We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and not too far up the hill, friendly, quiet, and roomy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Posa Posa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Posa Posa
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
251 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great views and not too far up the hill, friendly, quiet, and roomy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

All the pictures you see of hotel Posa Posa become your reality upon check-in, no risk of the photos you see being a disappointing let down as can easily be the case when looking and booking online.

The staff spoke English very well and were all very friendly. We booked a quad room with balcony that had a great view over Positano to the sea. The room was very clean with a large bathroom. It was tastefully decorated, quiet, and airconditioned. It was also roomy considering we had four adults in it. There is also a lift.

There was free wireless internet but not in the room, you had to go to one of the common areas.

Breakfast was included in our room price and was a buffet style with cereal, bread/pastries, cheeses, cold meats, yogurts, juices and fresh fruit. The coffee however was not as good as you can get at a local bar. Overall though, an excellent breakfast.

The hotel is located up the hill but not at the very top. Walking to the shopping and beach area takes about 20-25 minutes; but it is all downhill and an interesting walk through residential areas and little alleyways etc. The walk back takes longer as it is uphill however stopping to take photos and admiring the view helps break up the journey.

There are plenty of restaurants only a couple of minutes walk down the hill; all great food and service. We also one night at the terrace restauant at the hotel; the food was good, but a little expensive compared to eating at a one of the local restaurants. However the view is magnificent and you don't really get as clear view from the street restaurants.

The hotel also arranged our car transfer from Naples plus our tour to Capri, all very easy with no problems at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillDanze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    116
    56
    27
    18
See reviews for
112
186
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

As you enter Positano, Posa Posa is on the "higher" end, well before you hit the center of town. It's also on the side of the hill, not dead center. This means that the views, especially from the restaurant, are of both the town and the sea. Views from the rooms (all but one have balconies) are a little more subjective. You want a higher floor, preferably 5 or 6 (the restaurant is on 4). You also want a higher number room, say 505, vs. 501 as they provide a better sea view. I dare say you wouldn't be able to see the sea from 301. Naturally, the rooms with better views are priced higher. A little research led us to request and receive room 502, the "best" of the double superior rooms (which is their lowest grade). You take the elevator to the fourth floor and then another elevator or one flight of stairs to the fifth. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable. I strongly suspect most or all were family members. You can drive to Posa Posa and stop in front of the hotel. Make arrangements through them for a garage and they'll have the car picked up. That's good for the first time, but the garage is about 20m up the street across from the hotel so we just walked back and forth. Breakfasts were plentiful though relatively basic. Dinner was nice under the stars...get a table with a view should weather permit. If you leave your windows open for air, you're likely to pick up some morning noises; not a big deal. The walk to town, down the sloping via Pasitea, isn't too strenuous and you'll pass several restaurants (we tried a few ... all good to very good). Walk back up is a little harder. There are also stairs to the smaller beach...we walked down and then the beach walk around to the major beach and shops/restaurants. I don't know if I'd want to venture those 400+ stairs back up.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottG_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We were taking a honey moon in April 2009 and booked Posa Posa for 3 nights. We showed up and the bedroom looked out onto the beautiful landscape, but to our complete dismay, there was a jackhammer running just below our window. The staff said that they could not help us even find out when the jackhammer would end! We told them that we would need to leave if it continued to be a problem. It finally ended around 7pm. We hoped it would be over but awoke the next morning to the jackhammer starting up at 7am!!! In ITALY! We couldn't believe it. We told the staff we were checking out early but they refused to refund our next night's stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyMillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Great room very clean and awesome view on the bay. We were 4 in the room and had lots of room. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Lots of stairs to get back to the hotel at night. Be ready for a health walk or just take the bus for 1.40euros.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

There aren't enough words to describe this hotel. Our stay here was absolutely amazing! The location is fabulous, the staff could not have been nicer, and the rooms are beautiful. Every floor of this hotel has the most beautiful tile work. The rooms were clean and spacious. We came with friends and got the half board package. We ate the meals outside overlooking the town. We could not believe how wonderful the food was for the price we paid. Both dinner and breakfast were extremely delicious and generous. Our younger daughter felt sick (due to exhaustion) during dinner and the waiter offered to keep my husband's dinner warm in the kitchen, eventhough we never told him why they left. We traded taking care of my daughter and when my husband came back to the room, the waiter had fixed dessert for us to eat in the room. We have stayed in some amazing hotels and I have to say that we all wished we could have stayed longer at Hotel Posa Posa.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monijeffcarljenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

On arrival we were made to feel welcome and wanted, our chosen room was not avaliable for our first night but they insisted we would be moved the following day which they did. The room was clean and comfortable but the walls were a little thin (noise) yet however this was not a problem. The staff on reception recomended and gave us lots of advice about the area, they also helped to organise bookings for us. The waiters in the restaraunt were a delight and very attentive.
Would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halpal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

Positano and Hotel Posa Posa was the highlight of our 7 week European holiday in Italy, France and Switzerland. We had a Junior Suite which was a great price with Breakfast and we had an awesome 5 night stay. The staff were pleasant and helpful when we asked (and spoke great English) an the Restaurant has excellent views over some of Positano and out to the Ocean - A view which you could never get tired of. As our room was a Jnr. Suite it was a good size and had a great balcony with views.
We will definitely be going back to Positano and would stay at Hotel Posa Posa again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapesandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#27 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#39 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Positano
Hotel Royal Positano
#38 of 39 in Positano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posa Posa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posa Posa

Property: Hotel Posa Posa
Address: Via Pasitea 165, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Posa Posa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star historical Hotel Posa Posa has a splendid location in the center of Positano, set in the mountain-side descending to the sea. Dècor is romantic and original, with hand painted tiling and Mediterranean colours on white backgrounds throughout the hotel room's. All the rooms, anyone different from another, are elegantly furnished and have the best comforts such as: air conditioning (heating), satellite TV, direct dial telephone, minibar, en-suite bathrooms with shower or jacuzzi and hairdryer.At the 4th level, with a wonderful panoramic view, the Restaurant Mirage. The best dishes of the regional or internation cuisine are always available. The restaurant also has a wonderful terrace overlooking the bay of Positano. It can be used for a romantic marriage.By the Restaurant there is a Bar, where you can taste cocktails and wines listening relaxing music.On the 7th floor there is a wonderful solarium with plange pool eneficial suntan.Only 20 meters there is the parking place, watched over 24hrs, not included in the cost of the hotel.A few minutes walk downhill will take you to the beach, passing boutiques and panoramic pavement cafes along the way. A circular bus routes passes outside the hotel for those days when you might prefer not to walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posa Posa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing