We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but lacking a few of the "Luxury hotel" amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but lacking a few of the "Luxury hotel" amenities”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We enjoyed 5 nights at the Villa Gabrisa which is advertised as a luxury hotel. The accommodations were very clean and nice while the people were very friendly and helpful. I felt it fell short of being a luxury hotel in the following:
The bed was a double mattress on a spring bed. When my wife or I moved in bed we heard and
"enjoyed" the other's movements.
The bathroom and shower were quite small and crowded.
Our room was on the first floor, above the ground floor, and had quite a bit of street noise.
Perhaps my concerns are "normal" for the older buildings in this area.

Nevertheless, the view was fantastic. We hiked all through Positano, made it to Pompei, Capri and the Walk of the Gods. Enjoy the area, we certainly did.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kcswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obiondo, Owner at Hotel Villa Gabrisa, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks a lot for sharing your experience. We are very happy that you stayed here with us and we hope we could have you as our guests again in the future. Our hotel is improving every year and from 10 years that more than once we made radically changes in it but as a very old and historic building of the historic center of town our possibilities are quiet limited. In any case the whole building is made and fixed by local artisans, exactly for keep the original style and beauty. The same regarding the furniture’s which are produced and hand crafted by Italian luxury design companies. Regarding the beds, we offer the standard double bed for the regular rooms and the higher size for the suites. In any case due to the room size we can’t offer larger sizes at moment but we are in the plan of modified the room furniture’s to allow bigger beds in the suites. We hope that you could come and see our new changes which some of them would be available from this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    92
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
55
429
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay with a beautiful view of the sea and mountains. Leyla was lovely and has great knowledge of the local wines two night we had a snack in the wine bar, great cheese platter!
Thank you for making our holiday special why would you want to go anywhere else.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obiondo, Owner at Hotel Villa Gabrisa, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks a lot from us all for staying here with us. We are happy to hear that our staff made your stay special. We are waiting to serve you more wine and food on your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in October. It was our base, and perfectly situated for exploring the Amalfi Coast, from Sorento to Capri, to Salerno and Paestum. All were easy day excusions from Positano.

The Villa Gabrisa is a family run, boutique hotel. Robyn the owner/manager, her daughter and the entire staff do an outstanding job of making you feel welcomed and "at home". They are very helpful with everything from directions and recomendations, to where to park and how to get around town.

Our room was spacious, well appointed and had a lovely terrace overlooking the town and the sea. A very nice continental breakfast was included each morning, either in the interior restaurant or with a most spectaular view, from the outdoor tables just across the road. The sunrise, the view of the town, the sea, the multi-colored bougainvillea, all combined to create one of the most romantic settings to enjoy any meal. The food was very good.

I would not hesitate to recommend Villa Gabrisa to anyone. I can only hope that we will have additional opportunities to return to Positano. When we do, I assure you that Robyn and the Villa Gabrisa will be our host. Thank you for amost wonderful and romantic stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldmanbob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Gabrisa in late July last summer. Even though it was incredibly hot out, in the evening were cool and comfortable in our lovely air conditioned room. The view from our balcony was gorgeous!

The restaurant served delicious meals, we liked it so much, that we ate there both evenings. One of the best aspects of the hotel is that it is a family run business, and the staff is very warm and welcoming. We especially were impressed by the hospitality of Leyla, who worked both in the hotel and the restaurant.

The only concern we had with our stay was that we were in the small attic room, and my tall husband hit his head a couple of times on the low door frame; but once inside the room, we were fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deidra789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay. The view is great, the rooms are charming and the food was good but best of all were the friendly and helpful family that runs the place, especially Leyla. We felt like family for the week!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mvaliton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

II was staying at this hotel with my daughter and wife for one week and we really could not choose a better place. Villa Gabrisa was really for us. Very beautiful and quiet room, with antic Italian furniture , with all comforts and of course the view! The view is making you dreaming while you are awake!:) We had a nice breakfast, italian style, with choice of pastries , cakes, yogurts and ect. Mostly I loved the coffee there, as it was very delicate and aromatic.
I have seen the pictures of it in the internet, but to see it with your own eyes is something incredible!The family, who running this place is very attentive and warm and have made us feel like part of their big italian family:)we can't wait to return in that magical place.

Room Tip: Book it before as it's a small hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zurab G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obiondo, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Gabrisa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks a lot for sharing your experience and staying here with us, we are really happy that your enjoyed our hotel and our family suite. All our family can’t wait to have you all here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a wonderful view, very impressively sized rooms but two things let it down. The first was breakfast being incredibly average and considering how much you pay per night for the room we would expect a little more effort being out into the breakfast service - no toast, no cooked eggs apart from hard boiled. The second being the room was noisy at times, particularly in the morning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Julianne9734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obiondo, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Gabrisa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thanks a lot for sharing your experience. I would like to give just a little note about our hotel and service. Every year we make small changes for give more comfort to our guests and some of them are chosen in base of direct guests request. At the moment we have been serving a continental breakfast which includes orange and pineapple juice, fresh bread rolls, fresh croissants and mini pastries, fresh baked cake, sliced cold cuts and cheeses, fresh fruit, fruit salad, boiled eggs, a choice of cereals, a choice of yogurts and coffee or tea. Till now has been always served as a buffet and there is no charge for it, in fact is free for all our hotel guests and doesn’t influence the room price. From this summer we will add some more meals to our buffet, which are more of an English breakfast. You stayed in one of our suites but we do have also other room types which you could be interested so, if you would like, you could keep in touch with us and we could inform you about our improvements and different room types.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
944 reviews
0.0 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gabrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gabrisa

Property: Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Address: Via Pasitea, 219/227, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Family Hotel in Positano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Gabrisa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a residential area, in the heart of Positano, there is located the ancient building which guests the hotel Villa Gabrisa, an elegant and refined hotel owned by the Rispoli family. The careful choice of each detail, just like Murano chandeliers or Capodimonte ceramics, makes every room special and the hotel's privileged position, just few minute walk from the beaches, wraps it in a fairytale atmosphere that every guest can feel it from each room balcony or terrace, which overlooks the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Gabrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gabrisa Hotel Positano
Gabrisa Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing