We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great if you have a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Montemare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montemare
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great if you have a car”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We drove the Amalfi coast in search of a perfect place to stay. There may be things to see or do in other towns, but Positano is the one to stay in.

This hotel offered a discounted rate because we arrived late and checked out the next day. It would have been nice if we could have stayed longer.

The hotel itself is clean and quiet with lovely views and a nice European breakfast. The best part is the parking on top of the building, we were able to park and walk down to our room, excellent after a long drive.

We'd stay here again.

Hint: the parkades are great if your stay is more than one night. Be sure to walk into the pedestrian area even if you're tired, it's worth it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KLSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    85
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
156
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This place had all the old world charm you could want, but the rooms were very comfortable and modern. The breakfast was excellent and the breakfast room was in a gorgeous setting with a terrace overlooking the sea. The restaurant was excellent and again, in a gorgeous setting. It was a bit of a hike to the beach, but after the first day we got used to the hills and the stairs. You can't really avoid the hills in Positano and walking up and down hill, made us feel less guilty about not going the the gym. We got good work outs walking around. We stayed here a week and and enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LZJ923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We booked the suite which we felt was good value. Big bedroom with separate lounge room and a big bathroom with decent shower. We also had a huge balcony with table, chairs and sun loungers and really enjoyed the spectacular view from here (best part about the hotel is the view). Reception staff helpful, especially the young gentleman. 'Capitano', the hotel parrot, made us feel welcome with its Italian phrases. Handy location - right next to the steps that lead you down to the beach in under 5 minutes (takes a fraction longer on the way up).

Some of the downsides.... There wasn't much privacy on the balcony with only some pot plants and a low brick wall dividing us from one neighbour and a direct view onto the balcony of the other neighbour. Also, the bed was too firm for my liking and the air conditioning unit so noisy that we left it turned off (which is ok to do in October, but I'd hate to test this during the height of summer). Breakfast was particularly disappointing. Terrible coffee and few gluten free choices despite requesting this at the time of booking. No gf crackers or gf bread or even rice cakes offered and no attempts to find an alternative or order any for the rest of our stay.

All in all, a 3 star experience for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glutenfreechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after we had to move from our previous hotel due to difficult access for my elderly mother. We were very impressed with the standard of this hotel considering it is only rated 3 star. The room was a standard one with 2 small twin beds which I found firm but my mother was happy with. It was spotlessly clean and had a small balcony with table and chairs and a limited view of the water. The bathroom was good, clean and well maintained but the shower cubicle was very small. Breakfast was on a beautiful shaded terrace with magnificent views along the coastline. It had a small selection of cereals, great selection of pastries and some hot food. Juice and hot drinks were dispensed from a machine which I did not like. We ate at the restaurant every night and the food and service were fantastic. The view from the dining terrace was amazing and the fact you had to book and the restaurant always full was a testament to how nice it was.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bigger room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here during our honeymoon, room 44. Sizable room with nice jacuzzi, and a great view from the terrace. Breakfast was varied and delicious. The front desk staff was very helpful. We really wanted a dinner reservation for a restaurant that had no openings on our last night there, and the gentleman at the front desk called and pleaded our case to convince them to accept us, which gave us a great experience for which we are very thankful. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had a most wonderful holiday in the beautiful town of Positano but what really made it extra special was Hotel Montemare!
It is a family run hotel and they certainly do all they can to ensure that everyone has a memorable stay. We were lucky enough to be given a superior room which gave us extra space and a big bathroom....including a jacuzzi!! The weather was a amazing but a bit oppressive so walking into the perfectly air conditioned rooms was a welcome relief. We did not have to adjust the air conditioning in any way and the way it was set up enabled us to have a restful night's sleep.

The view from the hotel, which is a bit of an uphill walk from the beach but well worth it, is amazing. The hotel has it's own restaurant which was also excellent. In fact the food was so good and the menu varied that we ate there every night!

I did read in previous reviews that the breakfast was not the best but we were pleasantly surprised....there was a good range of cereals, cakes, bread, meats and something hot (although this did not vary at all). My only disappointment was the coffee which was very poor.....I tried all the possible connotations from the machine, helped by the very friendly lady who greeted us every morning, but to no avail and the tea.....well let's just not go there!!

Coffee aside, although the hotel is only a 3 star due to limited facilities there is no doubt that you come away feeling as though you have a had a truly 5 star experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stay in room #29. The hotel and the rooms are old world European but they have all of the amenities you need. The view from the terrace was awesome. We could see the boats anchored for the night and the ones that came in an out. The location is great as all of the boats leaving the island leave from the bottom of the stairs. The people that worked there could not do enough to make our stay even better. The breakfast that is included was huge. Not just your roll and coffee but eggs, sausage, toast, coffee, juices, doughnuts, rolls anything you could want. Cant say enough good about this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace. Ours have a table and chairs (4) and 2 lounge chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hueyx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#30 of 39 in Positano
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#16 of 39 in Positano
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 39 in Positano
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 39 in Positano
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montemare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montemare

Property: Hotel Montemare
Address: Via Pasitea 119, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montemare 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montemare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemare Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing