We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Eden Roc(Positano)
US$689
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$627
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
I Giardini dei sensi(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$591
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$573
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Miramare(Positano)
US$456
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$444
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Agavi Hotel(Positano)
US$990
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$923
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$914
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$852
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Poseidon(Positano)
US$800
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$695
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$466
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
66
79
39
13
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
79
39
13
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busplace to sleepfamily hotela family run businessyogurtbreakfast roomnice breakfastsmall hotelhotel barsea viewnarrow streetsgreat showerfirst stophalf waybeach areaamalfi coastthe hotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice view is the only thing this hotel have to offer.
This is a family runned hotel, they where not nice at all, and a few members of the group actually got yelled at by one of the eployees, not a nice man.
They have full lockdown at nigth so you dont get out.
Barrely not allowed to talk at nigth time.

Breakfast = croissant/bread and coffee/juice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had reserved a villa in positano for a week ...upon arriving we ran into alot of problems and could not stay...What to do?? right down the street was Il Gabbiano.....Dario and his staff made up of family members could not do enough for us.we had an immaculate apartment complete with kitchenette great views and a patio with lemons figs and vegetables growing all around us...Every night they reccomended a local restaurant,made the reservations for us ,arranged transportation etc...each place was better than the next.....a very affordable place .....good people make the vacation that much better

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Positano on its own is beautiful, as is the rest of the Amalfi coast. However, being a major attraction for honeymooners, vacationers, etc., we decided that we would splurge a little bit on this leg of our vacation, but not get one of the ridiculously expensive hotels right next to the beach. This hotel did not disappoint in the slightest, and was worth every penny.

My friend and I stayed 6 nights, and we gladly would have stayed another month, if we had the time and money. The hotel was a little further up the hill than we expected, but taxi and bus service is routinely available and not too expensive. It was everything you could have asked for - air conditioning available (although, not always necessary, with the sea breeze), a little terrace where you could lay out during the day, or smoke cigarettes, and an incredibly hospitable family, which was more than willing to go out of their ways to make a reservation for you, whether it be for a restaurant, a trip to Capri, etc., and were always willing to just sit down and talk to you about life, and how your day was going. The rooms were clean and cleaned every day, obviously, and the experience was just overall pleasant, relaxing, carefree, and enjoyable - everything you want in a hotel where you are trying to vacation.

Room Tip: There aren't that many rooms in the hotel - it's a little smaller, maybe about 16 rooms in total. However, ANY of them are nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Napoli-phile21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

After a very busy vacation seeing the sites in Amsterdam, Paris and Florence Hotel Gabbiano (and Positano itself) provided a much needed breather.

The staff was verfy friendly and attentive. The food was great, we ordered the bruschetta for a snack each day.

We got a room with a veranda and it was amazing. The view was to die for and a perfect space to relax outside.

I got a great night sleep during the stay and the room had AC which was a big plus.

It wasn't far from both beaches. Yes you have to walk down and eventually up about 300 stairs. However, unless you booked Positano with your eyes closed or had no idea where it was this is the case everywhere unless you stay on the beach or close to it.



I plan on returning to Positano and staying here again.

Room Tip: get a room with a veranda
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cardello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stunning views, small but immaculate rooms with wide sun-kissed balconies. The family who runs Il Gabbiano, especially Dona Lucia and Dario, were splendidly friendly, wholly gracious and helpful. We loved our time there. Plenty of good restaurants nearby if you don't want to take the hike at dinner time.
It's located half-way up the mountain, but there's a bus up from the central Piazza del Molina for those who don't like to climb steps. The walk down to the Piazza isn't bad.
The continental breakfast starts at 8:00, so if you're an early riser and a coffee addict, consider bringing a small electric pot. The rooms have a fridge for keeping milk and water cool.

Room Tip: No tips needed. All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tombehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews