We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Villa”
Review of Villa La Tartana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa La Tartana
Ranked #10 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Staying in Positano, you must have a sea view, close to the beach, close to great restaurants. La Tartana provides all the above. It is clean, reasonably priced. The staff were very accommodating, full of directions, and info. Breakfast is provided, a good start to the day. We had a room fight on the ocean, balcony for relaxing and a wine or 2... Well worth the expense.
A great find!!!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at La Tartana this past September and can recommend this Hotel for any short time visit. It is quaint, quiet, clean and reasonable. The staff was very accomodating and pleasant. It is very close to the beach and in the midst of the shops. The Heberts,The Woodlands, Texas-USA

Room Tip: We opted for a "no ocean view" which is on the lowest floor and was better for our budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twoabears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

my wife and had the pleasure of a three nights' stay at the Villa last September. We had stayed there a while back and were ready to revisit. We knew some of the pitfalls and drawbacks of staying in particular areas of the city, either to far removed from the beach and restaurants or on the busy main road leading to Ravello. We booked late and options were limited. La Tartana kept popping up during our search. we were originally weary about the location (to close to the beach) but could not have been more happy with our choice. We had the pleasure of watching the daily activities unfolding before our terrace. We were close to the restaurants and boat docks but were spared the hordes of tourist hoofing their way passed the main streets. At night, I thought, is when our place shone. I enjoyed a cigar every night while composing my thoughts about that days' activities for emails to friends and family. I had the feeling of sitting in a private booth in a Roman amphitheater with the Tyrenian see as my view, the waves serving as the soundtrack. Service was friendly and efficient, breakfast could use a little boost as could the water availability in the shower, but that is a minor issue. I enjoyed my stay. For the priced paid, I would recommend and stay at the La Tartana again, opt for a sea view though.

Room Tip: sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patten36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I spent a week here in late September-early October, and it was wonderful. Suggest upgrading to the ocean views...it is worth it! The staff is wonderful, helpful and kind. The beds are a little firm, but that's Italy! The rooms are large, and the water pressure amazing. The location within Positano is perfect...close to the beach and a small market, right next to the Church of Santa Maria Assunta. When I come back, I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 991Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

This is such an amazing place to stay. Great location being so close to the water but still high enough to have a stunning view. The rooms are just like in the photo's- clean, fresh and spacious! The staff were so friendly and helpful. My sister got married in positano so we had so much to organise and they made phone calls to families staying in other villas, organised dry cleaning - anything we needed! Carmella at the front desk was amazing. I will definitely be staying here every time I go to positano because not only was the overall experience perfect.. The price is so reasonable!

Loved this place and would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cml152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here in September. The hotel is in a perfect location, near the beach but also near the Town. The staff were delightful , and they couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is small but this makes it very friendly. We have been to Positano 4 times now, the first time in this hotel, but not the last!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaritte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

So glad I chose this hotel over the many I researched. It was a little more than I wanted to spend but positano is very expensive, the hotel is not too hard to find from the ferry port. There were a few steps but when we got to la tartana boutique they rang the hotel to send down some fit men to carry our suitcases up the remainder of steps. As soon as I entered the room I fell in love. So beautifully decorated and clean then she opened the balcony doors and the ocean view was stunning. Very happy camper here

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#8 of 38 in Positano
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 38 in Positano
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#11 of 38 in Positano
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Tartana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Tartana

Address: Via Vito Savino 6/8, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: £129 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa La Tartana 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa "La Tartana" faces the beautiful sea of Positano. It takes only a few minutes to reach the famous "Spiaggia Grande" going down the Lion Steps. Villa "La Tartana" is a typical Positanasian house. Recently renovated, it has not lost any of its original characteristic architecture, which has instead been enhanced. The hotel can be reached only by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Villa La Tartana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Tartana Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing