We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like part of the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence La Tavolozza
Ranked #15 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a joy it was to stay here. We were recommended to stay at La Tavolozza by friends of ours and they were spot on.

For starters, the location is awesome...only a 5 minute walk down to the beach. The walk back is a little taxing, but hey, the view makes up for that in spades. The terrace area of our apartment is where we wanted to be - an amazing view down over the church and beach, out beyond to the sea. Then you look up and its mountain range like you have never seen before. Truly amazing!!!

The rooms themselves are dated, but very comfortable. We had both the grey room with kitchen and ensuite bathroom but average/blocked view and the remainder of the time we had the green room with amazing terrace, awesome view as I said and the bathroom across the hall. The separate bathroom across the hall was a little strange at first, but it really was no hassle at all.

The most important thing about this place are the people who run it. Francesca, Paula and their Mum were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and we truly felt like family. I couldn't recommend this place enough. For both service, location, views and overall experience.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with bathroom across the hall. They have amazing views and it really is not issue h...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Residence La Tavolozza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We felt like we were family with Celeste, a very welcoming host, who could not have been more helpful - she even insisted on carrying our heavy bags!

La Tavolozza is in a great location, right above the famous Palazzo Murat, with beautiful views across the dome of the church to the ocean. We had the Red room, which is closest to the view. It's only around 5-7 minutes walk from the beach – but it is up quite a few stairs, so pace yourself if you're not so fit.

The bathroom is across the hall, but that wasn’t really a problem for us, but a good thing to know in advance. The place was impeccably clean. There's free internet, which we didn’t realise until the 2nd day! The only downside was that there's no breakfast, but there’s a lovely bakery just down the stairs, as well as an excellent delicatessen. We went to La Brezza internet café down on the beach for breakfast one morning.

Our room offered a huge tiled terrace with lovely views of the town and ocean. The rooms were down two flights of stairs, but Positano is not the place for those who have trouble with stairs. The Sponda bus stop is only a couple of hundred metres up the street - not far at all. If you're going on the ferry, you might want to use the Positano Porter for your bags, but be prepared to pay a pretty penny for the service. We used it because it was raining the day we left and we didn't want to have an accident trying to negotiate our way down there.

We would definitely stay with Celeste again when we return to Positano. La Tavolozza is great value for money compared to other local places.

Room Tip: Red Room is closest to the church dome
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumTheOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent three nights at Residence La Tavolozza at the tail end of a three-week trip to southern Italy. We couldn't have ended our trip on a higher note. We stayed in the "Yellow Room," which is on the end of the building and has spectacular views from the patio of both the Tyrrhenian Sea and the mountains. La Tavolozza is located on Via Christoforo Colombo which is one of the main streets in Positano. We had an easy walk down to the beach and into the heart of the shopping and restaurant district. Most of Positano's vaunted steps lead uphill from La Tavolozza, and you don't need to go uphill unless you want to. (We hiked all the way up to the highest street in Positano (I estimate about 400 meters elevation gain). We were tired and thirsty, but got completely refreshed at Il Ritrovo, a wonderful restaurant at the top of the climb. Recommendation: take water if you are going on this hike.) La Tavolozza is family- owned and operated. Francesca, the manager, places a high emphasis on service. When we had a problem with the a/c in our room, Francesca immediately called an outside "technico," and the problem was fixed within 2 hours. Also, Francesca arranged for a private car to take us to Positano from the Naples airport on arrival and then from Positano to the Naples train station upon our departure (strongly recommended). Our room was clean, the bed was firm and the bathroom was up to date. We opted to have breakfast served to us on our patio all three mornings. The extra charge was well worth it. We were able to eat a private breakfast while looking out onto our spectacular views. Payment is by cash only. There are four Bancomats within a short walk, so accessing cash was no problem. We would stay at Residence La Tavolozza again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We traveled with friends to Positano and stayed for a week in this very affordable and charming residence right on via Christoforo Colombo only about 150 metres from the Sponda bus stop and easy on the luggage handling. Location is also handy to the steps to the beach and theres a great view from the very large balcony. Francesca, Paolo and Mama Celeste couldn't have been more helpful even serving up hot vegetable soup to my wife in bed when she was laid up briefly with a cold. We had the Red room which has its private bathroom across the hall but as there are only three rooms on the floor, it was no big deal. We'd definitely stay here again. Check out Restorante Bruno just up the via for excellent food and vino.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Tavolozza on our honeymoon. I picked all our hotels based on tripadvisor reviews, so I just wanted to add one more excellent review for Celeste, Francesca, and Paola, to encourage everyone else reading to stay here! You seriously cannot get a better deal for your money. The rooms are amazing, the location can't be beat, and these lovely women are so lovely and helpful! We stayed in the grey room our first night (beautiful partial view, chairs on terrace) and I forget which room we moved to for the second night. The grey room felt nice and removed from everyone. When we moved, we could not believe the jaw dropping view we had. The room's focal point is an entire wall of windowed doors that open up to the terrace. You sit in the kitchen and just feel like you are outside! The only con for this room was that the bathroom, although private, was down a hallway. And also, you can hear the people in the room next door. But it mattered very little. We were so thrilled with our stay and the incredible family that runs this place!

Room Tip: Grey room is isolated but has less of a view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We knew that going to Positano would be the splurge of our trip but we found a true gem by staying at La Tavolozza. It's on one of the main streets in town and is situated so that you overlook Santa Maria Assunta Church and have incredible panoramic views of the city. We switched rooms during our stay due to availability but it gave us the best of both worlds. Our first room (Lilac) was spacious and had a smaller balcony (with table and chairs) but a jaw-dropping view of the church's mosaic dome and the hillsides of Positano. Our second room (Yellow) still had a good view of the church and beautiful views of the city with a much larger terrace where we enjoyed relaxing after hiking up 1000's of steps to Nocelle (a small town above Positano). My husband and I both felt that the bed in the Yellow room was a bit uncomfortable compared to the Lilac room but were exhausted from all our travels so it wasn't a huge deal. The owner, Francesca, was also extremely helpful throughout the whole booking process and also very accommodating during our stay, telling us not to worry about our bags when we were changing rooms and providing us a map of the city for our hike to find the Path of the Gods. You can't get a better deal for the location, views, and service so if you're considering Positano for your stay in the Amalfi Coast, make sure to book at La Tavolozza!

Room Tip: The Lilac room's balcony has million dollar views of Santa Maria Assunta Church and a grand pano...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank espanasuenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent a week at La Tavolozza in September as part of a trip to celebrate our 50th Anniversary. Great view from the balcony of the Lilac room and Francesca and her family couldn't have been helpful. Mama always had coffee ready in the morning and the two girls sent us to great restaurants in the evening. After the week we almost felt like we were part of their family.
Don & Marilyn Belsher

Room Tip: Only a 6 room hotel and we would recommend a room on the upper for a better view, but they all look...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbelsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.1 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#7 of 38 in Positano
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 38 in Positano
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 38 in Positano
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Tavolozza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Tavolozza

Address: Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: £105 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residence La Tavolozza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Tavolozza Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing