We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in beautiful Positano”
Review of Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Rosa
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A fantastic hotel with friendly staff and wonderful sea views from your terrace. The rooms are spacious and very clean with that limoncello colour scheme that blends with the whole Amalfi Coast vibe. We had 5 wonderful days here and would recommend it to anyone. I did a good review of the hotel last year but somehow only gave it 2 stars in error so this is my attaempt to correct that; sorry Villa Rosa!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Villa Rosa far exceeded my expectations. We had the family apartment on the top floor (room 39) and we loved it. The location is outstanding, and the view breathtaking. The apartment is made up of a large master bedroom and an alcove bedroom that is quite separate to the main bedroom plus 2 bathrooms and a huge terrace. It was perfect for our needs.
Each morning I watched the sun rise while sitting on our wonderful terrace marvelling at the amazing view.
Breakfast was served on the balcony each morning. Juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cereal and a basket of baked goods. We ordered a fruit bowl on our first morning which actually lasted us three days, it was so large. The breakfast was simple but it was so nice to have a relaxed breakfast enjoying the view.
The staff at Villa Rosa were always available at the front desk and extremely friendly and helpful.
To put it simply, we loved Positano and Villa Rosa and wish we were still there.

Room Tip: The apartment, room 39, on the 4th floor is wonderful for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FourSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Without the HUGE private terrace with incredible sea views, I would probably give this hotel 2 or 3 stars. But, the gorgeousness of the views and the breakfast on the terrace elevates the status a bit.

Positano is expensive, and I think this is a relative good value for what else is out there. Aside from the terrace (which was probably the same square footage as the hotel room), the rooms and amenities are quite basic. We were particularly disapointed in the bathroom. It was small, with very old fixtures, and a plastic shower that flooded incredibly easily (and the bathroom did not appear to have a drain).

70's style bathroom aside, this was an immaculate hotel, with a fabulous location, and a great view.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLO32781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The service is excellent, ther rooms clean and confortable.
The terrace is beautiful, full of flowers and with great view of the bay and Positano.
The breakfast is served at this terrace in your own room, is not delicious but, again, the view is everything.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank valeria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Fourth time at Villa Rosa and hopefully it will not be my last. I cannot say anything negative. Love everything about. The view is exceptional, the breakfast on the balcony is heaven and the staff are fantastic.

Room Tip: Third floor with large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NJPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed on the third floor. The lack of an elevator and a standing shower (it is was a European jacuzzi with a handle shower head) was quickly overlooked by the tremendous view, clean, large room and fresh flowers throughout the place. The daily breakfast served on the terrace was amazing. Simply put, it was our favorite hotel while in Italy and rivals one the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The staff was very helpful and professional. They arranged both Pompeii and Capri boat tours for us without inflated prices. I can't say enough about this place - we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Request the third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Firehawk1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After spending five days in Tuscany and taking the Rapido from Florence to Naples with a driver to Positano, we were very happy to find our home at the Villa Rosa and the town of Positano very relaxing. In fact it was so relaxing that we decided to spend the three nights and four days we had set aside to see the Amalfi Coast exploring Positano, Capri and wonderful Mediterranean beach right in town. That is pretty amazing considering my wife loves being on the move. Even our very white and bright room was a joy overlooking the most expensive hotel in town and the sea beyond. This reasonably priced villa was close to the stairs leading to the beaches, ferries, shops and restaurants. We would definitely return to this very pleasant location and its welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with a seaview terrace on either the top or next floor. It would be worth the added cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 38 in Positano
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 38 in Positano
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
#23 of 38 in Positano
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
915 reviews
0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 38 in Positano
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 121, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £135 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Rosa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Positano
Rosa Hotel Positano
Villa Rosa Italy
Villa Rosa Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing