We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Actually”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Villa Gabrisa for three nights and we absolutely loved every bit of it. The room was beautiful and spacious; the view from the balcony was spectacular; staff was friendly and helpful (and all speak very good English); restaurant food was delicious (and you get 10% discount on food as a hotel guest); bus stop is right outside of the hotel; minibar item prices are very reasonable; high end shampoo/conditioner/shower gel/lotion (all from LOCCITANE). If I ever come back to Positano again, I will definitely stay at Hotel Villa Gabrisa :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pingpong2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights on our honeymoon and had an unforgettable experience.
Upon check-in we were upgraded to the amazing honeymoon suite which overlooks the beautiful town on Positano. The room was very large with a small balcony and a very large bathroom.
The hotel has a small number of rooms and a beautiful restaurant overlooking the bay which I recommend dinning at.
The hotel is located half way up the town and is quite a walk up many stairs away from the beach but the views make it very worthwhile.
The staff were very friendly and very helpful during our stay.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting stay in a good value hotel in Positano.

Room Tip: Room service dinner on the balcony of the honeymoon suite overlooking the bay of Positano is unforge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rhettro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Positano is a very pretty town and staying in this hotel made our experience delightful. Halfway up or down depending on your point of view Villa Gabrisa is well placed to enjoy the spectacular views. Only 9 rooms here but still quite busy due to the restaurant. Room 1 on the first floor has a large lounge that flows into a good size bedroom and then a small balcony with chairs and table. Plenty of room to unpack your bags with furniture that creates a classy, rustic, Italian feel.
Very friendly and helpful staff make the stay more comfortable and relaxed. When there were power issues in the town we were kept informed and later that day when there was no hot water the staff acted quickly to rectify it. Extra details like towels for the beach, l'occitane toiletries, local produce,Italian craft beers and little appetisers at dinner show they are trying really hard.
The bathroom in our room functioned well but the quality of the fittings and cleanliness could be improved. It probably is due an upgrade.
We ate each night at the restaurant as the food was good and service excellent. Besides we couldn't be bothered walking too far for dinner after covering a far amount of ground and steps (615 from the beach back up to the hotel) during the day. Sitting at the tables on the wall is great once you get used to the fact that the one way road goes between you and the restaurant.
We would definitely recommend both Positano and Villa Gabrisa to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzfamilyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here after Amalfi, and found the views just as great. Town layout is a myriad of looping roads and steps, then more steps, but all worth it. We had room 4 which had a lovely large veranda and splendid sea views. All the staff were welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Operated by the entire family Villa Gabrisa offered very helpful stuff , great meals and spacey clean and nicely furnished rooms . We had a balcony with a great view over the lower part of Positano and the adjacent Ocean . Would come back in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyingplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Gabrisa for 3 nights and immediately upon arrival were warmly welcomed. We were also very excited and surprised to be upgraded to a full terrace room on the top floor. We had a full unobstructed view of Positano and the sea. in the morning we relaxed for a few moments before going to breakfast (full complimentary breakfast with the most amazing cappuccinos I've ever had!) and at night with a glass of wine watching the lights and just listening to the night.
They have a restaurant on the main floor and across the road they have set up tables so you are able to enjoy your breakfast while enjoying the view. (It is on the main road, so you do have to be a bit cautious of the cars. They take the right of way.)
They had a wonderful breakfast with fresh fruit, croissants, small heart shape cream puffs (my favorite), assorted yogurts, cereals, meats and cheeses to name a few.
The room is large and beautifully designed with a small sitting area and it has a mini bar. Just down the road Is a grocery store that offers everything from wine to fresh deli foods. We found a wonderful local Italian wine for 10 euros that we would chill and enjoy on the balcony each evening.
It's an easy walk to the center of town. Be aware though that there are A LOT of steps! If you get tired of the steps, like we did a few times, we just walked the winding road down to the beach and town. I liked this as there were some small boutiques that had amazing authentic and locally made products. You can also take the local bus for about 2euros pp, but the bus is hot and except for our arrival to go to the hotel for the first time, we chose to walk everywhere. The hotel has a limited amount of bus tickets each day, so check with them. You have to pre-purchase the tickets. Upon arrival, make sure to have cash as they have valets to take your luggage to your hotel. It's 8E per bag. They are very fast, so no worries about that. The bus stop to the hotels is at the top of the stairs by the church and the bakery across from the bus stop sells the tickets.
One thing you will notice when you are in Positano is the beautiful and rich smell of lemons everywhere! There are shops everywhere that sell everything "lemon". We purchased Limoncello, hand-blown glass Limoncello serving glasses and ceramics with lemon designs. They pack everything very well for travel. Everything is in walking distance. We ate at some of the highest rates restaurants (we didn't know until we came home and read the reviews) and the service at each and everyone was incredible. They made you feel as if you were the only guests at the restaurant!
We will definitely go back again!!
Tip: When going to the beach, bring water socks! The beach is rocky and the rocks get very hot and burn the bottom of your feet and they hurt!! I ruined a very good pair of sandals trying to walk the beach. There is a charge to use those orange and blue beach chairs you see in the pictures. It's normally 12Euros for the day, but we found that if you go to the lifeguard and pay him, you can get it for about 8 euros per person by paying him cash. Bring ice water! Drinks on the beach are approx. 20 euros, so plan for that. You can bring your own, but make sure it's in plastic as they will take away any glass bottles. Bring a lot of sunscreen, even though you have umbrellas for shade, it still gets hot.

(Also, one of my favorite things about the hotel: They have L'Occitane products in the bathroom. The sizes are very generous and the smell is intoxicating!)

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a view of the sea, so there really is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klynnega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Came here with my wife. The view from this hotel took our breath away!
Rooms were smaller than anticipated, but all hotels in Positano are supposed to be small due to the restriction on building anything in the old part of the town after it became a UNESCO Heritage site. The views come at a price - there are a lot of steps to and from the town square and two beaches which are all approx a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Wouldn't recommend this hotel for people with mobility issues, but would definitely recommend it otherwise.
The front desk was awesome. They helped us and guided us throughout our stay - our day excursion to the Isle of Capri, going to see the villas at Ravello a nearby village with even better views than Positano as well as getting around Positano was all suggested and guided by the front desk.
The food and wine choice at the restaurant in the hotel (located on the walkway across the street, with a view to kill for) was absolutely fantastic. All the food is sort of home made as the owners run this place. Breakfast was great as well.

I would recommend this hotel strongly to everyone who wouldn't mind a bit of walking. But then again if you have issues with walking around, don't go to Positano as the entire town is on a mountain slope.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rachit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
906 reviews
0.0 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 38 in Positano
636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gabrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gabrisa

Address: Via Pasitea, 219/227, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#9 Family Hotel in Positano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £121 - £536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Gabrisa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a residential area, in the heart of Positano, there is located the ancient building which guests the hotel Villa Gabrisa, an elegant and refined hotel owned by the Rispoli family. The careful choice of each detail, just like Murano chandeliers or Capodimonte ceramics, makes every room special and the hotel's privileged position, just few minute walk from the beaches, wraps it in a fairytale atmosphere that every guest can feel it from each room balcony or terrace, which overlooks the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Gabrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gabrisa Hotel Positano
Gabrisa Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing