We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Magical Place"”
Review of Villa dei Fisici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa dei Fisici
Spring, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"A Magical Place"”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

After a long and tiring flight, our family of 13 enjoyed pizza in Naples (the birthplace of pizza), and toured Pompeii. Our long day in Italy began early after arriving from Houston, so we were looking forward to the Villa dei Fisici for some much needed rest! We were greeted instantly by Franco, the manager of the property, our bags were taken up the steep hill, and our every need was taken care of the entire evening! This villa is breathtaking! With views of the sea from almost every room, amazing service, and the feeling of stepping back in time, this villa didn't disappoint! The first morning spent on the main floor balcony that provided magnificent views of the town, the beach, and the pristine turquoise waters of the Tyrrhenian Sea was a glorious way to start this vacation! As I enjoyed the cappuccino made by Franco, wrote in my journal, and took in all of the amazing sounds of this impressively beautiful town, I knew this would be a magical place!
It was the most relaxed I have felt in a long time! Franco was always nearby each morning, and was so accommodating. I enjoyed the opportunity to talk with him about the history of the villa and learned that the ceilings, by law, cannot be repainted. Everything has remained the same in this 18th century villa. Many of the furnishings and the floors are original. However, the wonderful pool and pool bar are new. Our family spent hours enjoying our time outside. The view is spectacular, and pool towels and refreshing drinks were there for us every day. Franco made certain every need was attended to throughout the day. He is such a gracious host!
We had a chef for 3 dinners and highly recommend Miguel! His food and service were impeccable! We truly enjoyed a "taste of Italy"! Our family of 13 fit comfortably around the table on the main balcony. Because of the rain the last night, we dined in the formal dining room just as comfortably. There was a high chair for our 2 1/2 year old granddaughter, and Franco attended to her every need...even drew pictures to entertain her during dinner. He is quite the artist!
As our daughter is a professional photographer, we were able to get amazing family pictures in and around the villa. Be sure to take the opportunity to walk down the path for photo ops, as well as up the path from the villa back door for more amazing places to capture spectacular photos! The view through the large picture window and French balcony in the living room also provided an unbelievable place to capture lasting memories! The "Juliet balcony" on the first level (pool level) was also a great picture spot.
Everything about this villa and the staff will remain an unforgettable memory! We miss you Villa dei Fisici and hope to return someday!!!

Room Tip: The 2 bedrooms on the first level (pool level) are more suited for a family as there is a shared bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaM386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    1
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We are a couple from Chile, and we are travel experts. I must say that this villa is a dream. The view is breathtaking and the whole atmosphere is magical. We stay at the Red Passion suit....wow!!! The continental breakfast is very generous. Every day a different treat!!!

Everything works. Television, internet, common areas, two pools and the best of all is that the villa is very, very quiet...

The stuff is kind, and they smile all the time. They even gave us a few presents when we left. Best time ever!!!

Room Tip: The best room is the Red Passion Suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vleyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Villa Fisici for 4 days and i have to say that we had such a wonderful time,we chose this villa for the wonderful pictures we saw on the website but i have to say that in reality is even better.
The rooms are charming and spacious with such precious authentic affreschi from the 18th century.
The view of positano bay is just breathtaking, and the breakfast was so delicious thanks to Mister Franco,he is such a nice person,he always made sure we had everything we needed,I have to say that he made our stay a lot easier with all his advices.
We will defenitely go back to this villa next year!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beautiful view, walking out on the terrace it almost feels like walking into a art work! We were very tired from our Trip, and our amazing host Franco, looked after us so well we felt like we were at home! Every morning he would prepare our breakfast, always with so many different things and so yummy!!! I have some food allergies, and Franco was a darling, looking after me and any request he would go out of his way to help! The villa is clean, full of light and very well kept, worth every penny!
We would eat outside on the terrance and the view is just WOW AMAZING! The beautiful pool and a glass of prosecco was a good reward after a day going around the town The Amalfi coast is such an amazing place I hope everyone could see! People are so friendly it's unreal! So far the best holiday I have ever had!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I decided to splurge on this hotel because we heard everything was expensive in Positano. When we arrived we were not aware we would have to walk up a gigantic hill (no cars can access this hill) to get there, with that said the staff had sent someone down to grab our luggage which made the walk a little bit more bearable. If you are elderly I could see this being an issue. We were greeted by Franco and he was awesome! Franco showed us to our room and I must say I was very disappointed upon walking in. The room was outdated, the beds were very uncomfortable, the furniture had no character but our balcony and view were amazing. We decided to have a drink by the pool and quickly realized the pictures displayed on their website do not really portray the pool area in the way that it actually looks in person. The grass needed to be trimmed and there were several weeds, the gardens surrounding the area looked dumpy and not really well kept and the chairs didn't match looking a little bit trashy.....but once again the view was amazing! Franco was the best and met all of our needs and provided great information about the area. I am sad we spent so much money to stay here especially when we have spent significantly less at other hotels in Italy which we thought were fabulous. The service at this establishment was wonderful but the accommodations (minus the view) were pretty grim. If I ever visit Positano again I would probably stay at another place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRINKSANDSUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We got two rooms for 3 nights and the total price was $2,300... a bit expensive for an old hotel. The place needs to be renovated. The view is great and the location was beautiful. Unfortunately you do need to walk up an enormous hill in order to get to this place. It is not easy to get to!!! Pool is nice but not jaw dropping. Overall it is a decent hotel but I would have preferred to spend the money at a different hotel not so far up onto the mountain. Staff is very nice. Tuscany is much more beautiful and this place needs to be painted!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocograms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVAW
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

What a view! You can't help but walk outside as much as possible when you are in this house! We had a group and rented out the whole house. Fabio was great, showed up every morning to make us cappuccino..There is a tiny market at the bottom of the hill--great for collecting some things to make breakfast or lunch--they will also deliver if you get their number. The Villa is very hard to find...Best bet is to call Fabio and see if he can meet you on the street--It took everyone in our party at least 30-45 min to find the house once they got into town..GPS won't find it. Get the name of the market or closest hotel from the rental company that will assist you on your search. You cannot see the house from the main street and you can't see the tiny street you have to turn into easily. Also be careful if you drive up to the Villa---road is VERY narrow and getting down is horrendous. We got trapped and ended up putting a scrape in our rental--people park all over and just leave their cars--typical city.
The house is fantastic for groups...the rooms on the top floor 5 bedrooms. 4 are very large and connect via doors (which don't lock); you can get out via the balcony if you get stuck in the middle room. There is a very small 4th bedroom on this level, no window but it has its own bathroom, a fridge and a twin bed. The main level has 1 nice bedroom with its own bathroom; it opens into the main balcony. The bottom level has 2 bedrooms that share a bathroom, but it is located in only one of the rooms, anyone staying in the second bedroom has to go into the other room to use the bathroom...Some of the rooms has mini-fridges; bathrooms were nice and clean. There was plenty of space for clothes in the closets too. Each room on the top floor had a tv as well. Cleaning people show up early so you may want to let Fabio know if you want to sleep in. Pool is so nice, we were able to use it in October! Kitchen is big, and it has a pasta cooker which was fun to use! It has an industrial size fridge which is great. Note you are not close to town...you do have to walk about 5-10 min and its all downhill; steep steps, and the walk up is a challenge...highly recommend getting a scooter--or be sure to wear sensible shoes! I would recommend the house. It was a wonderful vacation and the town is just amazing!!

Room Tip: Take one of the 4 main bedrooms on the top floor or the one on the main level --that one is the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marincanto
Hotel Marincanto
#12 of 38 in Positano
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa dei Fisici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa dei Fisici

Property: Villa dei Fisici
Address: Via Santa Croce 12,14, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Positano
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa dei Fisici 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa dei Fisici in Positano on the Amalfi coast is a wonderful 18th-Century historical home for unforgettable holidays and events. The villa has a total area of 750 sq.m on three floors, all of which overlook the sea and Positano bay: The main floor leads to the large drawing room with period furniture and genuine masters. This floor has the suite Brothers Montgolfier. All the rooms on this floor lead to the villa’s large terrace, which is an excellent location for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The upper floor has 4 bedroom suites overlooking the sea and with balconies opening onto a long terrace with a breathtaking view. The suites have frescoed domes with original paintings, period furniture, marble fireplaces, doors painted by artists from the School of Naples and terracotta floors with ceramic decorations. All the bathrooms have been restored recently and are decorated with antique tiles. The "Romeo and Juliet" suite with an independent entrance located on the lower floor has an enchanting atmosphere, which can be experienced by looking out over the balcony of the suite to admire the wonderful view of Positano and the elegant "Afrodite" swimming pool. The floor with the swimming pool also has a solarium with showers, bar, and dressing rooms with toilet. This property has all the mod cons: swimming pool, telephone, fax, wi-fi, independent heating, air conditioning, high-quality linen, DVD player, stereo, satellite TV, ice-maker, washing machine, dryer, hair-dryer, dish-washer, freezer and fully-equipped professional kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa dei Fisici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing