We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run B&B with excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence La Tavolozza
Ranked #19 of 54 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We just came back from a week-long vacation at Amalfi coast. Stayed 3 nights in Positano at La Tavolozza - definitely a highlight of our vacation. This B&B is very good value for money, very clean, and most importantly extremely friendly & helpful owners (family-run). We had the "pink room" which is located at the lowest floor but still offers a sea-view + mountain view and had a nice little terrace where you can enjoy a glass of wine or a breakfast. Great location (just 50m from a private garage if you are travelling by car like we did), literally 20 meters from steps that will take you to the main beach (Spiaggia Grande) by taking a very pleasant walk via streets with many cafes, shops etc. The smaller Fornillo beach (which we preferred) is 5 mins walk from the Spiaggia grande, all easily reachable by foot. I can easily recommend this B&B to everyone and will be looking to stay again next time we travel to Positano.

Room Tip: We had the pink room at the "bottom" floor so the views are not the best but it still offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juraj Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Just spent five days at La Tavolozza and took the best memories ever. The staff there is a friendly family with the daughter in charge of management and la Mamma and Nonna supporting her in everything. Also the sister and brother are all very helpful. Don't forget little Chiara, the future owner of the place. Amazing views, cozy rooms, excellent a/c. A MUST at the Amalfi Coast!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeBaSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The operators of LA Tavolozza are a wonderful family that takes pride in hospitality. Located just up the hill from the beach, it is clean, laid back, and a real value with an amazing view. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse is very well run, very friendly, and clean, affordable and close to everything.

As well as being operated like a good hotel, the breakfasts are lovely if you choose them.

It's also run by a family who will make you feel more than welcome, lend you books, give you directions and be generally lovely.
I urge you to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMacA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights the first week of June. We had the "lilac room" which I think is room 1. At 100 euros a night, it looked to be the least expensive room in the residence and was an excellent value. The room was of average size, not big but not too small, and had an en-suite bathroom with a shower only. The beds were two twins next to each other, not a double. The tiles on the floor of the room and on the walls of the bathroom are pretty and cheerful in color. The private balcony was good-sized with wonderful views of the town and sea, the same views as the very expensive Hotel Sirenuse two doors down. The room was very clean. You might want to bring your own bath soap, though, (as we always do) because the soaps that were provided were tiny. The towels were good-sized, not the thin and small like one sometimes gets with some B&B's. Also, there was no hair conditioner provided, only shampoo. The location of the residence is perfect - just a few meters down from the bus stop and close to the shops and restaurants toward the beach, and the ferry point of departure. We even walked to the restaurants on the main road. Breakfast was not lavish; we opted for the 4E coffee and croissant (which were delicious) because we thought the full continental breakfast was not worth the 11 euros price tag (coffee, croissant, orange juice, rolls, jam and jelly). As for the family that owns and operates the place, it would be hard to find a friendlier and more helpful family. Celeste (the mom) and her sister (Teresa) were so warm. Francesca (the daughter) was very helpful in all her communications with me during the reservations process. She recommended a wonderful taxi driver (Sergio Rianna) who transported us from Naples to the residence and then back to Naples at the of our stay for a very reasonable price. We loved our stay at Residence la Tavolozza and would recommend it without hesitation to anyone staying in lovely Positano.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms had terraces instead of balconies but our balcony had more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supermom94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

thanks to all the staff celeste, francesca and paulo for the great time we had when we were in positano ending our 17 day stay in italy back in september 14-17,2012. we decided to rent here instead of a high end hotel because we had friends recommend this place to us. the accomodations were better than most hotels with a spacious room ( the red room) with ample storage that also had a lovely large balcony facing the ocean overlooking the small bay. we had breakfast on the balcony most mornings at an added cost which was minimal. the views we had enjoying the morning sun were stunning and looking at the tiny town at night was amazing. the beach area was a short 5 -8 min walk from our room. the staff in most of the shops down to the beach area were always friendly greeting you daily when you passed through. I would highly reccomend this B&B to all who are looking for a nice spot to settle be it 2 days or longer. it would be safe to say that the family runs an exceptional establishment with everyone looking out for you and all your needs. thanks again

Room Tip: if you can get a room with a balcony overlooking the bay you will not be dissapointed we had the red...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iceman1wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We enjoyed out stay in this lovely town, in this fabulous "residence." Some of the rooms have wonderful views, ours had a small view. The mom and family who ran the place could not have been more welcoming and wonderful. They even helped us locate the tunnel between Amalfi and Atrani when they learned we planned to walk from the Amalfi ferry. Positano is spectaular and has the most lovely women's clothes I have ever seen. Lots to do and explore. The Residence could use more comfortable seating on the patios and in the rooms, otherwise A+++++

Room Tip: Upper rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
#23 of 38 in Positano
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marincanto
Hotel Marincanto
#12 of 38 in Positano
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 38 in Positano
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 38 in Positano
761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#7 of 38 in Positano
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Tavolozza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Tavolozza

Address: Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: £102 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residence La Tavolozza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Tavolozza Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing