We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2009

We loved this hotel. It is in a great location - wonderful restaurant and pool. Everything about it was cozy and lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tankle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2009

My wife and I attended a wedding in Positano in September and stayed at the Hotel Positano together with three other couples. It was an exceptional all round experience. The room was spacious and clean with a large balcony and a view to die for. The service was fantastic. We really did look forward to the staffs friendly faces whether it be at front reception, at breakfast or late night cocktails on the huge terrace, which included a good sized pool. From the first day we felt we were being greeted by old friends

From the (rocky) beach to the room was either 5 - 10 minutes via approx 200 steps up the steep but direct route, or 20 more leisurely minutes on the roadway past shops and services (being careful to avoid cars). The hotel is about one third of the way up the Positano hill. Many hotels are much higher so be careful with your choice if you are not fit.

We took a boat trip to Amalfi and then a bus up to Ravello which has some great restaurants and gardens well worth seeing as well as a boat trip to Capri, which was well worth it even though we couldn't get into the blue grotto due to bad wether.

We loved Hotel Poseidon. Hope another friend decides to get married there and will be back in a flash.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philbrad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Lovely hotel, good service, amazing food, nice pool, good location.

The room was beautiful if you like very old style romantic non-modernised things! I really enjoyed it, we had a private terrace with a beautiful garden view. The bathroom really needed updating but was perfectly functional. A tall person could not stand up properly in the shower though!

The hotel itself is an old private home but holds everything you need. A computer with internet access, pool & terrace, bar, restaurant with amazing food, live music a few times a week, spa, massage, etc.

The only bad thing I have to say about the hotel is do not stay in rooms 1, 2, 3 or 4. There is nothing wrong with the rooms themselves but they are below the dinning room and you are bound to get an extremely early morning call with breakfast being set up as well as disturbance in the evening from dinner being cleaned up. Not enough to spoil your stay but enough to spoil your sleep and silence.

Positano, is really cute, alot of stairs though (never ending) so you need good knees! Not very good for disabeled people as the whole town has stairs everywhere if you are a pedestrian. Of course you can go everywhere by car if necessary.

Good location, easily do day trips to nearby costal villages & towns, lots of regular ferries. Mainland travel is also fine, we did a daytrip to Pompei with no trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summeraddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Just returned from five nights in early September. We were very happy with our time at the hotel. The hotel is high enough to enjoy dramatic views but low enough to walk and reach the beach within minutes.

Posiedon is charming and the service is tremendous. We enjoyed our time on the balcony overlooking Positano as well as countless hours relaxing at the pool. The pool is rather small but the pool deck overlooking the city is perched in a perfect spot. The service at the pool makes you truly feel like you are on vacation.

The rooms are not flashy but are nice enough - small flatscreen TV, nice bathroom and bed. You won't spend much time in your room as the city sights are spectacular. The hotel offers 15 minutes of free Internet as well as a nice gym with equipment. Would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHHCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Where do i begin. Rarely do i gush about hotels and locations, but this one... is different.
The rooms were well appointed and obviously fined tuned over the many years of continuing family operation/ ownership. Our view was unforgettable.
The terrace, which housed the dining, pool, bar and other lounge areas provided stunning views and was serviced by a thoughtful and charming charge of staff who had a great sense of humour.
The public areas wowed our fellow Australian visitors who called in for a drink with us before we started our local touring. They too were just as impressed with the furnishings and amenities on offer.
In terms of location, the Poseidon was very good. Stairs to the beach (although somewhat steep inplaces) were 20 m down the road and provided access to the main beach within 5-10 minutes. But the Poseidon Cafe just up the road provided great food and again possibly some of the best staff that we came accross in Italy. It should be noted however that the hotel's restaurant was hard to beat - watch out for the 6 euro pizza night on Saturday!!
There was a little noise at night from one of the night spots on the other side of the valley, but in no way would this stop me from returning to this magical location.
You get the sense that this is a sanctuary for a well deserved rest, with notes about phones and noise posted in the public areas - which i really appreciated. It did not however restrict my level of fun, nor did it inhibit meeting some great people and chatting and sipping limoncello into the night/ morning!!
If questioning whether to stay at Amalfi, Sorrento etc, dont - there is only one place and that is Positano. Things are a little dearer, but certainly justified.
All in all a beautiful hotel with a relaxed atmosphere, providing a high level of polite and friendly service in a location that every one must visit before they die!! (gush, gush, gush!!)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This was our second stay at the Hotel Poseidon in three years. We thoroughly enjoyed it the first time, and the second time was just as good. We were welcomed back like old friends. The staff are friendly (without being overwhelming) and extremely helpful. Special or unusual requests are no problem.

The rooms have terraces, with a superb view over Positano and the bay. The furniture is a bit on the dark and old fashioned side, even though it is obviously good quality. The rooms have all the amenities you would expect.

Food is excellent, with a good choice for dinner. If you want something that is not on the menu, just ask and they will provide it.

On the negative side:
- The shower in the bathroom is a bit feeble (lack of water pressure)
- It is on the side of a steep hill (as is all of Positano!)
- It is a bit expensive
- A disco not far away plays VERY loud music until 1am

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isfryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We were welcomed with open arms; the staff are just amazing. Our room was a delight, the bed very comfortable and the view from our balcony of Positano and the sea was awesome. This is an hotel that we will come back to again. We cannot rate it highly enough!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £210 - £623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position. Poseidon has offered for more than 60 years, thanks to Marco and Monica Aonzo daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing