We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 2012 (5 day break)”
Review of La Rosa Dei Venti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Rosa Dei Venti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Great little hotel in a great location. Room with balcony with views over the bay of Positano. Within easy walking distance of some great restaurants (Saraceno one of the best). Staff very friendly and breakfast served on your balcony and brought to your room at whichever time you wish. Even 11.30am didnt seem to bother them. Not cheap. but then this is not a cheap area to stay. Expect to get a double for about 100 euros inc breakfast.

Room Tip: Email the hotel direct as they will do deals outside of Booking.com etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiffyandDi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed at Rosa Dei Venti for five days in October, it was the first stop of our honeymoon in Italy. It could not have been more perfect. One of the challenges when planning our trip had been deciding the best way to get to Positano. The owner of La Rosa suggested we fly into Naples and he arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport and drive us straight to Positano. All of this went smoothly and we were relieved he had listened to his advice. He also made us reservations for our first night at Cafe Positano. We had a private dining balcony and the food was delicious.

The B&B itself was clean, spacious and while the people who worked the front desk did not speak english that did not bother us at all.

The best part of La Rosa was enjoying the view while eating breakfast that was served to our room every morning and laid out on the balcony. You can not possibly be in a more relaxing spot.

Our room was well cleaned every day after we had left to explore the town, the bed was large and comfortable. We felt very safe as the owners lock the door at night and only those with a key can enter. Not once did we hear other guests through the walls even though the place was full. The room had a mini fridge which came in handy to store our cheese and wine purchased at a small market up the road. Ladies, there was also a hair dryer which was a pleasant surprise since it isn't mentioned on their website.

They also provide beach towels to you free of charge, just ask them at the front desk (if you can figure out how to say beach towel in Italian I am impressed!). The wifi is free and works in the room, you need a password for it which they can give you at the front as well.

The weather was beautiful for our entire stay and while we enjoyed the beach we found suntanning on the balcony of our room while reading and drinking wine was more peaceful.

The B&B is half way up the hill so be prepared for lots of stairs, I had heard this warning before we left and it was true! I would still rather stay at La Rosa then closer to the bottom because it was quieter and there was a selection of great restaurants right down the road that did not seem to get as packed as the ones on the beach.

While the rest of our two week trip through Italy was amazing I have to say that Positano and La Rosa Dei Venti was the highlight. Thank you to our wonderful hosts for making it a trip we will never forget!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrozycki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We (my husband, me and 3 of our children) stayed at La Rosa Dei Venti for 5 days in July 2012. It is in the old section of town but close enough to the center of things. We booked a double and a triple room. When we made the reservations via email, the gentleman offered us the Ostro and Tramonte rooms for one night, and then offered to move us to the Grecale and Libeccio rooms which he deemed were better but already booked for our first night. We agreed to that. When we arrived and were set up in the Ostro and Tramonte rooms, I wondered how there can be better rooms. We had everything we needed, and there was a lovely view of the Positano bay from the balcony. The bathrooms were very nice with great water pressure in the showers. The next day, they moved us to the Grecale and Libeccio rooms and being on the upper floor, the view of the bay was even more spectacular. However, all of those rooms were remarkable. We did have some problems with the internet connection when we were in the Ostro room being further away from the lobby. However, that may have been due to the fact that I may not have been on the correct server. It appears they have 3 different servers depending on the floor you are one, but I connected when we were in the lobby asking for the password. When we were in the Grecale room, the connection was excellent. Therefore, I think it was my problem and not the establishment. We started out each morning with the most relaxing Italian breakfast – coffee to order and a basket of cornetti and pane. You can also add yogurt and juice if you you’d like, as well as a few other items for a nominal cost. You request the time for breakfast, and it is brought to your balcony exactly on time with a smile on the woman’s face. That was the highlight of my trip. Eating an Italian breakfast on the balcony overlooking the Positano bay – heaven! The Furnillo beach is a smaller beach (as opposed to the Positano beach) directly down the steps from the establishment. Yes, there are over 400 steps but we did not find that a problem. The beach was clean and not crowded and we really enjoyed it. We did a walking tour with Christine and her tour Discover Positano and that was a very nice way to get oriented in the town. We would highly recommend LA Rosa Dei Venti, and we would stay there again the next time we visit Positano.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JRMTR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I had one night planned in Positano, and I researched thoroughly thanks to TripAdvisor. This hotel was very reasonable priced, cute, nice rooms, very clean and good basic breakfasts included. But let’s cut to the chase – you visit Positano for one thing and one thing only – the amazing landscape and views. So if you book this hotel, you have to have an upper level room to get a view. I knew this going in and emailed the hotel to reserve such a room. I received confirmation of this as well. But when I arrived, oops, sorry – the only room available was the Tramontana – with a lovely power line running directly through your line if sight and a building to your left taking away any panorama. Read through the other reviews and find the photos - you'll see. Hotel management was apologetic, but it still didn’t make up for it. I only had one night. So be careful. You can't guarantee what you'll get.

Room Tip: Avoid lower level rooms, especailly Tramontana. Not good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yarrumdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Visiting Positano in August is always a treat, crowds, heat, sky-high prices. But this little B&B oasis, a 20-minute walk up from the main beach in Positano, is an absolute gem. Mario, his son and daughter, and his parents run a very tight, yet casual operation. We stayed in the Maestrale room, ocean-front balcony where breakfast is served every morning. Room was very clean, daily servicing was impeccable and very helpful tips on getting around the Amalfi. Wifi connection in the room was spotty,and service was down for a few days. Not a big deal on holidays. Will definitely be back and try our a lesser peak season. Great location!

Room Tip: Maestrale was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGMontreal_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great place to stay in Positano. The view from our room was magnificent and we loved eating breakfast on our private terrace. Our room was very spacious and immaculate. The owners were very helpful. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank CathyMPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The balcony has a great view, your food is served to your room (eggs, bacon or cheese is extra) and location of the hotel is good (not in the crowded part, 15 min walk to the center). The hotel owners are a family, and their son, Mario, helped us a lot with his advice for the places to visit and reservations. Great hospitality.
Rooms are big and clean enough.
You must walk ~400 stairs to reach the sea, but it is not that hard :)
I recommend it heavily, although the hotel is expensive on high season.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basargunyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
#21 of 38 in Positano
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#29 of 38 in Positano
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#7 of 38 in Positano
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#11 of 38 in Positano
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rosa Dei Venti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rosa Dei Venti

Address: Via Fornillo, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Positano
Price Range: £92 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Rosa Dei Venti 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
lovely rent room located in a old part of Positano, with all comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Rosa Dei Venti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa Dei Venti Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing