We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic yet clean, great location and friendly and helpful staff.”
Review of Villa Nettuno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Nettuno
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic yet clean, great location and friendly and helpful staff.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mother for three nights. First night was spent in a twin room and then we were upgraded free of charge to a family room. The man was lovely and very helpful. The accommodation is about a ten minute walk from the beach and is a great spot. No breakfast unfortunately but still great value for money considering you're in Positano. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dece83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    36
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
70
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stephvol
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in June and it was fantastic. It is simple and no frills but it was spotlessly clean and the views were stunning. Claudio is a wonderful host who takes care of your every need. There is wifi but it only works sometimes. It seems like every restaurant in Positano has free wifif though so it wasn't a bother to us if we couldn't get it in the hotel room. There are quite a few steps but after all the pizza and pasta, it was welcome exercise! It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach on the street and about 5 minutes by the steps. We loved it and would go back in a heartbeat! Positano is paradise!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for somewhere to stay in Positano that wouldn't break the budget, but was also within walking distance of the main village, as we decided due to Amalfi Coast's famously crazy roads, that we wouldn't hire a car (which meant we'd be on foot). Boy, did we find the right place! We absolutely loved it. Every room has a balcony and ocean view. We had fly screen so we could keep the doors open overnight. There was a fridge so we could keep food and beers in the fridge and some breakfast. The bathroom was just fine. The bed was very comfortable. The room was HUGE with plenty of space and high ceilings. Everything was very clean. We even got new towels every day (you don't even get that in 5star hotels these days). It is definitely very basic, but that is all we wanted, a lovely clean bed, with an ocean view, close to the town centre. BINGO. The owner was very friendly and very helpful in all regards. He recommended several restaurants (Cafe Positano 1 minute away, and one called Saraceno D'Oro about 10 minutes walk) that were both brilliant (eat pizza at Cafe positano for a cheap lunch for positano, with an beautiful view!). There is a little deli 3 minutes away with all the basics - food and wine and toiletries etc. To get back up to the hotel from the main village is a bit of a steep stair climb, but then again, so is everywhere in Positano - a lot of the super posh hotels are even higher. There is a longer but much less taxing route too if you really can't be bothered with the stairs, so not really a problem. One thing is that it's a bit hard to find the first time, so keep an eye out for (or ask directions for) Restaurant il Capitano and the entrance is right opposite.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equal, although I noticed one or two didn't have any fly screens which you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajl12377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The Villa Nettuno offers good value accommodation in the tourist hot spot of Positano. Our room had a superb view over the sea. Like most places in Positano you cannot park outside the Hotel, although you can stop temporarily to unload your luggage. Access to the rooms is via many steps so beware if you are not fit or have heavy luggage. The owner is charming and very helpful and will advise on discounted parking further down the road. The Hotel is very close to excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view and are high enough for road noise not to be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is a gem of a place - immaculately clean, large room with a balcony and a great view of the water. But the best part was Claudio, the owner. He was always there and had great advice about finding our way around. We wanted to hike but didn't realize that the trail left from a village above Positano. Claudio cleared this up and told us we could catch a bus there or wall the 2000 steps. Just a great little place. If you are going to walk from the bus stop be ready for a decently long walk (20 minutes) down the road which is narrow and not very pedestrian friendly. The taxis charge a minimum of 20 euro for a trip because of the long one-way road.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowgirl585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Beautiful hotel, oozes charme. Breathtaking views of the coastline from every room. Having breakfast on your balcony, gazing at the sea... charming villa. The rooms are large and clean, with private bathroom, balcony and fridge. Claudio, the manager, is very kind. Breakfast is not included but you have a grocery store round the corner.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AtomHeartM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Wow, absolutely phenomenal views from your room at Villa Nettuno. The balcony opened up to the ocean and I just couldn't stop staring out from it! It felt like such a secret getaway and I loved the place very much.

The rooms, are as promised, very simple. It offers basic beds, closets, and a desk/chair to eat at. There's no TV or internet, but there are also individual AC units, which is the only necessary thing in the summer heat! Bathrooms were also huge -- but there are no shower curtains (please install them!) so water splashed everywhere.

I was helped by Claudio, who was an extremely friendly old man and made my stay super great! He smiled a lot, was good to make recommendations for restaurants (Saracen D'oro, super good), and was extremely genuine and willing to help.

The only downside about this place is you need to climb a LOT of stairs! Once you enter the "Villa," you need to climb maybe 3-4 flights of stairs up to the main building. Once you reach the main building, you need to climb again another 2-3 flights of stairs up to your room. If you have a lot of luggage, this might be problematic. I only carried a day bag with me, so it was very easy... but I can imagine if you had a lot of luggage, I wouldn't be too happy about staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilyiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.0 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#32 of 39 in Positano
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#28 of 39 in Positano
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#9 of 39 in Positano
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nettuno

Property: Villa Nettuno
Address: Via Pasitea 208, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Nettuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nettuno Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing