We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice in all ways”
Review of Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Rosa
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

we arrived hot after a long hot journey from Roma. Our room was very large and clean with a breathtaking view. it had three large beds for our family of four and a huge comfortable bathroom that lloked like it was made for a honey moon,,,this is a nice place , Not cheap but worth it. the staff was very helpful. they did our laundry and made sure we had good places to eat.
the first Night they sent us up the street to Brunos, very good and fun. I would return.
big tip: if you go to the beach ...which is one of the few things to do. they proce is 12:50 per chair plus .50 a shower.. if you walk past the large restuarant and beach company with the orange and yellow umbrellas yu will find a small beach with blue umbrellas witha small restuarant and showers etc, they chage 15 euro but is is much more private ,cooler, and the small restuaraant witha small menu is better and the showers are free so make sure you take 5 showers ...we had a beautiful day there.

Room Tip: with view, anyone will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1morecupofcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

We spent one week at this hotel. While a week in Positano was too much for us (we are not really beach persons), the hotel was outstanding. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The air conditioning worked well and it was great to actually be able to control the temperature. The large deck and view were second to none. Enjoyed the evenings sitting on the deck watching the world go by. Very much enjoyed the delicious breakfast delivered to our deck each morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Location is good - just off the only road through the town and about 10 mins walk to the sea (more on the way back as it is a bit steep - buy an ice cream to get you up the hill!). This is about average for the hotels in the town and is a nice walk through the little streets.
Friendly staff who can organise transfers, provide beach towels and give a number of great recommendations of where to eat as there are a surprising number of good restaurants dotted around the town. We also got a 10% discount by reserving through the villa at one of the restaurants.
Breakfast is fairly basic, although you can upgrade (although it is cheaper to buy your own fruit etc locally, the nearby grocers has lots of delicious fruit). However, it is served on your balcony and the lovely view each morning more than compensates for this.
The rooms are a good size, well furnished, good air con, decent bathroom with shower, obligatory bidet (does anyone actually use these?).
There are no lifts in the hotel but if you don't like steps, Positano is not for you anyway!
Unlike a lot of other hotels in Italy, Wi-Fi actually works throughout the hotel.
There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel, but this is not a problem due to location. There was also no mini bar in the room but there is a fridge, so we took this to be a positive and stocked it up ourselves as we were there for a few days! Great for a quiet glass of wine on our own terrace before heading down to town.
All in all, a very good hotel in a beautiful town and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view to some degree, but this gets better the higher you go up the hotel. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom flat based on good reviews here. We were expecting a clean 3 star hotel with a great balcony. It delivered much more. Location is excellent, close enough to the main drag and yet quiet. Our room (no. 30) was on the 2nd floor. Our view was somewhat obstructed however the balcony was huge and we could still see the ocean. The room itself was immaculately serviced daily. It had vaulted ceilings, whitewashed walls and mosaic tiles on the floor. The rooms were very generously sized. Breakfast was delivered each morning to order and was delicious. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again. It was so lovely coming back to our room each day.
NB there are lots of stairs but that's rather unavoidable in Positano. The best restaurants tend to be down on the beach but it was a lovely walk to get to them each evening and if you prefer something closer there were options nearby. The walk to and from the beach is pleasant under a bouganvillia covered lane lined with beautiful shops. Positano itself is absolutely gorgeous and the perfect place to base yourself on the Amalfi Coast with easy ferries to Capri, Amalfi and Sorrento.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom flats are brilliant for families. The higher the room the better the view but also th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blissjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel and stayed in the apartment on the top floor. The reception ladies were extremely helpful and really enjoyed the children. They recommended restaurants, provided beach towels and assisted whenever they could. The top apartment is fantastic, it had a large double bed and two single beds in a seperate room. It also had two bathrooms, both with toilet/shower. The balcony is the reason this hotel was so great, very spacious, with the best views in town. Breakfast is very basic, only bread with jam and yoghurts. Extra's need to be ordered and paid for. The breakfast however is served on the balcony making up for any shortcomings. We really loved this hotel and it was extremely child friendly. We will definitely go back one day.

Room Tip: Choose top apartment or rooms for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayman1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

we spent 4 nights in Villa Rosa - first time in 15 years back to Positano. Hotel is across the strett from Sirenuse and on the sole one-way road thru town. We had a seaview room that had a an excellent view of the opposite hillside, from the sea to mountain tops. I think level 4.
Like others said, be prepared to walk up a few flights for the rooms with a view - but frankly, if you can't take a lot of steps skip Positano completely and try Amalfi instead.
Nice sized room, nice bath with tub and excellent water pressure, lovely terrace with that view.
Nice breakfast each day, croissant and jams, good coffee - though got pretty boring by day 3.
You can walk down to the sea in less than 10 minutes. On the church side of town (south?) which is more interesting and navigable than the other.
Staff was excellent, especially the porter who carried our heavy (month in Italy) luggage. Like most good Italian hotels could steer you to Touristy and not-so-touristy restaurants, most would comp the taxi rides if you needed one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DillyScarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Look no further - STAY HERE!

We stayed at Villa Rosa for 3 nights in July. The service was fantastic. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast on your private patio is delightful. The view is perfection and the sun lounges on the patio were an added bonus. We were happy on our sun lounges admiring the stunning view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr and Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 38 in Positano
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 38 in Positano
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
#21 of 38 in Positano
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
915 reviews
0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 121, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £130 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Rosa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Positano
Rosa Hotel Positano
Villa Rosa Italy
Villa Rosa Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing