We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il San Pietro di Positano
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing !!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

All expectations were exceeded, and they were sky high from the beginning. Imagine this -- what first brought the San Pietro to my attention was their on site parking. I had read horror stories from others about the general parking situation in Positano. The San Pietro answered that first issue, and then as I did more research, discovered that it was truly regarded as one of the great hotels in the world. The beauty is unmatched. The picture attached was taken from the cocktail terrace. I suggest one to google and read the history of the hotel. There were many many positives (service and staff were unbelievable) and only one negative. The hotel is chiseled into pure rock so there are a few elevators, but our room was down four flights of stairs from the lobby without elevator service. So each day started with me huffing and puffing walking up to the lobby level, but once there the view made me forget about my forced workout. The room was very nice with a very private balcony that looked east down the coast. The breakfast each morning was fantastic with the world's greatest view. Each day the hotel provides a free 2 hour boat cruise to guests along the Amalfi coast with a bit of time for swimming as well. The boat is good sized and very comfortable with a super nice captain and mate who provide a bit of beverage after the swimming. Most guests gravitate to the beach area for sun, but we opted for the pool each day which surprisingly had only one or two other couples at max. The view from the pool was sensational. Pasquale (sorry if misspelled) made our time in the area perfect. He epitomized perfect service and was a great resource. The restaurant for dinner (basically same location as breakfast) was excellent, although a bit on the high priced end. One exceptional service note here...our first night we went to the restaurant without reservations and were seated off the balcony. I never said a word or asked for the railing. After 10 minutes the hostess came over, said there had been a cancellation, and moved us right to the railing. Way above and beyond of expectations. Make sure you have a cocktail on the terrace. The staff are so nice and accommodating with fantastic cocktails...and lets not forget the world's best view back to Postiano. To coin a phrase..."It ain't cheap", but the memories will live forever. We will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    49
    24
    10
    20
See reviews for
100
560
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary in June at Il San Pietro. I cannot imagine a more beautiful place- it took our breath away when we first arrived by boat. Every inch of this gorgeous, seaside property is tended to with the utmost of care. Hand painted tiles and murals grace the terraces and rooms. Flowers spill out over seemingly ancient stone walls and every step has flora grown into intricate designs. The smells of honeysuckle and lemons waft throughout the entire property. The restaurant was equally phenomenal, which is not surprising, as the hotel grows much of its produce right on the property. We kayaked to Positano one morning, as complimentary kayaks sit right on the lovely little private cove beach. We also utilized the 24/7 shuttle, which took us five minutes down the road to the town of Positano. I made my husband promise we'd return someday!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieGRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Location: Stunning cliff top location with stairs winding down through gorgeously terraced gardens to the sea (or you can take the elevator!) About 5 minutes shuttle away from the main town, or 15-20 minutes walk if you don't mind walking up the windy highway. Gorgeous views in every direction, a very special place.

Room: the room looked out to the open sea where you could see the other islands and horizon. Small deck with a table and chairs to take the sun, have a glass of champagne from the well-stocked mini bar. The bathroom had a tub under a window so you could soak and look out to sea. Bathroom was probably my favorite part. Cute room but it's the view that makes it epic.

Food: Very good breakfast buffet and dinner. Worth trying one night but do go out into the town. Sister hotel Le Sirenuse has an amazing dinner as well, do not miss that.


Staff: This is the real bummer about the place-- I don't know if it was just US, or if it was because it was drizzling and overcast for two of the three days we stayed, but the staff was incredibly brusque and grouchy. We had a somewhat hostile check in experience, sub-optimal concierge interaction when we had questions or needed something, and had the same experience with check out. To be fair, there seemed to be a lot of issues with other guests throughout the stay-- so maybe they were grouchy because other things had gone sour. (And if I could review the guests there I'd say 0 stars, they were obnoxious- some guests were complaining to the hotel staff about the weather-- like they could help the weather!) The restaurant and bar staff were really nice but the people at the desk were just perpetually grumpy. We continued to have a good time undaunted, but it was pretty disappointing for a place of that caliber. The sister hotel, Le Sirenuse, was warm, friendly and welcoming in comparison. We fled there each day because we felt more welcome there.

Grounds: The hotel is in a magical place. It has blooming flowers and cascading greenery everywhere, azure waters and a gorgeous view of magical Positano- a perspective you can't get if you are staying IN the center of the city itself. It is also quieter because it is not in the middle of the tourist crush of the town, which we liked. You will not get tired of these breathtaking grounds- it is the thing that really makes the hotel worth staying at. The gym is small but has the necessary items and looks out on the terraced gardens and ocean. I ran up and down the stairs for an aerobic workout, that was amazing with the ocean and towering cliffs.

Spa: Had a really weird facial here. Partner had a weird experience also... perhaps save the spa experience for another spot.


Conclusion: beautiful hotel, glad I went once, but the three stars is because of the service-- and three stars is being generous because for a hotel of this caliber it was honestly BELOW average. We just didn't feel very welcome, and even if things were going wrong elsewhere it shouldn't have affected how they dealt with us. I might try it again but most likely I would go to Le Sirenuse next time- it's just as lovely, the restaurant was phenomenal and the people are warm and friendly instead of brusque and indifferent bordering on rude-- for me, that makes all the difference.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xstala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have been to this hotel twice and I have to say that this is the most romantic, beautiful hotel I have ever been to. It is on the Amalfi Coast of Italy. It's built on stone rising out of the sea. The elevator down to the water (there is no beach just a floating raft where you can lounge and jump off into the clear water, is made of stone. When you are in it it feels like you are in a mine. The hotel is full of flowers and the restaurant is second to none. The hotel faces Capri. This is a pricey hotel but if you are going on a honeymoon or just want to get away with your partner you couldn't ask for a more beautiful site in the world.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a bathtub/jacuzzi facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29yankeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here as returning guests for the 2nd time
We brought our almost adult kids
Rooms we got were renovated..nice views of the sea
(Only Afew renovated rooms this year)
Bathroom had one sink
My kids room had a double sink
Our shower was a drop small
We love the facilities !!!
We played tennis almost every day ,we loved having breakfast on the terrace
We loved sitting on the breathtaking beach and jumping into the sea!
We enjoyed the complimentary boat ride for 2 hours with
sangria ,diving in the sea!
The concierge made pretty good recommendations for most nights and the staff was very accommodating
The hotel restaurant for dinner was ok ..they bend over backwards to make you happy though it was a bit pricey
The restaurant by the pool was delicious and so relaxing to sit by
The terrace is magical &mystical at sundown ....great photo op!
The hallways are clean and the housekeeping does a good job
I LOVE this hotel and I hope to be back !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHE81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed for 1 week in this luxurious but unpretentious hotel in a Double deluxe. The overall Service is very Professional and friendly. They always try to accomodate your requests. The free extras such as the Shuttle service to Positano and the Daily 2h boattrips are additional +ives.
Having Dinner in its One starred Michelin restaurant Zass is Not only Worth for its breathtaking view to the sea but also for the quality and the presentation of the dishes. For us One of the Most romantic places we have ever seen.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enzo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The location is perfect: out of the hustle and bustle of Positano but easy to get there. The grounds are truely lovely with spectacular views and if you want to enjoy the beach, this is the only place to be. The common spaces inside the hotel are elegant, bright and inviting. Our room (26) was amazing with a walk-in closet and beautiful bathroom (one wall of the shower was a window over-looking the ocean). The food was very good and the service excellent. Breakfast included a delicious selection of items but these were the same each morning. The snacks served with drinks were also very good but the same each night. Our only suggestion for this amazing hotel is to add a little variety to the snacks and maybe change one of the breakfast items each morning. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Positano
0.9 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
911 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
998 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
967 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#15 of 39 in Positano
555 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il San Pietro di Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il San Pietro di Positano

Property: Il San Pietro di Positano
Address: via Laurito, 2, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#1 Spa Hotel in Positano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Il San Pietro di Positano 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il San Pietro is widely considered to be one of the best hotels in Italy. It is built into the rock with panoramic terraces magnificently overlooking Positano and the Coast. Each uniquely decorated guest room comes with a private terrace decorated in the sophisticated local style with hand-painted ceramic tiles and furniture upholstered in sumptuous fabrics. Its one star Michelin-rated restaurant, the Zass, serves a variety of superb local and international cuisine and, weather permitting, guests can enjoy the unparalleled terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Il San Pietro di Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il San Pietro Di Positano Hotel Positano
Positano Il San Pietro Di
Hotel San Pietro Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing