We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something missing from an excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Posa Posa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Posa Posa
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a room with a huge balcony with a commanding view of the coast. Everything is very good, the staff, the food and the quality of the rooms but there is no information in the rooms about the hotel. With such a beautiful balcony it would have been perfect to be able to have dinner on our balcony instead of the (very good also with fine views) restaurant.
The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful and the food is very good.
Our room was large and well appointed. Pity no bath robes though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royvocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Posa Posa hotel for 3nights on Aug 29th. Upon check in we were upgraded to a larger room with the most incredible view and large balcony. (I miss it) The staff were so friendly and eager to make our stay comfortable. The room was very clean and most importantly our bed was comfortable. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk down to the main beach and Porte. I would recommend not taking the stairs as this is harder and not as fun as walking down from the streets. It was fun walking into all the shops. We walked back one time up all the stairs ( a good work out) but opted for the bus on other days. this stops right at the hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here again but would request my room with the large balcony and fantastic view of Positano.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the top floor with large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have been at the Posa Posa for 3 nights. though staff was very friendy our room had the 'feature' of being built in the rock----> damp smell all over. plus just above the shower there as like some sort of cave making it humid and cold. maybe if we got another room.... pro: huge terrace. prices for the bar were expensive for what you get really, 9,50€ por a spritz is way too much. anyway, have to say staff was very friendly, place was clean,

Room Tip: try not to get the rocky rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

From the very start, I could tell that this was going to be a great experience. From Theresa at the front desk to Giuseppe our maitre d, we always felt welcome. GREAT VIEWS! Clean Rooms and an attentive staff make for a relaxing vacation. And the restaurant, Mirage, in Posa Posa was fantastic.
We were tired when we got to the hotel and decided to try the hotel's restaurant as we weren't in the mood to explore Positano after travelling for 14 hours. In fact, the food and service were sooo good, that we went back to celebrate my wife's birthday - three days later - generally, we don't go back to the same restaurant when we are on vacation, but we had to make an exception. The other restaurants in Positano were good, but at Mirage we felt that we got better food and better service (and did I mention a better view) than in the restaurants that were way busier. Hats off to Giuseppe and Lucia for helping me make my wife's birthday a memorable evening.

Room Tip: Definately want to stay on floors 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Hotel was clean and tidy the staff were all friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel especially the Mirage restaurant was as good as anything we ate in Positano very good standard.

The room was large enough bigger than most european hotels of this style. yes it was a little chintzy but that is normal for this kind of hotel and location.

There are several ways to get down to the beach all take between 10 and 20 mins depending on walking pace and all are nice walks.

The bus stop is right outside although we only used it once on arrival with our cases. Everywhere else in Positano is easily reachable on foot.

Yes the internet should be free for that price it cost us 20.00E

The real stars of the show and the hotel were Giuseppe and Lucia in the Mirage restaurant
They treated me and my wife like one of the family chatted to us gave us advice on what to do and see in the local area told us stories and generally made us laugh they were absolutely fantastic and genuine characters.

The other star was of course the view :)

We loved our stay and we would go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_Reddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If you are looking for a great hotel in Positano- look no further! Not only is the vue superb- the breakfast and dinner is buono! We were a party of three women and the space was perfect, we never got in each other's way. All the staff were professional and very warm, especially Giuseppi! I will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corinne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Small hotel with amazing views and a good location (relative to some other hotels) but the concierge services are terrible.

Giuseppe, runs the bar/restaurant and shows the guests around the hotel is terrific. But the front desk people were so unhelpful. We generally rely on the concierge for restaurant suggestions and the like but here they refused to suggest restaurants for us just promoting their own restaurant and day activities they were getting kickbacks from.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lostwallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#25 of 38 in Positano
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.3 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posa Posa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posa Posa

Address: Via Pasitea 165, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £118 - £887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Posa Posa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star historical Hotel Posa Posa has a splendid location in the center of Positano, set in the mountain-side descending to the sea. Dècor is romantic and original, with hand painted tiling and Mediterranean colours on white backgrounds throughout the hotel room's. All the rooms, anyone different from another, are elegantly furnished and have the best comforts such as: air conditioning (heating), satellite TV, direct dial telephone, minibar, en-suite bathrooms with shower or jacuzzi and hairdryer.At the 4th level, with a wonderful panoramic view, the Restaurant Mirage. The best dishes of the regional or internation cuisine are always available. The restaurant also has a wonderful terrace overlooking the bay of Positano. It can be used for a romantic marriage.By the Restaurant there is a Bar, where you can taste cocktails and wines listening relaxing music.On the 7th floor there is a wonderful solarium with plange pool eneficial suntan.Only 20 meters there is the parking place, watched over 24hrs, not included in the cost of the hotel.A few minutes walk downhill will take you to the beach, passing boutiques and panoramic pavement cafes along the way. A circular bus routes passes outside the hotel for those days when you might prefer not to walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posa Posa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing