We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with a tinge of disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Il San Pietro di Positano
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great with a tinge of disappointment”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Tremendous location, service and hospitality. The Hotel does not come cheap nor is one for those you want everything brand new. The charm of the place is its style which is old school Italian. Anything you want or need is provided by high quality staff. Being out of Positano is a huge bonus in the busy months. One complaint. We travelled with two children. We booked in advance yet the Hotel would not put our two rooms on the same floor let alone side by side. My only only complaint but on the end a big negative to an otherwise very happy stay on a wonderful Hotel in the most amazing location

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JAMIEPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    49
    24
    10
    20
See reviews for
100
563
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have, unfortunately, come to the end of our stay at Il San Pietro, a very special place. Like others who have reviewed this property, we have been lucky enough to experience the genuine hospitality and outstanding service this amazing hotel offers. It's location is unique which is enhanced by the enormous terraces at the beach, the pool, and cocktail areas. The hotel is located approximately 10 minutes from Positano's center thanks to a complimentary 24 hr shuttle which, during peak season, is a blessing. All the rooms have different colour schemes, furniture and layouts. We stayed in a junior special room with terrace and sea view (# 29). The terrace is large enough to have a table and two chairs and two lounge chairs over looking the bay with views down towards Praiano where we sat and watched the little boats (and super yatchs) coming and going. The room was very generous in size, quiet and private. Our bathroom had an enormous window over looking the bay and every amenity one could possibly need was supplied. We also had a walk-in wardrobe. The two restaurants in the hotel serve wonderful cuisine with organic vegetables being supplied from the gardens and breakfast is a generous buffet with the ability to order hot dishes. The element that makes this hotel standout is that it was created, and is still run, by the Cinque family. Every day we saw Virginia around the property, making sure everything was running to her standard. It is also great to see her dog around, particularly on the beach chasing stones. Her children and extended family are all involved with the hotel which creates an ambience often absent in large hotel chains. Bravo to Carlo's dream and to the family for keeping it alive so we can all experience their passion. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Our room was a corner room on 2nd level. It is possible to look into the balconies of some rooms l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Privilege location! Walk down the stairs to the beach and you will see a beautiful garden of herbs, vegetables and fruits gracefully planted along the way. Impecable service and attention. Excellent restaurant serving from their own garden. A splurge!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have long considered the Hotel Il San Pietro di Positano to be the most beautiful hotel in the world. Nothing compares to its dramatic setting, natural beauty, and stunning private beach.

What I was reminded of on this last visit was the consistent and genuine gracious hospitality provided to you from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. In no other hotel in the world have I experienced this incredible dedication to excellence by all team members.

In other luxury hotels there are always a few shining stars but sadly they are always accompanied by other staff who are less motivated. These people who lack pride in their profession can really have a negative impact on your vacation whether it be with a forced smile, scripted dialogue lacking individual engagement, or my worst case scenario, a staff member complaining about how much work he or she has.

Every year I travel to Capri for a few nights before coming to Il San Pietro and am always reminded of the extreme difference in service standards and hospitality even though I stay at what is considered to be the best hotel in Capri.

The rooms at ISP are each unique, one-of-a-kind, and erupting with beauty and nature at every angle! The entire property is magical and so very very special. The restaurants offer both tantalizing gourmet options, fantastic Naples-style pizza from it's wood burning oven, as well as relaxed beach-front lazy lunch in paradise.

The Rooftop terrace bar is and has been my favorite bar in the world since my first visit in 1996.

Thank you ISP Family for once again making my annual trip to Positano my favorite and most sacred journey of my year!!!

Al l'anno prossimo!!!

Room Tip: Go in the off season March, April, or October to have more chance of getting a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BambinaRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Positano, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We wish we found this place sooner. It is 5 stars in every category from the rooms to the staff. We spent 3 nights and wish we didn't have to leave. We will definitely be back and will send everybody we know.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott63ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Let me get the negative part out of the way. We were not greeted with the warmest welcome I actually had to ask one of the front desk receptionist if we had upset him as it was not the type of greeting you would expect from such a extraordinary property.

That being said they bounced back and we had an amazing time! The rooms were great- actually breathing taking view of Positano and the sea! The first night they give you a room looking out to Positano which was a treat. For the rest of our 5 day stay they gave us a room which looked the opposite direction of the city which was also quite breathtaking! The server at the pool (can't remember his name) goes over and beyond to make you feel welcomed. Even though you have to take a shuttle into town it's well worth it and convenient as the shuttle is running at all hours. When you request a pickup from town it's there within 15 minutes.

One side note, do not get intimidated when going into town and seeing the steps. You get used to it and it's well worth checking out Positano!

I would also recommended spending one day on property and taking advantage of the private beach. You take an elevator down to a private beach area with impeccable service. All the servers have a smile from ear to ear and go out of there way to accommodate you. They make amazing drinks and I loved the green olives they serve with every drink.

It's worth every penny you spend- a must visit in your lifetime.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I just spent 6 glorious days at the Il San Pietro! I never wanted to leave. It doesn't hurt that the weather was PERFECT! The staff was wonderful (especially Pasquale by the pool). The location and the grounds were beyond beautiful. The resort is up and out on the cliff looking back at the town. On the other side (pool) you are looking at another town called Praiano. Amazing views all around. They have a shuttle that runs every 10 minutes to and from the town. Perfect! We stayed at the San Pietro during the day and went to town in the evening. It was nice to have the privacy and quiet of our little slice of Heaven. We booked their private boat (for a cost) for the day. We cruised up the Amalfi Coast and then on to Capri. Such a treat.

Room Tip: I believe every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boppy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Positano
0.9 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
912 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
999 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
970 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 39 in Positano
559 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il San Pietro di Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il San Pietro di Positano

Property: Il San Pietro di Positano
Address: via Laurito, 2, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#1 Spa Hotel in Positano
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Il San Pietro di Positano 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il San Pietro is widely considered to be one of the best hotels in Italy. It is built into the rock with panoramic terraces magnificently overlooking Positano and the Coast. Each uniquely decorated guest room comes with a private terrace decorated in the sophisticated local style with hand-painted ceramic tiles and furniture upholstered in sumptuous fabrics. Its one star Michelin-rated restaurant, the Zass, serves a variety of superb local and international cuisine and, weather permitting, guests can enjoy the unparalleled terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Il San Pietro di Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il San Pietro Di Positano Hotel Positano
Positano Il San Pietro Di
Hotel San Pietro Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing