best reputation among locals and is very nice without being too big or losing its Italian charm (I didn't fly to Italy to feel like I'm staying at a Westin). The Poseidon is farther up the hill than some other options I considered, but the walk to the beach is not a big deal (just think of all the pasta calories you'll burn) and gives you a chance to check out the shops and restaurants. We spent most of our time socializing and lounging around the pool terrace with a glass of prosecco or wine and they even had live music some nights. The restaurant was very good as well with possibly the best views on the whole property.

The owners, Marco & Monica, manager, Stefano, along the rest of the staff were lovely and welcoming (I am seriously considering the new bar lady job), but the best part of our trip was Luca, our favorite bartender. He took such great care of us that we missed him when we left! The staff at Poseidon was very helpful in arranging our transportation to and from Naples and gave us fantastic restaurant recommendations.

Bottom line: I will absolutely stay at Poseidon on my next trip and have already recommended it to many friends.

Room Tip: Our room was below the pool and close to the road, but we still had a nice view and spent time on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed this well located, comfortable hotel with spectacular views. The room was comfortable and had everything you need. It opened out onto a lovely terrace with trees and flowers creating a relaxing atmosphere. Service friendly, breakfast was good the same as many italian hotels. The restaurant had fabulous food and it is an easy walk to shops and beach. Recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PalmRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Returning to the Hotel Poseidon with my family was a wonderful birthday present! Though we could only stay 4 nights this time instead of 7, the relaxing ambiance of each day at Poseidon made it seem marvelously longer. Understated elegance, courtly service to meet your every need, pleasantly and unobtrusively. A room with a balcony is a must. The breakfast buffet with champagne provides many tasty options and dining on the terrace under the pergola and looking out over the ocean is breathtaking. It is an easy walk down to the beach and the beachfront shops and restaurants or up the hill for its restaurants, and the Poseidon's pool,bar and lovely terrace overlooking the town and the ocean provide an oasis of ease amidst all the attractions and the visitors to Positano. Should it be a cloudy evening, gather in the cozy indoor bar. The owners of the Poseidon and the staff are charming - they made my birthday dinner celebration memorable, and I was deeply touched by their kind attention.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HtfdJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here in July all the good things said about this hotel are 100% true a wonderful place.
Would just like to mention how caring & compassionate all the staff are, Margherita in particular.
Unfortunately whilst staying at the Poseidon my wife's father was stuck down with a critically serious illness back in the UK, and we had to return immediately. Margherita and all the staff could not have been more helpful or sympathetic to our needs and obvious distress. Thank you with all our hearts for everything you did. Love M & M

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here in May while we were in Positano to get married. The staff were outstanding and made a spectacular effort to make sure we had a great time - we were even allowed to borrow their white classic VW Beetle to use as our wedding car.

The hotel is lovely, with a fantastic terrace for breakfast and sunbathing. The views from there are outstanding. The room was large, comfortable and romantic, again with an amazing view. On the balcony was a couple of deck chairs - perfect for relaxing in the late afternoon sun.

The main part of the town is a short walk away, as is the beach.

Could not recommend this hotel more.

Also - pop across to the deli across the road for a sandwich for lunch. Amazing value and extremely tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Property: Hotel Poseidon
Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position.Poseidon has offered for 50 years, thanks to the Aonzo family daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing