We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”
Review of La Rosa Dei Venti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Rosa Dei Venti
Certificate of Excellence
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in Jun 2013, and LOVED THIS HOTEL! First, the rooms are large, the bathroom is quite large especially for Europe, and each room has a balcony that overlooks the ocean. Breakfast is served in your room, and we chose to have it on the balcony each morning. The location is perfect....half way up from the beach so it is easy access to the beach as well as some "not so touristy" restaurants. After a long day of sightseeing and playing, it was SO nice to come home, get comfy, and retreat to the balcony for a quiet glass of prosecco as we watched the boats on the Mediterranean. It was quiet enough to leave our windows open, but it got warm so the cool AC was fantastic! Do not hesitate to book this hotel!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cdezlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    52
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
142
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed several nights in La Rosa Dei Venti in Positano and was utterly charmed and impressed by the B&B.

The rooms are large, comfortable and very clean. Showers were strong and hot. It feels more like you are staying in someone's nice house, with its unique character and design and the sights and sounds of the neighbourhood outside. I didn't find the beds however that comfortable.

The simple yet satisfying breakfast on the terrace every morning was one of the highlights of our day. View is amazing (hard to find a bad one in Positano!). Great restaurants very close by (Next2 and Da Vincenzo) and easy to get to the beach.

We found the best place to be dropped off by car/ bus to avoid too many steps is at the hairpin bend in the road near Hotel Posa Posa (near the cave-like area). Then just follow the signs on the right down the alley to La Rosa Dei Venti.

Recommend!

Room Tip: Sea room with a terrace would be the top pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamandLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Me and my wife have staid in this lovely place for one week to spend our anniversary and we are very happy that have found that beautiful spot. La Rosa Dei Venti is owned by very friendly and charming family Rossi, who has helped us to organize our trip in the best way is possible and has given to us a lot of useful advises, like which place we should visit in Amalfi cost , time table of the bouts to Capri, where to dinning around and etc etc.
Our room was spaces ,clean with beautiful furniture and large terrace with the sea view - what can you desire more?:)The breakfast was very tasty and you can choose if to have it in your room or on the terrace outside. Also with a little extra we had a nice fresh orange juice and fried eggs with beacon.I also have written an email before our arrival to the hotel and have asked them if is possible to organize a pick up service for us in Naples airport to Positano and also in this our request has been satisfied.
Special thanks to Sig. Mario, who has booked a very beautiful and elegant restaurant for us , which is likely situated in 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel , called '' Da Gabrisa'' with beautiful terrace outside, overlooking the fantastic view of the sea. The food was delicious, not pricey ( as Positano is quiet expensive by itself), big variations of the wines ( as we have knew after ''Da Gabrisa'' is also a wine bar) with romantic atmosphere.For our pleasant surprise they also organize a privet cooking courses , with very fair price of 65 euro per person( most of the places around are asking not less than 100 euro per person) and wine tasting 25 euro per person. As my wife is passionated of the Italian kitchen and I am of the Italian wine:) - we were more than happy:)We totally didn't want to go in touristic restaurant anymore,specially having a bad experience in the restaurants on the beach by food, prises and service.So we really very grateful to sig. Rossi for choosing the best place for us.
Mario if you are reading this - thank you! You and your family have made our stay in Positano special and unforgettable in every single detail and we can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grottaferrata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The hotel itself was clean, comfortable and well-positioned. I can't really fault it on that. However if you come by car and your booking has assured you of free parking then beware: THERE IS NO FREE PARKING and you will have to pay at least €20 per night to park in one of the public car parks nearby. Even though this was clearly written on our booking, the staff shrugged and claimed they knew nothing about it. Unfortunately this left a rather bad taste in the mouth as it affected out decision to choose the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rich215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed here in mid October, 2012 in the Grecale room. The room was very clean and quaintly decorated in a style evocative of casual Italy. The bed was very comfortable. The double doors open onto the private veranda overlooking the sea with bouganvillea along the railing and potted geraniums lining the bottom edge. The table and chairs out there were beautiful cast iron with typical Italian ceramic on the top. You'll see these same types of tables with the locally crafted, cheery ceramic tops in shops around town. The view from the terrace was outstanding.

We counted just under 400 steps to the beach (there are a couple of routes to get there but about the same number of steps). Some of the steps areas had no railing. If you are not reasonably fit, you may find this challenging - but then again, you probably wouldn't go to Positano because there are steps everywhere - it's a vertical town. Several restaurants will pick you up by car or van (at no charge) to take you to their restaurant with a reservation.

The bathroom was impeccably clean and well-lit. The shower was a bit cramped for one person but water pressure was excellent and all plumbing in good repair.

Continental style breakfast was as expected. The rolls and croissants were very good. The fruit, if ordered extra, was plentiful for two people with some left over for snacks later. The coffee was consistently delicious. We tried the yogurt too and it was also of good quality. They ultimately did not charge us for the extras over a 6 day stay. Breakfast was always on time and served with a warm, friendly smile. The room fridge was handy.

The bathroom was a generous size but the shower only accommodates one. The private terrace is a real delight and we liked that they were decorated with a gorgeous and cheerful ceramic table top (made locally) on wrought iron base with wrought iron chairs. Much better than a chintzy plastic set some places use. Although the hotel is about the middle of the town from the water, we could still hear the sea but mostly when the water was rougher. On calm days, you will not likely hear the waves.

The owners were friendly and helpful though the older gentleman (the father) is harder to understand. We did not find this problematic. They easily made reservations for us at restaurants and arranged a taxi back to Naples for our flight home. This was definitely a big time saver at the end of our trip. The bus to Positano took about 3 hours from Naples (have to switch buses in Sorrento) but the taxi back was only 1.5 hours right to the airport. The taxi was prompt and is a newer and clean Mercedes with a uniformed driver and only 100 Euros (plus tip). This was slightly less expensive than the direct quotes I received from the taxi companies beforehand. Making this arrangement at the end took any worry out of getting to the airport on time and allowed us a couple of extra hours to enjoy in Positano. Money very well spent.

If you're up to it, a big, big highlight is walking the Path of the Gods from Bomerano to Positano. Fantastic. Stunning panoramas. Roaming goats and the occasional herding dog on patrol. Check it out.

I'd highly recommend La Rosa Dei Venti and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

the views were stunning. the accommodation spotless. The pillows were awful - never slept on such lumpy pillows ever. Language was a problem. grandpa was is reception all the time and could speak no English. about 40 steps to get to accommodation and my poor husband had to walk up and down twice to carry luggage. I have asthma and walking up steps in extreme heat was difficult. He wouldn't even let me try the stairs 408 of them down to the beach and then back up again! unless you are fit - it was difficult.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delabole
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Great little hotel in a great location. Room with balcony with views over the bay of Positano. Within easy walking distance of some great restaurants (Saraceno one of the best). Staff very friendly and breakfast served on your balcony and brought to your room at whichever time you wish. Even 11.30am didnt seem to bother them. Not cheap. but then this is not a cheap area to stay. Expect to get a double for about 100 euros inc breakfast.

Room Tip: Email the hotel direct as they will do deals outside of Booking.com etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiffyandDi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 39 in Positano
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 39 in Positano
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 39 in Positano
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rosa Dei Venti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rosa Dei Venti

Property: La Rosa Dei Venti
Address: Via Fornillo, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Rosa Dei Venti 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
lovely rent room located in a old part of Positano, with all comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Rosa Dei Venti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa Dei Venti Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing