We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Reginella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Reginella
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The location of this hotel is really good, its a lovely walk down the road to the town or just across from the hotel there are steps straight down to the beach. The staff were helpful and friendly and they took care of our car without any hassle. A good choice overall, basic room with no fridge or english tv, but good breakfast and beautiful sea view and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanty888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    106
    13
    8
    1
See reviews for
111
230
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PERTH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We (family of four) were led to a three bedroom suite along a thing patio above/near the hotel but breakfast was supplied in the hotel. It was thus well above the road with unobstructed views. It had a kitchenette and washing machine.
Positano is built into a cliff. If you come by ferry it is lots of steps or wheeling your bag the 10 minutes gradually up hill to the hotel (consider the baggage service). The hotel is on the one way road that loops down into town so the bus drives past it. If you miss the hotel it is easy enough to walk back from the terminus. If walking from the ferry it gets interesting as the path/alleys/road all look the same on tourist maps where as google maps will give you an better idea ....you are technically 150m from the water but that road sure needs to wind a long way to get up to the hotel. Happily many of the day trippers will tire before coming this far so the business up here are a little better value for money than too near the port/beach

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank benandlara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pitt meadows
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed 4 nights and it was not enough. The owner and his family were very friendly and welcoming, they were helpful and suggested restaurants for us providing a discount for us at certain ones. This hotel is only a quick walk to the beach and is perfectly situated so that you can spend hours on your patio just taking in the Mediterranean. Breakfasts were great, coffee excellent and a very relaxed and enjoyable ambiance permeated the hotel. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmacpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a nice stay overall at Hotel Reginella. The view from our room was magical, truly from a storybook, however I think there could be some improvements made to make it the perfect stay.

Our bathroom in particular was a bit shabby and could have done with some improvement. Air con worked OK but didn't get super cool. We noticed that room service would turn it off when they came to make the beds. Breakfast was nice, we did have better quality elsewhere but I may be a bit picky! Front desk service was nice and helpful but not overly warm.

Location wise, there are long sets of stairs right across the road to get down to the main town and beach- it's a charming and easy walk down. On the way back up, I suggest you walk along the road as it's less tiring - just be careful and walk on the side as cars, bikes and buses will be zooming past. Expect an approx 10 min walk back up.

There is a lovely traditional deli close by and little shops. The smell of lemons in Positano is amazing and keep a look out for massive rockmelon sized lemons! Food can be a hit or miss in Positano, depending on where you go and will be expensive either way, I can't recommend the Da Gabrisa restaurant enough! Amazing family run restaurant- it's about a 10 min walk further up the cliff from the hotel, the view and food is worth it! Be sure to make a reservation though and ask for a table with view!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dalmatinka_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had three fantastic days at the Reginella! Our room was on the top floor and with no lift you need to be prepared to walk....but that is Positano....lots of stairs
The view was brilliant looking back across the beach, the church and out to sea. The breakfast is continental but nice and the rooms are roomy with a great balcony.
Close by is several great restaurants so you don't need to "go down the hill"
Tony organised our scooters which were great and picked up from literally across the road
My best tip stay 5 nights not 3

Room Tip: Must go the high floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nash517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our hosts could not have been more accommodating, they assisted with special deals with nearby restaurants, had a great breakfast, had many bars, restaurants and cafe's nearby. The view from our room was spectacular, we will be back for sure!

Room Tip: be sure to get an ocean facing room with patio!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jmacpitt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here with Nada's Italy tours in October and loved it. The hotel has a great location. It is convenient to town and has great restaurants downstairs. The people that work there are very accommodating. The breakfast staff and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful. Our favorite feature was having a terrace with a great view!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules56830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reginella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reginella

Property: Hotel Reginella
Address: Via Pasitea 154, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reginella 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Reginella is a typical Mediterranean building situated in the heart of Positano. The hotel is surrounded by the most spectacular landscape of the Amalfi Coast, with the characteristic houses perched along the mountainside. La Reginella, whilst boasting stunning views, is also very convenient for the unique local shops. The beach can be reached easily on foot by a walk along the small road which passes the hotel. If you prefer, you could take the steps, the famous "Scalinatella longa, longa, longa..." of the world-famous Neapolitan song, which bring you to Positano’s beach and squares within five minutes. The large rooms, double, triple, and quadruple, are all complete with private bathrooms, air conditioning, central heating, TV, and balconies, and have a fantastic view. The balconies of all rooms overlook Positano's "Spiaggia delle Sirene," the sea, and the wonderful landscape of the Amalfi Coast. Most rooms have a bathroom decorated with the colourful tiles from Vietri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Reginella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing