We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value in challenging location”
Review of Villa Nettuno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Nettuno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Positano has challenges re accommodation. Villa Nettuno is well placed - close enough to walk to centre of Positano without having to use the (often crowded) local bus, yet far enough away from the day tripper (often crowded) centre of town. Good selection of restaurants within easy walking distance, and good deli.

Claudio very helpful in all respects - and speaks good English.

If you come by car, park it in a garage about 150 meters up the hill. Don't think about street parking - by time you've done two circuits and tried to figure it how much it will cost, you'll realize you are far better off paying Euro 20 per day to park safely in garage. Just add this to cost of the accommodation when calculating your budget.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have great views. Upper level just that bit higher for even more impact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in Villa Nettuno for 3 nights (14-17 Aug 13) and had a fantastic time. The accommodation is basic (albeit with air conditioning, refrigerators and en-suite bathrooms) and felt like visiting the home of a distant relative as the owner is so welcoming. The decor and furniture look a bit dated but are completely charming and in excellent condition. Our double room was two singles pushed together with a double sheet, which usually I hate but I didn't really notice. The view from our room was incredible and we could see right over the beach and the bay, and up into the hills on the far side: absolutely worth the climb up from Positano, which is about 10-15 minutes walk. We spent the late evenings drinking Prosecco on our balcony, enjoying the fireworks launched from boats in the bay to celebrate the Christian festival of the feast of the assumption which we happened upon by accident. It added to an already incredible visit.

Villa Nettuno has a special deal on parking at an underground lot down the road but there is room to unload suitcases right outside the hotel. Despite the discount it is still very expensive to park at 20 euros per day, or 8 euros if you're prepared to park at the side of the narrow road, and can find space. Driving from Rome did make it much more convenient as we could choose our own timings and also stop off at Pompeii on the way back, but it's an extra cost to consider if you're thinking about it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor which meant more stairs but a better view. The adjacent room to ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

If you want to have an unforgettable once in a life time holiday full of romance, Villa Nettuno is one of best places which in up in the hills and in the postcards of Positano.The owner is Claudio who is a nice guy and has been owning the 300 years old Hotel for long years coming from his old family. We spent two nights and stayed in a very nice room with the seaview which was the reason we stayed in this hotel. You should also see the old fresques which have the same age with the building. You can buy your breakfast from the grocery shop 100 mts down the hotel and find very nice Italian cheeses (mozzarella in the water higly recommended) and every kind of fruit and vegetables there..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GURKANIZMIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

After reading reviews online, we decided to stay at Villa Nettuno for our honeymoon trip. We loved it! By the pictures, comments and price, I figured we were pretty much paying for the view and that's it. I was wrong, this place has a gorgeous walk way filled with beautiful plants and flowers with scenic balconies and common areas. Claudio was great and helped us with anything we needed for our stay. He also recommended 2 restaurants which we went to both numerous times during our trip because they were so good but not expensive compared to every other place. He also gave us beach towels for the whole time we were there which was perfect. We were surprised to find out they and made our bed and gave us new towels everyday. We never had an issue with the internet and it worked great when we were there. I would definitely recommend to anyone! Cant wait to go back one day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights as we had a wedding to attend at the main church in Positano. The location was perfect only 10 min walk down the stairs to the church. The host was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble he was always there to help and give you any advice. The room has balcony with a view of the ocean its breathtaking. We were in a room for 3 people so was quite large and bathroom was good size, really enjoyed the room. Yes there is about 60 steps to get up to Villa Nettuno and with heavy suitcases it is challenging, but its all part of the experience and the whole of Positano is built on many many many steps. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ola_lipinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mother for three nights. First night was spent in a twin room and then we were upgraded free of charge to a family room. The man was lovely and very helpful. The accommodation is about a ten minute walk from the beach and is a great spot. No breakfast unfortunately but still great value for money considering you're in Positano. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dece83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in June and it was fantastic. It is simple and no frills but it was spotlessly clean and the views were stunning. Claudio is a wonderful host who takes care of your every need. There is wifi but it only works sometimes. It seems like every restaurant in Positano has free wifif though so it wasn't a bother to us if we couldn't get it in the hotel room. There are quite a few steps but after all the pizza and pasta, it was welcome exercise! It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach on the street and about 5 minutes by the steps. We loved it and would go back in a heartbeat! Positano is paradise!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#8 of 38 in Positano
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 38 in Positano
640 reviews
0 mi away
Palazzo Talamo
Palazzo Talamo
#32 of 38 in Positano
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 38 in Positano
1,054 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 38 in Positano
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nettuno

Address: Via Pasitea 208, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Positano
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Nettuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nettuno Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing