We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Rosa
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is about half way up the hillside. Just high enough to have a fantastic view of positano & the sea. It's opposite the famous Le Sirenuse hotel( check out the movie 'only You' with Robert Downey). The hotel is featured in it. Ask for a room on the higher floors to get an unrestricted view. Excellent wifi. Breakfast is served on your own private terrace.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor ie 2nd or 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

I booked 4 apartments in in Positano August 2013 for next month (June 2014) for a family holiday (family coming all the way from Australia) - 2 at the Villa Rosa - the apartments showed all the right signs - good reviews, nice location facilities, etc. With one month to go I receive an email saying that unfortunately the kitchen which is part of the booking is no longer available to us. How disgraceful! If I had wanted to go out everyday for breakfast and lunch I would have booked a hotel room. I still have not received an explanation as to that happened to the kitchen but off course don't want one now from these unreliable people. Cost more but I have booked elsewhere now. and cancelled at the Villa Rosa. When you book a family holiday 10 months in advance I think it is reasonable to expect them to deliver. Very poor - I don't see how you could trust them after this.

Room Tip: Get a guarantee that they will deliver what they promise, or that they will pay any difference if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arthur411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaRosaPositano, Proprietario at Villa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Sir,

We received your cancellation directly through booking.com. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with your reservation. Unfortunately, we have had some problems with the system for reservations made through one of an online booking portal. We sent them our room descriptions, but they made a mistake about the one of the apartments. Please know that we did everything we could to resolve this matter with them. In fact they contacted all of our guests to inform them about all the services we offer in our Hotel.

We are very disappointed about the review you wrote on trip advisor regarding our Hotel. We don't know how you can express a negative opinion about us without staying in our property. We aren't aware of what information you have received from booking.com, but in any case we would like to offer our most sincere apologies for this misunderstanding. It is our goal to make every customer as happy as possible even after their stay.

Again, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you.

Kind regards,

Hotel Villa Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here over the Easter long weekend. We were led to our room and given an introduction. Our room was located on the corner - on the 2nd floor and had a lovely view of the picture perfect image of Positano. Breakfast delivered to our room every morning was a lovely treat. There's nothing like sipping a hot coffee with a stunning view. There's no kettle in the room, but they were very accommodating and sent up a hot pot of water and tea in the evenings when asked without extra charges. Receptionists gave amazing restaurant recommendations! Less than 10 minutes leisure stroll will take you to the beach. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor and higher will provide a better view. First corner room on the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsLyons0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was there during the summer (july) with my husband and it was adorable.


- great view: it was worth paying extra money for the sea view.

- room with balcony where the private breakfasts were served: they give you a list at night and you mark what you want for the next day breakfast (yogurt, bread, butter, milk, coffee, juice..).

- nice decoration with italian style

- very clean

- near to the lovely flowered narrow pathway to the beach (michelin star restaurante on the way)

- VERY helpful staff. And in a place where you find stairs everywhere (no elevator at all), this an important thing to be considered

- If you are going to take the ferry (our next stop would be Capri), they have a service to take your luggages downhill. So you can walk calmly to the port


I don't know other hotels in this city, but this one was great for our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed at th highest floor, and I think it helped having a nice view to the ocean and to the very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oamako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in an ocean view room and it was worth the extra charge. We had an AMAZING private patio overlooking the ocean and town. I've never stayed in a hotel room with a better view. The staff serves your breakfast on your patio every morning. They provide lounge chairs which we ended up sunning in more than at the beach (the beach is rocky and crowded with little breeze). The only negative thing I can comment on is noise from the room above us. We would wake up from them dragging their patio table and chairs. I can't blame them as they likely were moving in/out of the shade but it was loud at times. The hotel is in a great location--easily walkable to the beach and the shops and restaurants down there. I would definitely recommend staying here for its views and location.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LSBlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights in September 2013 as we were attending a friends wedding! Rooms were big and clean with a private balcony/Terrance!Stunning views. Continental breakfast was lovely and we even had it at 6am on check out day! Staff were friendly. It was a lovely hotel dont really have any complaints. It is a delightful little hotel up some stairs off a road. Its nice for the 3 nights I stayed but I did miss being in a hot country without a swimming pool to chill out by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shell c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We spent a fabulous 5 days at this hotel last year and highly recommend it. The rooms are large and very clean. Beautiful decor in white and lemon to go with the Positano theme. A gorgeous and sizeable private terrazza where we had our excellent continental breakfast every morning. Friendly and very helpful staff. Grazie mille per tuto Vila Rosa!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 38 in Positano
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 38 in Positano
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
#23 of 38 in Positano
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
915 reviews
0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 38 in Positano
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 121, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £135 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Rosa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Positano
Rosa Hotel Positano
Villa Rosa Italy
Villa Rosa Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing