We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off Season”
Review of Hotel Villa Franca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Franca
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Off Season”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel is nice, but be sure to advocate for room / view, wifi and access to turkish bath. The wifi did not work, in room or in any part of hotel. Breakfast that was included was purely continental, cereal and yogurt, coffee and bread/cakes. The room was lovely, after we asked to move for the view... but it had a mildew smell and we needed to keep window open. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 18rogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Mr. Roger,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay apart from the issue with the Wifi connection. Rest assured I have shared your comments with the Management Team.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Alessia Orrico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    186
    74
    37
    31
See reviews for
109
510
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mazatlan
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Positano is already one of the top romantic places in my world.
Hotel Villa Franca makes it even more romantic!
We could not leave the room for half a day cause of the spectacular view.
Alesia gave us an upgrade from sea view to sea and city view. Mediterranean decor, first class comfortable, top of the hill, accessible to the city bus and with very friendly staff.
I would go back over and over and over again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jorgecortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mr. Cortes,
the whole team and mostly I appreciate your kind comments and we hope to have you back Positano.

Kind Regards
Alessia Orrico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had! The hotel is so nice and consistent in its romantic style. We got a room with balcony and the most beautiful view over the sea and Positano. Everything was very clean, service was great and the breakfast was good. Highly recommendable place to slow down, chillax and enjoy life :)
The hotel has a separate guarded parking area near by with a parking fee of €15 per day. That is very useful as it is almost impossible to find a parking space elsewhere in town. And the standard parking fees are here around €3 pr. hour. To find the parking area just continue down the road (for approx. 150 m) after you have passed the hotel. You will find the parking area at your left side.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing the sea. It is just beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilBKnudsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mr. Knudsen,
we are very grateful for your nice feedback as you caught the aim of our work, to make each and every guest happy avoiding them hassle and disruption during their vacations.
We all wish to see you back in Positano.
Kind Regards
Alessia Orrico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

In the off season Positano reverts to a quiet elegant state of perfect seaside charm and the Hotel Villa Franca is the perfect place on this very perfect coast to enjoy the essence of Amalfi. With a commanding view of Positano and environs from every angle and a tiled white and blue decor, the Hotel seems to have concentrates the best of the coast in one venue. A stroll above town to beautiful Montepertusa rewards even more with stunning views, friendly people and wonderful restaurants overlooking the sea. "See Naples and die"? No, make it Positano.

Room Tip: Don't miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mr. Louis
Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We wish to see you back in Positano.
Kind Regards
Villa Franca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a great experience at Hotel Villa Franca! The hotel is beautiful and has breathtaking views! In the mornings we enjoyed breakfast overlooking the town. The hotel is near the top of the mountain so anticipate the many steps you'll need to take to get down to the beach/ main shopping, eating area. We were told there are approx. 700 steps to get there. The hotel does offer a shuttle (so you don't need to take the steps). We walked most of the time and the walking up the steps is a lot harder! The staff was so helpful and gave us good info. regarding ferry to Capri, bus to Sorrento, and calling cabs. The rooftop pool is beautiful and our room had a nice balcony with great views. The hotel does have two buildings that I heard were both nice. We stayed in the one with the restaurant where breakfast for all guests is served.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stunning hotel: incredible decor, delicious food and the most beautiful views imaginable. The pool is quite small and unheated, the gym is modest and the service is occasionally inconsistent but overall a truly excellent hotel which I would thoroughly recommend and very much hope to return to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kempe_SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevy chase, md
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

You can be assured of great views at Villa Franca, and what a view! The hotel is situated high above the beach & more touristy shopping areas. The walk up and down the winding road seems formidable, but it was quite manageable (even for someone who had recent knee replacement), and even enjoyable. There are stairs next to the hotel that provide a good shortcut, if you don't mind +/- 350 stairs. The shuttle service was certainly convenient enough, just be sure to arrive early so you can get on if there are a lot of hotel guests waiting. Our superior room was a reasonable size, though the bathroom was rather small. While the decor is a bit dated, it definitely had a Mediterranean charm. The breakfast was good, lots of choices & the staff there were very nice. The front desk staff we fine, but not particularly warm or welcoming. The WiFi was spotty at best.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChevyChase_MdSzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 39 in Positano
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 39 in Positano
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 39 in Positano
1,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#39 of 39 in Positano
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Franca

Property: Hotel Villa Franca
Address: Via Pasitea 318, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Positano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#16 Family Hotel in Positano
#19 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Franca 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franca Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing