We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT SO GOOD HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal Positano
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We arrived in august, the hotel is not well maintain, old carpets,it is not a good hotel, it is disgusting ,We paid 432 usd for a trple room it was not worth it. I have to say that service in the frontdesk was very good and they have parking for 25 euros.
Positano is very expensive next time i will stay in ravello or sorrento.,

Room Tip: do not go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

I just recently stayed in Positano with my 30 year old daughter. The ads paint a lovely picture of the place but they're very deceiving. We were so shocked when we arrived from Rome that we asked to see another room. Yes, it's a lovely, quite spot towards the top of the hill and the views were amazing from the balcony but, for all the cleaning they do, the room and the halls were filthy. We had to do some cleaning ourselves. The lamps were covered in dust. The decor left a LOT to be desired. Maybe a few pictures on the bare white walls? The few pictures in the hall were of Greece (odd) The place looks like a throwback to the 1970's (or before). We referred to it as our "prison cell". Bare and ugly. We did have a cold fridge and very small safe. The beds are so hard they were actually painful. It was nice to have the free breakfast, but don't expect much. There's a really nice terrance for meals and for hanging out by the bar at night that we really enjoyed. Housekeeping staff is very nice (maybe they need new vacuums?), wait staff nice but needs to smile more, front desk speaks very little English, but also very nice. Lovely pool but almost no one used it. It was freezing and you needed a swimming cap. If you're not up to the walk down the hill, or down the 400 steps, the bus stops right outside the entrance. If you're okay with the walk down, think about the bus on the way up. What shocked us most about Positano were all the shops. It's like one big shopping mall. You have no choice but to walk past and through them on the way to the beach. A good thing about Positano, beside the amazing natural beauty (if you look past the shops), is that you can catch the ferry there to all the towns on the coast. It's a quick trip from there to Amalfi and Capri.

Room Tip: Ask to see several. I have no idea if all the rooms looked like ours - or if they were cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoAnn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My friend Susie, Erin and I were traveling to Positano and needed a place where we could have 3 stay in a room. We were pleasantly surprised at how big the room was and could accommodate 3 girls and their bags! The hotel view of Positano is incredible...the breakfast is so lovely on the terrace! We were impressed they also had a juicing machine. We particularly liked we had to use the stairs to get down...to the street (or you could go street wise)...it was a good workout for us! And, we liked the pool but never used it. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and also helped with logistics of travel to Naples airport. All and all we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The room was clean and provided the basics. No cold fridge though which was an issue. The pool was nice but you need bathing caps or no go. The tennis court/soccer pitch was fun for the kids - they played with oither kids in hotel.

The breakfast was gret - fantastic coffee to start the day was nice.

Walking distance down to beacjh was 20 minutes - good fun walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFoxFamily3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We are staying here at the moment. The hotel is quite far up from beach and town centre but if walking isn't a problem, no problem. The resort of Positano is just simply beautiful. The views and flowers and restaurants are outstanding. The beach is a bit rocky sand and pebbly but waves are good for bobbing up and down in the sea. Hotel's restaurant is very nice. Pool area and bar very nice. Relax on upstairs bar terrace and enjoy view.

The room is enormous with two bathrooms and three bedrooms for just three of us and it had a very nice terrace with seating. Housekeeping very friendly. Some staff nice and others just ok.

Stayed here with my husband and daughter aged 20. We loved the table tennis and pool and bar areas. I think there is a spa and kiddie club but did not use these.

Room Tip: This hotel is a maze of corridors and rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shieky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

From Toronto and will be staying here for the fifth time.
Very good experience each time. Pool is fantastic and from what we have gathered the biggest one in the area. Rooms are very clean and the hotel always takes care of us as we have three kids. The walk down to the ocean is perfect as we like to have the step challenge. It's definitely vertical but in a good way.

Room Tip: Very clean and very safe place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gossack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

For the money, you get a sweet little spot up the mountain. I read all the negative reviews and agree with some of their comments. But those were not deal breakers. The bottom line is that the rooms are clean, with a nice lanai. The view from the restaurant veranda is quite lovely. The morning breakfast was delicious with many choices. There are 400 steps down toward the center of town...but then I took the city bus back up for only 1.30 euros. And the bus stops right at the hotel...convenient! I'd stay here again...a decent hotel that didn't break the bank!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indygirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 38 in Positano
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 38 in Positano
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Prisco Hotel
Royal Prisco Hotel
#30 of 38 in Positano
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Positano

Address: Via Pasitea 344, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £107 - £930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Positano 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the rocky ledge overlooking entirely Positano, The Hotel Royal Positano is a discreet and simple hotel. Its neat architecture is perfectly integrated in the extraordinary context of the surroundings. The skyline is breathtaking and collects into an unique setting "sky, rocks and sea." Everybody can admire it while immersed in the pool, while dining under the stars, or while resting in the room Framed by the colors of the Mediterranean flora, the hotel offers 4star services to meet every kind of demand. The hospitality is discreet and attentive. with an eye to what is served at the table . The 77 suites are a tribute to the magnificent view onto the sea and onto the spectacular hills of the Amalfi Coast . Equipped and furnished with every comfort, they are designed for a pleasant stay in the room, with air conditioning, minibar, safe, direct telephone and DVB-TV. From the spacious terraces, a symphony of colors and scents embrace the body and the soul. The Sun, the sea and the land represent a perfect mix. And the sweet aromas of citrus and orange blossoms will capture all the senses. Don't miss an excursion on the sea at Amalfi Coast: it will be possible to admire all the shades of the coastline: from the transparent green, close to the shore, to the gloomy indigo of the deep sea. And a memorable diving away from everything and everyone will be a great experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Royal Hotel Positano
Domina Hotel Royal
Domina Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing