We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel in the middle of town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Nettuno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Nettuno
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great budget hotel in the middle of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here with a friend of 6 days and it's a great hotel in a wonderful location. The hotel itself is run by a very friendly and helpful gentleman, who is happy to advise on what to do round Positano. It's also cheap, which is a bonus in this part of Italy (nothing else is!).

Parking was a bit of an issue, but we managed to park on the SS163 road coming in to town which was only a 15 minute walk from the hotel (admittedly up/down lots of steps - but that's the way in Positano!). On the first night we arrived late and had to park in one of the private garages, which cost us an exorbitant 20 Euros.

There's not much in the way of facilities in the hotel, as there's no restaurant, but there's many restaurants nearby and also a local shop. The room was cleaned daily and the view from our balcony was amazing. My only gripes were that the bed was too small for my 6 foot frame and that there was no shower curtain so you had to be careful not to soak the floor when showering. Nevertheless, these minor issues didn't detract from our stay and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickcodefresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    36
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
69
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel our first time in Positano 8 years ago and loved it so much we booked this hotel again on this trip. Claudio is such a wonderful host. So helpful and accommodating for whatever you may need. This hotel gives you the greatest view of Positano and a perfectly authentic Italian experience with beautiful flowers and vines on the steps and balconies leading to the entrance. It is located away from the high tourist traffic of the town but close enough to everywhere you want to be. Thanks, Claudio.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaf5529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This would have been one of the best places I've ever stayed at, Just imagine relaxing on the bed and you don't even have to get up to see the water. The view is magic, its amazing its everything you could possibly want from your Positano holiday, we had been traveling for three months around Europe and we made sure we had four nights here, I really wish we could have stayed longer. The owner is fantastic, very helpful had great recommendations regarding places to eat, beach and what to see. My partner and I will surely be returning one day :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophielovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We loved our stay at Villa Nettuno! They are located in one of the most picturesque areas of Positano, and conveniently a few steps away from our favorite restaurant, Da Vincenzo. I highly recommend getting a room with a balcony. There are balconies for all guests to use, but the private ones have better views. It was the perfect spot to have a bottle of wine and take in the magnificent views.

There are several steps to get to your room (we counted 95 or so for the balcony rooms). It's a little tough with luggage, but SO worth it as long as you are in semi-good shape.

We would definitely stay here for future visits. Thank you, Claudio for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefknee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Positano has challenges re accommodation. Villa Nettuno is well placed - close enough to walk to centre of Positano without having to use the (often crowded) local bus, yet far enough away from the day tripper (often crowded) centre of town. Good selection of restaurants within easy walking distance, and good deli.

Claudio very helpful in all respects - and speaks good English.

If you come by car, park it in a garage about 150 meters up the hill. Don't think about street parking - by time you've done two circuits and tried to figure it how much it will cost, you'll realize you are far better off paying Euro 20 per day to park safely in garage. Just add this to cost of the accommodation when calculating your budget.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have great views. Upper level just that bit higher for even more impact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in Villa Nettuno for 3 nights (14-17 Aug 13) and had a fantastic time. The accommodation is basic (albeit with air conditioning, refrigerators and en-suite bathrooms) and felt like visiting the home of a distant relative as the owner is so welcoming. The decor and furniture look a bit dated but are completely charming and in excellent condition. Our double room was two singles pushed together with a double sheet, which usually I hate but I didn't really notice. The view from our room was incredible and we could see right over the beach and the bay, and up into the hills on the far side: absolutely worth the climb up from Positano, which is about 10-15 minutes walk. We spent the late evenings drinking Prosecco on our balcony, enjoying the fireworks launched from boats in the bay to celebrate the Christian festival of the feast of the assumption which we happened upon by accident. It added to an already incredible visit.

Villa Nettuno has a special deal on parking at an underground lot down the road but there is room to unload suitcases right outside the hotel. Despite the discount it is still very expensive to park at 20 euros per day, or 8 euros if you're prepared to park at the side of the narrow road, and can find space. Driving from Rome did make it much more convenient as we could choose our own timings and also stop off at Pompeii on the way back, but it's an extra cost to consider if you're thinking about it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor which meant more stairs but a better view. The adjacent room to ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İzmir, Türkiye
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

If you want to have an unforgettable once in a life time holiday full of romance, Villa Nettuno is one of best places which in up in the hills and in the postcards of Positano.The owner is Claudio who is a nice guy and has been owning the 300 years old Hotel for long years coming from his old family. We spent two nights and stayed in a very nice room with the seaview which was the reason we stayed in this hotel. You should also see the old fresques which have the same age with the building. You can buy your breakfast from the grocery shop 100 mts down the hotel and find very nice Italian cheeses (mozzarella in the water higly recommended) and every kind of fruit and vegetables there..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GURKANIZMIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nettuno

Property: Villa Nettuno
Address: Via Pasitea 208, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Villa Nettuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nettuno Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing