We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel in Positano!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel in Positano!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Poseidon! The staff is incredibly nice and helpful. The location is perfect- steps away from town and about a 10 minute walk from the beach. The views are beyond amazing. I would definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    142
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
103
503
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We arrived at Poseidon after an early flight and were invited to breakfast on the terrace until our room was ready - what an introduction! The views are incredible, the terrace is shaded and gorgeous, overlooking the main town and adjacent to the pool, and the breakfast buffet is worth setting your alarm for if you tend to sleep late.

The hotel staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel is perfect for access to the main town and beach.

I was very sad to leave and I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have amazing views across the town and out to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_e79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

WOW. I've visited a lot of places in the world, but Positano takes the cake - what a beautiful town. Hotel Poseidon is a fantastic place to experience it. Our room had a private balcony with a view to die for. The staff were friendly and accommodating for all our needs - from restaurant bookings to getting some pants tailored. The pool is great, and a nice alternative to rest and relax other than the beach. Honestly, I spent ages reading reviews on trip advisor to find this place - and I nailed it!! Book it now!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aljustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We found this Bar one evening, it was stunning. The service was fantastic. We had a table with the most beautiful views in Italy. The pool twinkled under the moonlight and Positano looked stunning. Best prosecco in town! Snacks served with drinks were amazing.

We made friends with Lillianna who taught us so much about the area - she was fantastic! And she invited us to use the pool the following day as we weren't staying at the hotel.
There was a charge, but we also had endless drinks and snacks throughout the day. The pool was perfect and during sunshine hours the bar/pool terrace was equally as beautiful.
It was quiet and exclusive, ideal for a couple. Perfectly situated in the centre of Positano.

Thank you for having us! We might see you in London Lillianna!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NijFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I was traveling around Italy during a week long vacation. While I enjoyed the group I was traveling with, after long hours from a stressful job, all I wanted to do was unpack and settle in a place for a while. On a whim I booked Hotel Poseidon the night before my stay begin knowing pretty much nothing about the hotel. When I arrived the next day, the front desk was incredibly helpful and friendly. My room was fantastic - very large, with a large bathroom and beautiful views from the balcony. The terrace/bar area was also phenomenal, with great service for both the full (and included) breakfast and the many, many drinks I had over the course of my 3 night stay. Location of the hotel was great as well - I enjoy good food and two of the top restaurants in town were about a 5 minute walk away (Next2, Casa e Bottega). There's also a great market/deli right across the street which is very convenient. WIFI, which was spotty for me pretty much everywhere else in Italy, worked well at the hotel.

I often used tripadvisor to plan my trips, but never actually bothered to write a review. Hotel Poseidon was well worth the effort. I have been to many nice hotels across the globe but really felt at home at this one. Would strongly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I just got back from Positano n spend 3 nights in this hotel...I wish I had booked at least 5 nights, it was the last legg to our two week visit to the Amalfi Coast, yes it is outdated but on a nice kind of way. The deco is different far from modern but is Unique. ...I loved it n the staff from the minute we walk into the lobby were amazing...I want to thank all the staff . Especially Liliana which was so attentive all the time making sure we were doing fine, Angelo whom took us around the hotel to show us the funny room n took so much pride to tell us the story of the elevator, the first lift in Positano; Maria n Beta at the breakfast brunch such nice young ladies n last but not least at the swimming pool Vitto so helpful n attentive whom brought my Bloody Mary's just as I ordered them.
The breakfast buffete is great and plenty.
Recommend this place 100 percent..Costumer service is superior!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holland2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Positano is probably one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. This hotel was in a great location and was a fabulous hotel overall! A quick 5 minute walk down stairs to Spiaggia Grande, which is such a beautiful beach! Ensure you take your towels down as well as $12.50 Euro for umbrella. The food down by the beach area is unbelievably good. You can't go wrong with any of the choices down there. Chez Black and Rada were our alltime favorites. There are restaurants and shopping areas located on both sides of the hotel which makes it easy if you want to grab something nearby. Cafe Positano a block from the hotel was excellent! The staff at this hotel were OUTSTANDING! Luca at the pool bar/terrace always aims to please. Vito is always there to get you clean towels for the pool, an umbrella, or bring you anything from the bar. GREAT staff! The hotel was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. It is a family run hotel and the family is always on site greeting guests and making sure everything is ok. The views from the Terrace are arguably the BEST views in Positano. The Breakfast which was included in our room rate was fantastic. You can also order lunch or dinner from the menu which is all cases for us were very good. I will DEFINATELY be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceandreamer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#18 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Property: Hotel Poseidon
Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position.Poseidon has offered for 50 years, thanks to the Aonzo family daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing