We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful honeymoon hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Franca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Franca
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful honeymoon hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at hotel Villa Franca for our honeymoon in Positano and the views were breathtaking.
The hotel was well located but definitely a work out having to climb the many stairs to reach it....but it offered great views once you arrived there. Great spa treatments and turkish bath. The hotel restaurant served tasty cuisine but the portion size were fairly small (afterwards, we left and ordered a pizza at a nearby restaurant). But overall a wonderful Italian boutique hotel in paradise! Can't wait to return one day!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingmommy8786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and the location.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Alessia O.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    182
    69
    34
    30
See reviews for
101
487
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna Region, Austria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We spent four nights here at the end of November. The Hotel is nicely located and has amazing views over the sea and the town. However, this hotel is not a good choice for a stay during the winter. Our room was extremely cold when we arrived and we could only heat through turning the air condition to a high temperature. This meant that the entire night we had hot air blowing at our face. In addition, the bathroom was extremely cold and the radiator did not work. It was freezing when we took a shower. We asked several times for someone to look at it but were only told that it will work in five minutes. It never started to work though. The gym also needs some improvement. The machines are very old and the whole space can only fit two people, I wouldn't really call it a proper gym. Even though they had spa services and a steam room advertised, it was not in service and we would have to book it in advance and pay for it extra. The selection at breakfast was very limited and one has to pay extra for eggs or omelettes which shouldn't be the case given the off season room prices. It also was a shame that the sun room was not heated and also cold as soon as the sun was gone. Unfortunately the restaurant mainly serves food that has already been prepared and re-heated, not too appealing. We would have loved to stay in for dinner a couple of times. The staff was very friendly, especially a lady who worked at the reception in the evenings. She was really helpful and nice. In general, this hotel needs some up dates to justify the price and some proper heating system!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please accept my apologies for the short falls regarding the heating, rest assured I have shared your comments with the Management Team and improvements have been already made.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Alessia O.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel is nice, but be sure to advocate for room / view, wifi and access to turkish bath. The wifi did not work, in room or in any part of hotel. Breakfast that was included was purely continental, cereal and yogurt, coffee and bread/cakes. The room was lovely, after we asked to move for the view... but it had a mildew smell and we needed to keep window open. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 18rogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Mr. Roger,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay apart from the issue with the Wifi connection. Rest assured I have shared your comments with the Management Team.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Alessia Orrico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Positano is already one of the top romantic places in my world.
Hotel Villa Franca makes it even more romantic!
We could not leave the room for half a day cause of the spectacular view.
Alesia gave us an upgrade from sea view to sea and city view. Mediterranean decor, first class comfortable, top of the hill, accessible to the city bus and with very friendly staff.
I would go back over and over and over again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jorgecortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mr. Cortes,
the whole team and mostly I appreciate your kind comments and we hope to have you back Positano.

Kind Regards
Alessia Orrico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had! The hotel is so nice and consistent in its romantic style. We got a room with balcony and the most beautiful view over the sea and Positano. Everything was very clean, service was great and the breakfast was good. Highly recommendable place to slow down, chillax and enjoy life :)
The hotel has a separate guarded parking area near by with a parking fee of €15 per day. That is very useful as it is almost impossible to find a parking space elsewhere in town. And the standard parking fees are here around €3 pr. hour. To find the parking area just continue down the road (for approx. 150 m) after you have passed the hotel. You will find the parking area at your left side.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing the sea. It is just beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilBKnudsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mr. Knudsen,
we are very grateful for your nice feedback as you caught the aim of our work, to make each and every guest happy avoiding them hassle and disruption during their vacations.
We all wish to see you back in Positano.
Kind Regards
Alessia Orrico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

In the off season Positano reverts to a quiet elegant state of perfect seaside charm and the Hotel Villa Franca is the perfect place on this very perfect coast to enjoy the essence of Amalfi. With a commanding view of Positano and environs from every angle and a tiled white and blue decor, the Hotel seems to have concentrates the best of the coast in one venue. A stroll above town to beautiful Montepertusa rewards even more with stunning views, friendly people and wonderful restaurants overlooking the sea. "See Naples and die"? No, make it Positano.

Room Tip: Don't miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mr. Louis
Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We wish to see you back in Positano.
Kind Regards
Villa Franca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a great experience at Hotel Villa Franca! The hotel is beautiful and has breathtaking views! In the mornings we enjoyed breakfast overlooking the town. The hotel is near the top of the mountain so anticipate the many steps you'll need to take to get down to the beach/ main shopping, eating area. We were told there are approx. 700 steps to get there. The hotel does offer a shuttle (so you don't need to take the steps). We walked most of the time and the walking up the steps is a lot harder! The staff was so helpful and gave us good info. regarding ferry to Capri, bus to Sorrento, and calling cabs. The rooftop pool is beautiful and our room had a nice balcony with great views. The hotel does have two buildings that I heard were both nice. We stayed in the one with the restaurant where breakfast for all guests is served.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Franca

Property: Hotel Villa Franca
Address: Via Pasitea 318, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Positano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#16 Family Hotel in Positano
#19 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Franca 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franca Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing