We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B... Once we found it!”
Review of Villa Palumbo B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Palumbo B&B
Ranked #21 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B... Once we found it!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

When we booked this B&B we were given the name Positanobb - which actually means Positano B&B and was not the B7B's name. Nowhere on our booking did we have the name Villa Palumbo so it added a bit of confusion when asking locals for help finding it but with the map, address and friendly locals we found it eventually.

But don't let that put you off.

When we arrived the gentleman (sorry forgot his name now its been a few months...) was charmingly friendly with his broken english. They we cleaning up the place in time for the high season but that did not affect our stay in the slightest we didn't even notice the handyman apart from a polite buongiorno in the morning on our way out.

We had 2 rooms, both had private balconies where we were served breakfast every morning looking out over the mountains of Positano. A perfect way to start the day! So relaxing and protected from the morning sun. One room was much larger than the other but the samller one was still ample for our needs - maybe not if you like to spend all day in your room but you're in Positano! Go out and enjoy it!!!

There is a bus that stops just out the front of the villa that does a circuit down to the centre of town / the bench every half hour and runs until about midnight so be careful not to get stuck down on the beach if you dont want to walk back up the hill. The walk is fine if you like walking and maybe a good chance to sober up?! Not so good if your not overly mobile or tired!

We were given plenty of towels to take to the bench when asked as well as storing our luggage for us on our last day there.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again when we go back to Positano and recommend it - only issues we had are usual problems when travelling with a group / family!

Room Tip: If you like space, ask for the largest room possible. From what we could tell, all rooms have a priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JemmaAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    38
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
87
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Awesome B&B in a beautiful town. The service was exceptional. Our patio overlooking the town was by far the best part of this B&B. They prepared a hearty continental breakfast for us in the morning. No view of the ocean, but no complaints about that as you can walk two minutes down the road and get a full view. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The accommodation is beutifully designed and spotlessly clean. There was lots of nice finishing touches (for example two large bottles of water on arrival chilling in the fridge (free of charge), mosquito plug with tablets and use of beach towels. The breakfast was very good which is served on your balcony which has views over the mountains. When we booked this accommodation I booked Positano BB but it is also called Villa Palumbo which is a bit confusing when trying to find it. It is very high up over Positano and you can either climb the many steps or walk the longer way around which is more of an incline. There is a local bus but this always seemed to be full. We took the option of climbing the steps as we enjoyed the exercise!!. Hosts were very friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. Would of been an ideal spot if they could privide evening meals.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to offer the same facilties and views. Lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Great location. Steps to the beach and bus back landing just outside the hotel. Great rooms with a fridge. Fantastic balcony with flowers, table and chairs and an umbrella. Very cool breakfast. You call in the morning and they bring it to your room and the balcony. Nice feeling with the brothers that run it. Recommended!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Booked this place due to rating on TA and very reasonable price - was not disappointed!

Service was great (esp. for Italy) - Antonio was brilliant everyday and always very pleasant! He makes the stay so much better and seems to work quite hard to keep everything running well!

The included breakfast was fine but what really made the difference was the view!!! While not facing the sea, Villa Palumbo's rooms look out into the hills which are breathtaking, trust me you will not be upset with the gorgeous mountains towering over you while you enjoy your coffee and croissant in the morning!

About 15min walk downhill to the beach/ferries - a TON of stairs but by Positano standards it's not bad and well situated to many good restaurants.

Highlight of our trip to Italy. Will definitely be returning to Antonio's B&B again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr00bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a wonderful B&B just on the top of the Positano centre. To get to the centre is a 10 minute walk down the stairs or can be done by taxi. Excellent value compared to other hotels in Positano. The benefit from being on the hill is the breathtaking views from the room balcony's that can be enjoyed during the daily breakfast in bed!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAViscosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I spent 3 nights at Villa Palumbo (also known as Positano BB) and could not recommend the place more highly. To start, with Antonio, the owner, as well as all the staff, is a wonderful host and nothing is too much trouble. He is welcoming, efficient and eager to make you feel like you are the only guests staying there. He kindly took care of our bags upon check out, which was at 11am and our bus wasn't until 3pm

ROOMS: We stayed in room 31. The B&B is very clean, rooms serviced every morning, comfy with simple Italian furnishings and wonderful private terraces where your breakfast is hand-delivered and served every morning from 8am. The value for money for the size of room and level of comfort is wonderful. Make sure to turn the water temperature carefully in the shower and taps, as it can get very hot very quick.

LOCATION: Be sure, if coming from Sorrento, to get off at the first Positano bus stop - Positano, Chiesa Nuova, NOT Positano Centrale. From PCN, it's a 3-5 minute walk down hill to get to the B&B. The locals seem to know the place as Villa Palumbo if you get lost but if you choose the right bus stop then it's very easy. Two options to then take you to the centre/the beach. Follow the stairs down from the main road just after you exit the B&B, to Spiagge (beach) but take care and flat shoes. 5/6 minute walk down stairs through little alleys and local houses. Strongly advise walking back up to the B&B along the main road, Via Pasitale, takes about 15 minutes and only feels like an incline. Stairs down, road up.

NEARBY: Wonderful views of the Positano hills, a good grocer about 50 meters walk, a post box and lots and lots of good restaurants. Our favourites were Hotel La Gabrisa, Il Fornillo and Ristorante il Capitano Pizzeria - all have superior views of the sea/coast line and are well priced with excellent food. The best ice cream place was just approaching the centre, Positano Bakery, just before the road forks in two directions

I would definitely return to Positano and would stay at Villa Palumbo again. It is so good to find a well-run, clean and cosy family B&B where you are so eager to review it so that people can share your experience! Definitely look this one up

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FBailey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Talamo
Palazzo Talamo
#30 of 38 in Positano
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bougainville
Hotel La Bougainville
#19 of 38 in Positano
581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Positano B&B
Positano B&B
#40 of 53 in Positano
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
B&B Casa Belvedere
B&B Casa Belvedere
#25 of 30 in Positano
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Ninfee Di Positano
Le Ninfee Di Positano
#41 of 53 in Positano
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Venus Inn B&B Positano
Venus Inn B&B Positano
#20 of 53 in Positano
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Palumbo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Palumbo B&B

Property: Villa Palumbo B&B
Address: Via Pasitea 334, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
villa palumbo is a bed & breakfast family owned where you will find all the courtesy and hospitality. An ideal location of tranquilly and quiet created to enjoy one of the most enchanting landscape in the world positano the pearl of the amalfi coast.Villa palumbo provide air conditionated rooms,minibar,internet wireless,private bathwith shower,and phon. Every room has a view terrace surrounded of flowers, a delicious breakfast is served'till 11,00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Palumbo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing