We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant should have a much higher rating”

Il Tridente at Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #56 of 86 Restaurants in Positano
Price range: US$50 - US$134
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Description: Our chef’s creations offer a delicious slice of Campania’s history. The simplicity and straightforwardness of his dishes are testimony to the quality and authenticity of the ingredients selected. From home-smoked meats and fish carpaccio to mouthwatering buffalo mozzarella and local ricotta seasoned with basil. The pasta is made fresh and dressed with the chef’s most creative and tempting combinations of seafood and the season’s finest selection of colorful, flavorful vegetables, covering the vast assortment of culinary delights in the Mediterranean tradition.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This restaurant should have a much higher rating”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived in Positano to stay at Hotel Poseidon in the late afternoon without meal plans. So we decided to just eat in the hotel. Turns out, it was much more refined meal than we had expected. The setting is excellent. The menu is not expansive, but had a good choice for our kids as well as us. The food was prepared very well - the pizza was exceptional. We will definitely eat here again when we stay next in Positano.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DMHfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great position, good food”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The restaurant is on the roof terrace looking over the town of Positano and the bay beyond, so a stunning view and a beautiful location. Part of the Poseidon hotel, the service is excellent. Food good, good wines recommended by waiter.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
180 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“delicious ~ SENSATIONAL atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Good food, beautiful setting , excellent service.

Dinner at Il Tridente is why to visit Positano. Wines were also excellent. The bar is immediately inviting with a drawing room to the side with a welcoming fireplace should you visit out of season. A fantastic place to enjoy a long drink and enjoy the sumptuous views of the Amalfi coast.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MustBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

It is very romantic, the view and the lights make for an enchanting evening. It is not too expensive and there is a quiet live music as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First class!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our purpose of staying in Positano was to get married, so we were here for two weeks and had tried a number of restaurants with a view to selecting one for our reception after our wedding. We decided to try Il Tridente after noticing the photos outside of hotel Poseidon and the views looked spectacular. We had starters, main course and desserts with wine and everything was fabulous, it could not be faulted. We approached the head waiter Fabio with the request of having our wedding reception here, straight away he put this in motion for us. We were invited the following evening to try a taster menu where we could consider what we would like on the day. The choices we were given were endless!! Fabio was always on hand to help us with any questions. We decided on a 7 course menu (traditional in Italy) starting with appetisers (which were delicious), then smoked sea bass fillet with fennel and citrus salad, risotto with lemon parsley and fried squid, ravioli stuffed with provolone cheese and eggplant with cream of cherry tomatoes and crispy bacon, pezzogna fish served with sauteed vegetables with marjoram, barded beef tenderloin with wine served with potato puff pastry and pecorino cheese, almond profiteroles with ice cream and coffee sauce. Sound delicious?? It was absolutely amazing!! Every course was so good you think that it could not be topped by the next but it was! The chef is a genius! And following all of this there was wedding cake and champagne.
With the amazing food and the spectacular views it was everything that we could have hoped for. What made it even more special was Fabio, he is an absolute professional but so friendly and welcoming as well. He really did look after us and he made our day more special! Samer the customer relations manager ensured that everything was arranged for us so we did not have anything to worry about, for which we are very grateful.
To summarise, amazing food, great location, brilliant service, I would definately recommend Il Tridente for any occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Tridente at Hotel Poseidon also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Tridente at Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing