We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Small Hotel in Positano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo Punta Regina
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely Small Hotel in Positano”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Punta Regina over Easter long weekend. They had just opened for the season but everything appeared to be up and running smoothly. We booked a Superior Deluxe Special room and we were a little confused upon arrival. The photos on their website are a bit deceiving. Under our room category, it showed very large rooms with outdoor spas on the terrace however our room was of average size and there definitely was not a spa outside. We did, however, have a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom which I suppose is what was promised in the write up on their website. It was because of the photos provided with the description that we were initially a little disappointed. Our room was fine, but I'm not sure what the difference is between the the Superior Deluxe Special, the Superior Deluxe and the Superior (aside from an average bathroom jacuzzi.)
With that said, our room was immaculate and the terrace was massive with a small table and chairs and two lounge chairs. Everything seemed of high quality within the room and the property as a whole was really well maintained. We were also impressed with the location. While it's not in the centre of town, it was an easy 10 minute walk down (a little longer on the way up) and there were plenty of restaurants nearby. It was nice to be a bit higher up for the views.
The service at the Punta Regina is really what helped this hotel excel. Francesca was so lovely and helpful. Upon asking for restaurant recommendations, she immediately pulled out a map and drew on 12 options all of varying degrees which were invaluable for our time in Positano. She was also great about helping us with excursions or anything we wanted to do. In addition, the gentlemen who worked at the breakfast bar always remembered our coffee order without having to ask. We loved the personal feel never once having to give our room number or name. We also had the hotel arrange our transfer to and from Naples which was well worth it.
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at the Punta Regina and only wish we had more time to explore the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJReid1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    81
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
108
521
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east anglia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently to celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary and it was wonderful. The room was large and had amazing views. The hot tub bath outside on the terrace was so good after a day of walking and sight seeing to relax and soak up the views. The bed was big and comfortable. It was very quiet at night and we slept very well. The breakfast was very good and again with great views from the roof terrace. The staff were exceptionally good especially Francesca and Giuseppina who were so helpful, friendly, warm and welcoming - thank you for making our stay perfect.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank littleluxuries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My best photos on the two week family trip to Positano were taken from our balcony. We shared a large room with our 3 small daughters. The room was nicely furnished, had a tv and a huge bed our girls have appreciated. The view from the balcony was stunning and the price was just right. The staff was very helpful and breakfast delicious. We had to walk about 10 - 15 minutes up and down to the beach, but the trade-off was being able to drive up to the hotel, which I don't believe you can do all the way to the city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moni-Kuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I were searching for hotels in our price range (so many Positano hotels are so expensive!) and we came across Punta Regina via Trip Advisor. The staff was super helpful in setting up our reservation via email and getting us a suite with a outdoor jacuzzi with views of the water. The rooms have an old European charm to them which isn't our style but we enjoyed our stay nonetheless. Just an FYI that the large master bed was actually two smaller beds pushed together (very typical in older Italian hotels). Breakfast was up on the rooftop with a nice view of the cliffs and a nice spread. The hotel is a bit further away from most of the shops and restaurants so be prepared to walk (and walk uphill on the way back). We didn't mind it at all since we could use the exercise from eating so much great food! Ristorante Da Vincenzo was our favorite restaurant and that was located closer to our hotel luckily!

More here on stormypeach.com/positano-italy/

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stormypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed here for five nights late September/October and have nothing but praise for this hotel, it is absolutely stunning! Situated in a fantastic location, close to restuarants and a ten/fifteen minute walk downtown either by road or stairs. The room was gorgeous with a massive bed, lovely furnishings and a bath. There was also a large terrace with a table and sunlounges to relax. Views are simply amazing, especially from the forth floor terrace where breakfast is taken and a lovely plunge pool is situated. It also lovely in the evening at dusk, very relaxing. Francessca is simply adorable, so friendly and helpful and such a wonderful asset to the hotel, an amazing lady! Thank you for a lovely stay, I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelliiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights on our honeymoon at Punta Regina. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the city center (going down is faster :), and they have a garage for the car, which was a big advantage for us. We got a huge room with a nice balcony with nice view. There are a few good restaurants nearby. The breakfast is served on the roof top teracce with amazing view. I think this hotel is very good choice for Positano. You can get hotels with better view and more in the center, but here everything was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We'll be going back !

My wife and I had a great time here and I really can't add any more to other peoples reviews as they all seem to reflect our views too. The location, staff, view, room, all just wonderful. Positano is a great little town with friendly people and plenty of good restaurants. Be advised, You'll have to be in fairly good health to explore this area as the hotel, town and main road in and out requires some major walking with very steep roads. Having said that once you know your way around catching buses and boats to other towns and area is easy and public transport is very cheap. We found the staff at the hotel very helpful and more than happy to explain things to us. In summary, we love this hotel and we can't wait until we can return. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
1,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 39 in Positano
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 39 in Positano
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Punta Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Punta Regina

Property: Albergo Punta Regina
Address: Via Pasitea 224, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#11 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Punta Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Punta Regina is a charming and romantic hotel with 18 rooms in the heart of Positano.Originally a private villa it has been carefully restored, combining original characteristic charm with the best of contemporary features.The building lies on Via Pasitea, the main street in town, and is easily accessible.Built on four levels, the Hotel has a breath-taking view of the Mediterranean waters, that has made Positano famous.While relaxing from your terrace, not only will you enjoy the sight of "Li Galli" island and the tower "Clavel", but also the many boats sailing in the blue colored waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo Punta Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Punta Regina Positano
Albergo Punta Regina Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing