We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location!”
Review of Villa La Tartana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa La Tartana
Ranked #11 of 50 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great value and location!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Going to Amalfi Coast can empty your pocketbook fairly quickly if you aren't on "Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" but this little hotel was a great find. The rooms and bathrooms were very large, immaculate and well appointed. We had a small side sea view from our balcony - pay more for the sea front. Free WiFi was convenient, too. The best part was that it was near all the shopping and great restaurants. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was continental and in a beautiful patio setting with an ocean view. Yummy cappuccino in the mornings started our days out right! I recently had knee surgery and was concerned about all the up and down walking to and from the hotel and to other places in Positano. This hotel isn't too fair from where the taxi drop off point is and there are no cars in the small trellis'd streets of Positano. If you have lots luggage or difficulty walking, I recommend getting the "porter" to take you to your hotel after they drop you off at the Pharmacy. Tip hint: ~1 euro/bag.

Room Tip: pay a little more and ask for a sea front room, not sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    80
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
171
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Pack lightly for your visit as there are no roads to Villa la Tartana and you have a down or uphill trek with luggage. Once arrived, however, you are met by the very efficient Carmela who seriously could run a small country. The view from your room is drop-dead gorgeous. Breakfast is continental but offers a nice selection of baked goods and a variety of fruits and fruit salad. Try the nespola....it is a local fruit you won't find elsewhere. Excellent coffee. If you drink English Breakfast tea, you might want to bring along a tea bag or two as we ran through the two they had on hand! We loved being a little closer to the beach and town as it made going out in the evening so very easy. Try their associated restaurant, Cafe Positano. The best table in the place seems to be reserved for Villa la Tartana guests. Good food and killer view. In short, this was a very special stop.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demtvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Villa la Tartana is all you want it's in a great location our room had a view of the ocean and the room was very comfortable the free WiFi is excellent the staff are very warm and helpful there are many restaurants close by and it's near the beach would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were very lucky to get a room here because of a last minute cancellation. This is a terrific bed and breakfast. When we arrived, we were handed a fresh fruit drink and made us feel very welcome. The people who work here are extremely friendly and helpful. The common areas are filled with light and fresh flowers, and breakfast was delicious. The location is steps from the beach, and our balcony had a beach view. The room was small but bright and airy. The price was quite reasonable. The only drawback was that there was quite a bit of noise coming from the beach until very late. I suppose if we'd closed our windows it would have helped, but we like the sea breeze.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiredofthecold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Overall, our recent stay at Villa La Tartana was lovely. The hotel is in an excellent location for getting around on foot, and the view of Positano is gorgeous! I was thankful for our balcony room; however, the balcony was very small as was the room itself. It would be worth it to upgrade to a larger room.

Room Tip: Worth it to upgrade to a larger room with a larger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Villa La Tartana is located perfectly in Positano with only a few steps to the beach. The small hotel feels more like a bed and breakfast as it doesn't take long for the incredible staff to treat you like family. The rooms are bright and airy and quite roomy! The showers have excellent water pressure which is an added bonus! The views from each room (all with great balconies) are stunning. Each morning Lucca prepared fabulous cafe and cappuccino with fruit and pastries. We even had breakfast at 3am prepared before a very early departure to Naples. Aleccia and Carmela great you with vibrant smiles and enthusiasm. A wonderful experience awaits you at Villa la Tartana!

Room Tip: No swimming pool! Ignore the one star!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurMey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Carmella and her staff at Villa La Tartana went above and beyond the call of good service to make our stay for my daughter's wedding an outstanding experience. The Villa itself is a wonderful facility. The suites are perfectly maintained and cleaned. The views are magnificent. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable, especially the breakfast staff. Then, the things carmella did to ensure the success of the wedding, including organizing the photographer, was unbelievable. To top it all off, Carmella arranged a special touch to the bride and groom's suite after the wedding.

A great hotel, terrific location, special suites, outstanding value, and a great daily breakfast - for what more could you ask in a great location - Positano. Thank you, Carmella.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
842 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#19 of 39 in Positano
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 39 in Positano
929 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#7 of 39 in Positano
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Tartana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Tartana

Property: Villa La Tartana
Address: Via Vito Savino 6/8, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa La Tartana 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa "La Tartana" faces the beautiful sea of Positano. It takes only a few minutes to reach the famous "Spiaggia Grande" going down the Lion Steps. Villa "La Tartana" is a typical Positanasian house. Recently renovated, it has not lost any of its original characteristic architecture, which has instead been enhanced. The hotel can be reached only by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa La Tartana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Tartana Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing