We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully located, But”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

we just got back from 2 weeks May 23, 2014, and we spent 4 nights staying at Maria Lusia. Its beautifully located, with our room over looking the beach and the shoreline. We were there on May 14 through 18, and it was 90 Euro a night, and since we did not want to park the car at the top of the mountain, we also paid 18 Euro a day for parking but that would have applied to any hotel we were staying at. After 2 weeks we basically determined that we needed a minimum of necessities, and that the quality of the interaction with the host was as important as the bed we slept on. So excellent location, excellent views, but our room and the basic hotel was a little sparse and dated. A little frig in the room barely functioned, we would have loved a little coffee maker because the only way to get a cup of amercano in the morning is to hit the breakfast room with the 1 euro coin in hand, and then the thing only worked 60% of the time. Carlos seemed like a good guy, but our interaction with him was minimal, because he wasn't around. Still we were there 4 nights, bed was good, great view, great breeze, but the place needs some updating and some level of amenities, and we left wondering what equally priced places would have been like.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kalisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This guesthouse is perfect for travellers on a budget who are wanting to experience the romance of Positano. The accommodation is basic, but it is very clean and the manager Carlo is a delightful and very helpful man. The star attraction is the view from the rooms - stunning panoramic vistas of the coast. It is WELL worth paying the extra 10 Euros or so per night for a private terrace (there is also a shared terrace for other guests). Our private terrace was big and my boyfriend and I spent lovely relaxing evenings on it drinking the local wine and looking out to sea. Also great to have a coffee on the terrace in the morning sun. It was a struggle to leave!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Lightbeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We came out of season and paid 65 and 85 for a 2 and 3 room. Not cheap - but that seems to be the case for Positano. We were upgraded to sea view rooms - very beautiful (although the public terrace has the best views). Our host was really friendly and lent us a made to do the Walk of the Gods. All in all, a very good experience. Breakfast was rather basic but all you could eat for 5 Euros!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have nice balconies - but the public balcony has the best view if you don't mind...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoWhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

What a find!
Our room had a gorgeous view of the sea, from a spacious terrace.
The room was large and clean.
Carlo was a very pleasant host; he was friendly and made us feel at home.
The pensione is well located, with an easy walk to restaurants and shopping. The beach is close, but be prepared for a lot of stairs!
This is an inexpensive gem that we highly recommend.












Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mimzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Absolutely wonderful hotel towards the lower end of the budget scale. The owner, as others have reported, is very friendly and a gracious host who is always willing to help in any way possible. For example, I asked to use the washing machine and was not charged a single euro for use of either the unit or the washing detergent.
Location was quite convenient. A short stroll to many restaurants and cafes.
Whilst the journey down to the coast beach is easy enough, expect a good work out when returning back up to the hotel.
We stayed in a room downstairs and WiFi connection was terrible at best. Do not expect incredibly fast and reliable Internet in these parts.
We loved our stay here and would not hesitate recommending friends and family to stay there as well.

Room Tip: Request for the room upstairs with ocean facing balcony. There are only a couple available, but view...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QUaGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We really want to go back to Positano.We loved it,what a great little Italian town and this hotel was perfect for my wife and I.The owner,Carlo is such a nice man,he greets all his guests as if they were old friends.He makes you feel welcome and will help you in any way he can.The hotel has some age on it,but I felt like I was at home,and Carlo a family member.It was clean and had everything we needed.Get the ocean view room with terrace,you will be glad you did.We will stay here again.I love Italy,and I love Pensione Maria Luisa in breathtakingly beautiful Positano.Ciao Carlo! Gracie,Gracie!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is my second stay at Pensione Maria Luisa and it was just as good as the first - we even had the same room! (room 5 with a terrace and THOSE views!).
Carlo is a warm and wonderful host. He even offered laundry facilities and after three weeks of travel, it was such a luxury to have some clean clothes. He has washing lines and pegs on the terrace (unobtrusive) for guests which was a lovely touch. We expected to pay for this laundry at the end of our stay - but no - it was free!
The room is basic - there is no TV which didn't matter to us - but it does have free wifi and a little refrigerator. The bathroom is good, beds are comfortable and it's close to some great restaurants. Also, if you're up for the challenge, Fornillo Beach is a couple of hundred stairs down but well worth it.
For 85 euros per night it is unbeatable value in a town notoriously expensive. I would not stay anywhere else. Love this place!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank KathyW201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Positano
Hotel Royal Positano
#37 of 38 in Positano
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#19 of 38 in Positano
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#28 of 38 in Positano
441 reviews
0.9 mi away
I Giardini dei sensi
I Giardini dei sensi
#27 of 38 in Positano
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast

Address: Via Fornillo 42, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £112 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing