We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Positano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence La Tavolozza
Ranked #14 of 48 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection in Positano”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Tavolozza on our honeymoon. I picked all our hotels based on tripadvisor reviews, so I just wanted to add one more excellent review for Celeste, Francesca, and Paola, to encourage everyone else reading to stay here! You seriously cannot get a better deal for your money. The rooms are amazing, the location can't be beat, and these lovely women are so lovely and helpful! We stayed in the grey room our first night (beautiful partial view, chairs on terrace) and I forget which room we moved to for the second night. The grey room felt nice and removed from everyone. When we moved, we could not believe the jaw dropping view we had. The room's focal point is an entire wall of windowed doors that open up to the terrace. You sit in the kitchen and just feel like you are outside! The only con for this room was that the bathroom, although private, was down a hallway. And also, you can hear the people in the room next door. But it mattered very little. We were so thrilled with our stay and the incredible family that runs this place!

Room Tip: Grey room is isolated but has less of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    21
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
148
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We knew that going to Positano would be the splurge of our trip but we found a true gem by staying at La Tavolozza. It's on one of the main streets in town and is situated so that you overlook Santa Maria Assunta Church and have incredible panoramic views of the city. We switched rooms during our stay due to availability but it gave us the best of both worlds. Our first room (Lilac) was spacious and had a smaller balcony (with table and chairs) but a jaw-dropping view of the church's mosaic dome and the hillsides of Positano. Our second room (Yellow) still had a good view of the church and beautiful views of the city with a much larger terrace where we enjoyed relaxing after hiking up 1000's of steps to Nocelle (a small town above Positano). My husband and I both felt that the bed in the Yellow room was a bit uncomfortable compared to the Lilac room but were exhausted from all our travels so it wasn't a huge deal. The owner, Francesca, was also extremely helpful throughout the whole booking process and also very accommodating during our stay, telling us not to worry about our bags when we were changing rooms and providing us a map of the city for our hike to find the Path of the Gods. You can't get a better deal for the location, views, and service so if you're considering Positano for your stay in the Amalfi Coast, make sure to book at La Tavolozza!

Room Tip: The Lilac room's balcony has million dollar views of Santa Maria Assunta Church and a grand pano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank espanasuenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priddis, Alberta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent a week at La Tavolozza in September as part of a trip to celebrate our 50th Anniversary. Great view from the balcony of the Lilac room and Francesca and her family couldn't have been helpful. Mama always had coffee ready in the morning and the two girls sent us to great restaurants in the evening. After the week we almost felt like we were part of their family.
Don & Marilyn Belsher

Room Tip: Only a 6 room hotel and we would recommend a room on the upper for a better view, but they all look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbelsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at La Tavolozza. Beautiful room with a lovely balcony that overlooked the cathedral and the sea. The room had a small fridge so we were able to purchase yogurt and fruit for our own breakfast or items at the nearby delicatessen to eat dinner on our balcony. The staff were very helpful and we were able to walk to wherever we wanted to go. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jh98275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We visited Positano in September and had a wonderful stay at La Tavolozza. The terrace from the Red Room had a wonderful view of Positano. We enjoyed having the outdoor space. We relaxed in the lounge chairs each night after sightseeing and fell asleep listening to music off in the distance. It was a great way to experience Positano and the Amalfi.

Thanks girls, you were very kind and helpful !!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a terrace room. You will love the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHarding1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great location for starters. It's right next to one of the most expensive hotels in town. The women were gracious and hard working.

If we ever get back to Positano I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogers
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is an exceptional accomodation in SO many ways. Breathtaking views from large patio, large clean rooms with refrigerator, convenient location, very quiet at night. Great place to bring a take away meal or pizza from town and eat on your patio with bottle of wine, best view in town.
And last but not least is the wonderful family with Francesca and her warm, friendly mother who are so attentive in making your stay so special. Sponda bus stop saves you climbing the hill in town to get to the rooms. I could not wait to get back to our room each day after busy sightseeing of Amalfi Coast. Wish we could stay longer. Breakfast foods are very available in town to pick up night before. This was our favorite stay in 3 week Italy trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#8 of 39 in Positano
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Tavolozza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Tavolozza

Property: Residence La Tavolozza
Address: Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence La Tavolozza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Tavolozza Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing