We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and friendly B&B in Positano”
Review of Dimora del Podesta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dimora del Podesta
Ranked #8 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful and friendly B&B in Positano”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Dimora del Podesta and from the very first greeting we were met with great warmth from the family that own the B&B. The rooms are charming and all have a balcony overlooking the sea. We were in La Musica which was light and airy and far bigger than most hotel rooms. The room was very well appointed with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and the bathroom was spotlessly clean and also a good size. Breakfast was brilliant, laid out on the balcony overlooking the sea and the Fornillo area of Positano. Pietro was onhand at breakfast to provide any information or organise any excursions - a great host and real charmer! The three rooms are above the Saraceno d'oro restaurant which is also run by the family and is a good place for a meal. I wouldn't hesitate to go back and stay at the B&B and wish we could have stayed longer than out four nights.

Room Tip: La Musica had a corner aspect so may be sunnier than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
109
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My 3 children and I spent a week at Dimora del Podesta and it was a highlight of our 5 week trip away. Pietro and Elia were simply amazing hosts and we felt a part of a family there. They were fantastic with the children. I cannot recommend this place enough - and the pizzas and pasta from the restaurant are great - the perfect solution for hungry young children. if you are wanting to stay in a place with a lovely local feel, then you cannot go past this! Pietro and Elia, my sincere apologies for not writing this earlier however looking at your consistently high ratings, it doesn't really matter!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kings_beach66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in Dimora del Podesta for 11 nights for our anniversary at the end of May. The entire experience was like a dream: a beautiful sea view from our balcony, delicious warm croissants, coffee and bread for breakfast and the b&b owner, Pietro, a friendly and knowledgeable man who helped make our stay perfect. Pietro would sit with us and give advice about anything from laundry service, or the best walking route for the Path of the Gods (bus to Nocelle and walk to Praiano) to a day trip to Capri. This is a small family run b&b of three rooms, as is the sister restaurant below, Saraceno d'Oro, where you will receive complementary limoncello and 10% discount. The pizza we had here was phenomenal and very reasonably priced. We had takeaway pizza on our balcony a few nights and listened to the traditional Neapolitan music below. If you do go, you must have the Salcicca e Broccoli pizza - so delicious!

We will be coming again and again for years to come - Grazie mille Pietro!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We absolutely loved Dimora Del Podesta. It was everything we ever imagined and more! Pietro was a fabulous host, providing whatever you require, along with his knowledge of the area which is priceless. Our room was gorgeous and clean and the balcony with views of Positano perfect for anytime of the day. Pietro's family restaurant underneath the bnb was an added bonus, the Insalata Caprese was delicious! We also had a hire car so the parking station next door was perfect.

We would love to come back again one day Pietro, hope to see you soon :)

Room Tip: They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

After coming from Capri, Positano is a more provincial and unpretentious plac.e. NOw the b and b. It was a different experience coming from a 5 star hotel. The place reminds me of how it feels to live in the 1960's and this is the reason why I enjoyed my stay though others may have a different opinion. The room has a basic provincial style setting. I appreciated my stay and will always remember it. Pietro's serves great coffee and sumptuous breakfast facing the sea inside your room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorichville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We've just returend from a two week trip through Italy from Florence to the Amalfi Coast in a rental car and have spent the last two nights of our holiday at this nice little B&B with only three rooms. It was by far means the best accommodation we encountered during the whole two weeks. Already upon arrival we experienced the hospitality of the staff of the family-run Dimorra del Podestà B&B. The B&B is located on the first floor above the restaurant owned by the same family. When we arrived, the brother working in the restaurant accompanied us with an umbrella and guided us to a nearby parking owned by a sister of the Family where we could park the car at a discounted rate. While squeezing the car into the narrow parking slot, the Mama of the family held up the traffic on the road for us! A really funny and archetypal Italian experience! The room on the first floor was even more welcoming: Spacious, immaculately clean and furnitured in marine colours with a breathtaking view over the cliffs of Positano and the sea. Breakfast was served on the private balcony and the owner of the B&B did his very best to suit our breakfast preferences and to come up with recommendations on how to spend the day. We had dinner twice in the restaurant below: the food was excellent and we also got a 10 percent discount as guests of the B&B. Don't look further, you won't find any better option in Positano! The only little drawback is that they don't take any credit card.

M.B., Switzerland

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We travelled to the Amalfi coast from London for 5 nights and could not have chosen a nicer place to stay at. Pietro was an attentive and gracious host and made our stay a very memorable one. There are only 3 rooms in the property which makes it a very homely experience. Views from the balcony are lovely where breakfast is served daily, and the restaurant downstairs does delicious wood fired oven pizzas. It is a short walk from the SITA bus stop and the stroll into town offers great beach views. The rooms are quite large which adds to the feeling of space and comfort. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 38 in Positano
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimora del Podesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimora del Podesta

Property: Dimora del Podesta
Address: Via Pasitea 256, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed&Breakfast Dimora del Podestà is located in Positano that is one of the most beauty place of the exclusive Amalfi coast.It's the perfect solution for relaxing holiday or short stay...Come and discover the atmosphere of a simple ancient house in the heart of this little paradise on earth! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dimora del Podesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing