We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Posa Posa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Posa Posa
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Recently returned from a 7 night stay at Hotel Posa Posa:

The Good:
- 4-star service by Guiseppe
- view from hotel room and terrace was gorgeous
- great location, near several good restaurants

The Average:
- morning breakfast had good selection, decent cappuccino
- room was typical size for Italy
- clean overall
- short walk DOWN hundreds of stairs to beach

The Ugly:
- hotel pool area unkempt and misrepresented on website
- short walk UP from beach - that is, UP hundreds of stairs
- our room's shower needed a serious re-caulking and re-grouting - mold staining issues +++, don't expect this at $300 per night
- room next to elevator was extremely noisy - at times it sounded like there was a bowling alley over our heads, had to sleep with earplugs

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    114
    55
    27
    18
See reviews for
109
184
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Almost everything exceeded my expectations about Posa Posa. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful--Daniela at the front desk was perfect. The setting was amazing and convenient (quiet little bus stop right out front, no schlepping of luggage). The room was absolutely lovely. Guiseppe and Lucia are gems--fun and warm. And the food and service in the restaurant was excellent; one of the best meals I've had in Italy for dinner. Posa Posa is terrific. I would go back and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPFisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stay here for a romantic feel and friendly staff.

Giuseppe was a wonderful host and provided the top hospitality for our entire stay. Always friendly and accomodating any request we had. Angelo provided a gret room with a wonderful balcony and view.

We will definately look forward to coming back to Posa Posa soon and to say that we were very satisfied is an understatement. Great location for transportation, the room was better than we could have imagined and wonderful food was a bonus. I would recommend Posa Posa to any of my family and friends.

Quick hint, Call or email Angelo for any special requests on room or views, etc. Awesome staff and facility with a great value too - "GRAZI Tanto !"

Room Tip: Call ahead or email for any special request to Angelo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

4 night stay here was one of the better hotels in our trip through Italy.

Had good service from staff in hotel and made to feel welcome, buffet breakfast was also to Italian standard and fresh.

Try and get rooms on 5 or 6 floor for amazing sea views. With the views however keep in mind this hotel is some 750metres from beach up hill. Either you like walking up stairs
or tip you can use the local bus.

Avoid rooms with rocks, ie room 601 as has a damp smell which is quiet unpleasant.

All in all would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayrod22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our visit to Positano was highlighted by our experience at the Posa Posa, a great locaion half way up the hillside of Positano with a great view of the mountains, small village and expansive Mediterranean Sea. We had dinner there twice at the restaurant on the upper floor with sunrise views at breakfast and sunset views in the evening, Giuseppe, the Maitre'd, was exceptional and our conversations with him and his attentiveness were highlights of our stay. Ask him to make you a perfect Manhattan. The staff made our stay and Daniela was on duty most of the time we were there. We also enjoyed Maria-Teresa as well, though we saw her less. Daniela is very friendly and like Giuseppi, speaks English very well. We think the location and service are outstanding. We recommend this property to anyone who appreciates attentive staff and a great location.

Room Tip: We loved our room and the view. It was a coolish time of year so we didn't use the pool but ate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFeMan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The balcony has a great view of the bay. The hotel is built right next to the mountain - check out the bar which has the actual mountain for the back wall. It is only 550 vertical steps down to the beach, with all sorts of great restaurants shops along the way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Such a beautiful city, and what a gorgeous hotel with a magnificent view. The room was spacious, we were a family of 4, gorgeous antique furniture. The floor had gorgeous blue tiles that felt like the see. The concierge was warm and welcoming. The breakfast was top, everybody was happy to help. The views were exquisite.

The hotel is higher up in the hill, so it is a bit of a walk down and up. But because of this we got to experience the whole town and all the charming stores, hidden views and sweet smelling flowers.

Top tip: as you enter,each parking lot will have the names of the hotels, park at the one with your hotel name. Posa Posa's parking is just above it, easy access. They will keep your keys, and keep the car ready for you when you specify you want to leave.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank skhondker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.9 mi away
I Giardini dei sensi
I Giardini dei sensi
#25 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Positano
Hotel Royal Positano
#38 of 39 in Positano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posa Posa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posa Posa

Property: Hotel Posa Posa
Address: Via Pasitea 165, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Posa Posa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star historical Hotel Posa Posa has a splendid location in the center of Positano, set in the mountain-side descending to the sea. Dècor is romantic and original, with hand painted tiling and Mediterranean colours on white backgrounds throughout the hotel room's. All the rooms, anyone different from another, are elegantly furnished and have the best comforts such as: air conditioning (heating), satellite TV, direct dial telephone, minibar, en-suite bathrooms with shower or jacuzzi and hairdryer.At the 4th level, with a wonderful panoramic view, the Restaurant Mirage. The best dishes of the regional or internation cuisine are always available. The restaurant also has a wonderful terrace overlooking the bay of Positano. It can be used for a romantic marriage.By the Restaurant there is a Bar, where you can taste cocktails and wines listening relaxing music.On the 7th floor there is a wonderful solarium with plange pool eneficial suntan.Only 20 meters there is the parking place, watched over 24hrs, not included in the cost of the hotel.A few minutes walk downhill will take you to the beach, passing boutiques and panoramic pavement cafes along the way. A circular bus routes passes outside the hotel for those days when you might prefer not to walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Posa Posa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing