We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Franca
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Miramare(Positano)
US$459
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$447
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
I Giardini dei sensi(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$594
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$578
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Marzoli Resort(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$611
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$514
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
US$1,110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$858
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Buca di Bacco(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$425
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$403
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eden Roc(Positano)
US$689
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$601
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$470
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Poseidon(Positano)
US$804
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$686
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$335
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Agavi Hotel(Positano)
US$1,772
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$929
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
855 results
Traveller rating
507
196
80
38
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
196
80
38
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolshuttle servicethe main hotelshuttle busli galliour honeymoonamalfi coastamazing viewsrooms are smalldeluxe roomperched highbreakfast roomsea viewwalk upthe hotel offerscommon areasrooms are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 855 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had an outstanding time at the Hotel Villa Franca. The views from our guest room, the restaurant, the breakfast room and the pool deck were panoramic and postcard perfect! The Hotel has a comfortable, boutique vibe supported by very friendly and personable service. The breakfast buffet is well-presented and offers a good variety of food but the best part about breakfast in our opinion was sitting near the open windows, feeling the fresh air and gazing out over the town as it cascaded below into the ocean. The dinner we had in Li Galli was well-prepared and again, the relaxed and open atmosphere of the room really added to the experience. Wi-fi in our guest room was mostly unavailable and we had to go to the lobby to get service. On balance, that was a very minor inconvenience and didn't mar an absolutely wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LakesiderToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guests,

we highly appreciate that you took the time to write your personal experience at Villa Franca.
I will share your kind words with the whole team and we wish to have you back in a not too far future.

Kind Regards
Alessia Orrico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My family stayed at the HVF for five nights this week. We were "annexed", which I was originally concerned about after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. However, our room (64) was spacious, clean and had the most amazing views of Positano AND the sea. There was not a single issue with being disconnected from the hotel lobby and facilities. When we wanted to go to the restaurant or pool it took only a few moments more.

Our biggest issue, which was very small and has been exhausted on Trip Advisor, was the wireless internet service. It was non-existent in our room and after discussing with hotel staff three times I gave up. It was OK though, as it really allowed my wired family to disconnect. Plus, when we did want/need internet we just ran to the lobby which felt fun and social.

What sets this hotel apart, IMO, is the amazing staff. You will see the same group of individuals tirelessly taking care of you day in and day out. They are extremely friendly, respectful, proactive, patient, helpful... the list goes on. We felt welcome, and that was important being far away from home. It's outstanding service, and the owner should be proud.

I never met the owner personally, but I saw him on-site regularly tending to every detail with his staff. He was clearly engaged and making sure his guests had the best possible experience. When my son stopped to play on the Wii in the lobby I saw the owner adjust the fan, turn down the lights... these little details stand out from my perspective.

Highly recommend. We already miss our friends at HVF, and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Franca in a near future and the owner will be more than pleased to offer you a nice drink on Li Galii terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Franca for 4 nights beginning July 5. Room 46...First, we entered the hotel lobby and the people that work there are rude. They act like they don't want to be bothered. We felt very uncomfortable. We got to our room, and the view was beautiful. The room itself was terrible. The paint was peeling on the walls to the right when you walk in. The shower ceiling was peeling around the edges and covered with mold, the toilet paper holder was broken. The bathroom door didn't close. We had to lift up the door to close it because it scraped on the floor. The breakfast was just OK. Nothing different than a Hampton Inn. The pool area was nice but the bartender never asked us if we wanted a drink, but he was serving the people across the pool from us. The only nice person that works there is an older gentleman that works in the restaurant. He always said hello and goodbye and actually smiled. We couldn't wait to leave the hotel each morning and when we returned at night, the person that was working didn't acknowledge us. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. As I read any positive comments about Villa Franca, I seriously don't think these people stayed at this hotel. There are so many beautiful
hotels in Positano. Trust me...Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lifeisgreat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Direttore at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guests,
we apologise if you felt not cared for.
Our staff is always striving to delivery the best service possible and they are there to help and assist all our guests.
You could have also approched them to request assistance or room change.
Instead you did not say anything during your stay nor either at check-out.
We feel that your review is not fare and not corresponding to the reality .
Kind Regards
Rosa Taddeo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We came to Positano to relax after touring Venice, Florence and Rome. Our trip was planned by Perillo and this hotel was the crown jewel of our stay. Staff was friendly and professional. Hotel was SPOTLESS! We arrived around lunchtime and ate at the restaurant on the pool level- delicious(and pricey). Set above the main road, we used the shuttle provided by the hotel a couple of times. We mostly walked back and forth which was a great cardio workout whether taking the 400+ stairs or walking up the road. The views from our rms( in the annex) were gorgeous. I must admit to not being too pleased being booked to the annex, but was pleasantly surprised. We had 2 rms- 66(double) and 67(triple). Great views n quiet. B'fast was excellent, even the scrambled eggs! Owners were onsite which explains a lot! Added bonus, they exchanged USD for euros which a couple of our hotels did not. Would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela Christop... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Alessia Orrico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Villa Franca is a real surprise - it is a beautiful luxury small hotel with a staff, views and class that we found to be "about as good as it can get". The service and was 100% professional and exceptionally gracious and not overbearing. The food and service lead by Franco Villa Franca's "head ambassador" at La Galli Restaurant is 5 star including a fabulous wine list! The view from the restaurant like this - overlooking the water, mountains towards Capri are unforgettable. The roof top pool and dining venue is also top shelf with tables offer incredible view of the "big beach" looking toward Amalfi. The private wine tasting was an additional unforgettable aspect of this fine Hotel. Hotel transfers from Naples train station and airport are easy and the trip just getting to Villa Franca is a nice drive.

Room Tip: Room 65 has views that Hitchcock would have loved for one of his movies! This looks over the center of Positano, has a nice balcony and views of the sea and mountains.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BlueShabumi8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafranca, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay, the hotel and the location and found our staff helpful.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Alessia Orrico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews